Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

BIOL 1905: From Ebola to SARS: Human Behavior and the Emergence of New and Deadly Human Viruses

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Professor: Susan Wick swick@umn.edu
 

The site to access all collections and services of the University of Minnesota Libraries. Locate the books and journals in the collection using MNCAT. Search for e-journal titles using the Electronic Journals. Use delivery services and interlibrary loans for Ordering Materials.
  • MNCAT
    Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
  • Assignment Calculator
    Enter in the deadline for your research paper and get a suggested time-line for completing your paper on time plus links to the resources on campus that will help you succeed in each step of the research and writing process.
  • Research QuickStart
    You can use Research QuickStart to begin your research for undergraduate papers and speeches. Research QuickStart provides you with a list of resources (books, indexes, websites, libraries and more) on the topic you select.


Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health. • HoursMap

Selected Databases

Find journal articles in Academic Search Premier, and LexisNexis Academic to find journal articles. Use MNCAT to find books and journal titles about your subject.
  • Academic Search Premier Authentication Required
    This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Information in this database covers a broad range of topics and it offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
  • CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required
    CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health. It provides bibliographic citations with abstracts in English for records of all languages. Indexes journal articles, monographs, conferences, and other primary literature.
  • Global Health Authentication Required
    Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Over 16,000 serial sources from more than 130 countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the Global Health database, to produce approximately 25,000 new entries per year. Nearly all records have informative English abstracts prepared by scientists and linguists.
  • Google Scholar Authentication Required
    Use Google Scholar through the Libraries’ web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all the articles and journal subscriptions the library has already acquired for you. Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

    When using any one of the three access methods below, the text link, "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities", will appear in your Google Scholar search results. Then clicking the "Find It" link will present you with a menu of full-text and related service options for the Scholar search result you followed. To benefit from this service, access Google Scholar via:

    1. any U of M Twin Cities Campus Internet connection,
    2. the "special" link to Google Scholar that the Libraries provide (below or from the Libraries’ Google Scholar listing on "Indexes"), or
    3. the regular link to Google Scholar when having set up your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities)."

    Google Scholar FAQ

  • Health and Medicine in the News
    Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].
  • LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. Use this database to find news articles discussing transgenic art.
  • PsycINFO Authentication Required
    Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
  • Social Science Databases
    -- (U of M Internet ID and password required may be required)This link provides access to 80+ social sciences related indexes. Please note: U of M userid/password may be required.
    • Sociological Abstracts Authentication Required
      Updated bimonthly, this core database for the field of sociology contins information on sociology and social policy worldwide. All citations and abstracts are in English. The database officially covers 1963 to the present, but includes many citations from the 1950s as well as key Web sites linked by topic.
      • Location(s): Print Version: Quarto HM1 .S67 (1952/53-present) WILSON Reference• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Other Useful Library Resources
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

Resources via the Web
  • CDC: Centers for Disease Control
    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans and for providing essential human services, especially for those people who are least able to help themselves."
  • CDC: National Center for Infectious Disease
    "The mission of the National Center for Infectious Diseases (NCID) is to prevent illness, disability, and death caused by infectious diseases in the United States and around the world."
  • CDC Wonder
    WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
  • CIDRAP: Center for Infectious Disease and Research & Policy
    "Established just one week before Sept. 11, 2001, CIDRAP has, from the beginning, made public health preparedness a major focus. Our efforts have included evaluation of the public health system and its readiness to respond to an infectious disease crisis as well as analysis of the state of infectious disease medical practice and the ability of the nation’s healthcare system to respond in the event of a catastrophe–perhaps one caused by a bioterrorist act."
  • WHO: World Health Organization
    "The World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO’s objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health. Health is defined in WHO’s Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity."


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More