Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

NURS 8402: Primary Care: Assessment & Management

Print Page Print Page
 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Georgia Nygaard nygaa008@gold.tc.umn.edu
Instructor: Kevin Smith smith246@gold.tc.umn.edu
Instructor: Bonnie Bata-Jones bataj001@tc.umn.edu
Instructor: Mary Mescher-Benbenek benbe002@tc.umn.edu
Librarian: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
 
Library Services and Information Resources
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Services
      -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
      • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
        -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
      • Distance Education
        -- This site provides the outline information for distance learning services. Additional details can be requested by contacting the reference desk MEDREF@tc.umn.edu.
      • Ordering Materials
        -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
      • CINAHL Authentication Required
        CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
      • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
        MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

        The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

        MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
        • Medline Tutorial
          --This tutorial for MEDLINE searching has been customized for University of Minnesota students.
      • Electronic Journals
        This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
      • MNCAT
        Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
      • MICROMEDEX Authentication Required
        Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician’s Desk Reference.

Internet Resources - General and Consumer Health Information
  • Healthfinder
    -- "healthfinder® is a free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services."
  • MayoClinic.com
    -- "Our presence on the Web is a natural extension of Mayo’s long-standing commitment to provide health education to our patients and the general public."
  • NOAH - New York Online Access to Health
    -- "NOAH seeks to provide high quality full-text health information for consumers that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased. NOAH currently supports English and Spanish. "

Internet Resources - Nursing Sites
  • About.com - Nursing Links
    -- This site provides a variety of nursing links including: assessment skills, bioethics, clinical tools, infection control, patient education, professional growth, and more

Internet Resources - Search Engines
  • Health Answers
    -- A medical search engine for both consumers and professionals
  • Direct Hit
    -- "Award-winning Direct Hit Search technology provides highly relevant results for any Internet search." Includes advanced searching.
  • Google
    -- "Google focuses exclusively on delivering the best search experience on the World Wide Web." Including basic/advanced searching, images and a directory.


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More


Last Updated: February 16, 2006, 2:42 pm