Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Alternative Medicine - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: a heterogeneous set of practices offered as an alternative to conventional medicine,including acupuncture, herbal medicine, and many others.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AGRICOLA Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.
Search here to find citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, pl.....
[more information]

AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1985 - present
Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource .....
[more information]


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
These databases contain information on the activity of chemicals in plants, and ethnobotanical uses for plants. Databases are searchable by plant(scientific or common name), chemical (e.g., ascorbic acid), or activity (e.g., antiviral)......
[more information]

Hypnosis and Related States Research Database
Database from the Society of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis containing 11465 references to hypnosis related materials in journals and books......
[more information]

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    1986 - present
IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the.....
[more information]

Index to Chiropractic Literature
    1985 - present
Index to Chiropractic Literature is created by a group of health science librarians working in chiropractic colleges throughout the world. It includes citations to articles in 40 journals, and is searchable by keyword, subject, or author......
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Native American Ethnobotany Database
-- Database of the materials found in the book, American Indian Ethnobotany by Daniel E Moerman PhD at University of Michigan. Information includes plant use, and references. .....
[more information]

Native Health History Database
-- Database by the Indian Health Service and the University of New Mexico covering the history of Native Heath with citations from 1652 to 1970. Contains citations regarding traditional foods, herbal remedies, shamanism, etc......
[more information]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


HerbMed
An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. .....
[more information]

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required Therapeutic Research (publisher of Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter).

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/natural

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine edited by Wayne B. Jonas. Elsevier Mosby. 2005.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 M8937 2005
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Alternative and Complementary Medicine Words Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2005. 2nd ed..

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WB15 S812 2005
A-Z word list -- Appendices. Anatomical illustrations -- Acupuncture and acupressure meridians and points Chinese/English; English/Chinese -- Chakras -- Common enzymes -- Herbs; scientific names/common names; common names/ scientific names -- Common .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of natural products: terms in the field of pharmacognosy
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QV13 H685d 1997; MAGRATH Reference RS160 .H55 1997
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Handbooks and Manuals


Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Handbook : the Clinical Bottom Line Ethan M. Basch, chief editor ; Catherine E. Ulbricht, chief editor.. Elsevier Mosby. 2005.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QV39 N285 2005
This handbook on 91 commonly used herbs and supplements contains essential information on safety, efficacy, and interactions......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbook of Medicinal Herbs James A. Duke ; with Mary Jo Bogenschutz-Godwin, Judi duCellier, Peggy-Ann K. Duke.. CRC Press. 2002. 2nd ed..

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QV767 D877h 2002 ; Magrath Library Reference QK99.A1 D83 2002
Entries include synonyms, activities, indications for use, dosage, contraindications, interactions, and side effects, extracts, and illustrations of the plant. Previously published: CRC handbook of medicinal herbs......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Professional's Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicines C.W. Fetrow, Juan R. Avila.. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2004. 3rd ed..

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WB39 F419p 2004
Covers the history of complementary and alternative medicines and discusses the uses, risks, and regulations of alternative versus traditional medicine. Each of the alternative medicine monographs includes the generic name, synonyms, taxonomic class.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Gateways & Megasites


Alternative Medicine Home Page
List of websites, databases, and mailing lists regarding Alternative Medicine collected by staff at the Falk Library of the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh......
[more information]

NOAH: Complementary and Alternative Medicine New York Online Access to Health: NOAH.

NOAH (New York Online Access to Health) provides access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased......
[more information]

Web Sites


MedlinePlus: Alternative Medicine
Quality, pre-evaluated information about alternative and complementary medicine, including news, overviews, specific conditions, and more......
[more information]

MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Therapies Topics
Quality, pre-evaluated information on topics such as acupuncture, chiropractic, herbals, and other complementary and alternative therapies......
[more information]

Top

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites


National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCAM)
    1963 - presentNational Institutes of Health.

Division of the NIH concerned with alternative medicine. Resources include CAM citation index listing articles from 1963 - present, research grant information and bibliographies......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Last Updated: December 29, 2005, 2:37 pm