Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045

Summer Hours

(May 16 - Sep 6)

M-Th 7am-10pm
F 7am-6pm
Sa 9am-6pm
Su 12pm-10pm

EXCEPTIONS

Sep 6:CLOSED

All Dept Hours

Library Location

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Resources For Personal Health

Page Type: 
PageScribe
ID: 
2407

Last updated July 1, 2010

These resources about personal health are recommended by librarians at the Bio-Medical Library, University of Minnesota.

Maintained by: Anne Beschnett besch015@umn.edu

On this page:

Information about the U of M Bio-Medical Library

Information on library resources, services, and trainings.

Bio-Medical Library Website

Key point of entry to the library website including information on print and electronic resources, borrowing policies and library services and hours.

E-mail Reference Service

Ask a reference question via e-mail.

Archived Workshop Recordings

Library staff have recorded some of our popular workshops (like "Finding Electronic Full-Text: Tips and Tricks") that you can view at your convenience.

Research Help, Guides, and Tutorials

Learn how to get help with library questions, or use one of our guides or tutorials.

InfoNOW

Fee-based research and delivery of articles for people not affiliated with the University of Minnesota.

Tips and Tutorials on Using and Evaluating Health Resources

Finding good health information takes practice. Use these sources to help.

MedlinePlus- Guide to Healthy Web Surfing

Practical suggestions for evaluating health-related information.

MedlinePlus- Evaluating Internet Health Information

Animated informational tour on evaluating health information on the web. It runs 16 minutes and requires a Flash plug-in.

Medical Information on the Internet- A Guide for Health Reporters and Consumers

This step-by-step tutorial will take you through a short training focusing on how to find and evaluate health information on the Internet.

MedlinePlus Tour

A narrated animated tour of the main features of MedlinePlus. It runs about 8 minutes and requires a Flash plug-in.

Deciphering Medspeak

Developed by the Medical Library Association to help you translate common "medspeak" terms and solve your Rx riddles. Three disease-specific brochures (diabetes, breast cancer, and heart disease) are also available in addition to the general brochure.

Understanding Medical Research (MedlinePlus)

Information from MedlinePlus to help you understand and evaluate medical research that you hear about in the media.

Health News

News sources relevant to your health

EurekAlert!: Medicine & Health

Breaking news, medical/science news releases, and more.

Health News from MedlinePlus

Health news from the past 30-90 days, from Reuters Health Information and HealthDay. News can be viewed by date or topic, with links to related news and relevant MedlinePlus Health Topics pages.

NIH News in Health

A monthly newsletter bringing you practical health news and tips based on the latest National Institute of Health research.

General Health Information

Find general health and wellness information for men, women, seniors and children.

MedlinePlus

Commercial free, reliable free health information including health topics, drug information, health news, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive tutorials and more.

Easy to Read Health Information

MedlinePlus' collection of easy-to-read health information on a variety of topics/

Interactive Tutorials from MedlinePlus

Animated tutorials with sound that explain conditions or procedures.

Talking with Your Doctor

Information from MedlinePlus about getting the most out of visits with your doctor or other health care professional.

PubMed

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

PubMed Tutorial

PubMed can be confusing, watch this tutorial to get a better understanding of how to use this resource.

Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)- Health and Medicine Databases

Search ELM for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, eBooks, and information from reference sources available to all Minnesota residents at no charge!

Consumer Health Library Directory

This database contains information about consumer health libraries around the US and the world.

Well-Connected

Well-Connected is a library of reports on common diseases and wellness issues. Each report is an in-depth discussion of the latest information on treatments, risk factors, causes, diagnostic tests, and preventative measures.

MayoClinic.com

Resource to help people manage their health with useful tools and up-to-date information on diseases and lifestyles.

Minnesota Department of Health

Links to information about public health, health care and health statistics in Minnesota. Includes links to health alerts, directory of hospitals and nursing homes, birth and death certificates, health facility complaints, flu shot clinics, and more.

MDH Diseases and Conditions

Information on diseases, conditions, and health alerts from the Minnesota Department of Health.

KidsHealth

Health information from the Nemours Foundation, with sections geared to kids, teens, and parents.

NIH Senior Health

Health information for older adults and their family members and friends. Includes audio and the ability to increase and decrease text size and screen contrast for easier readability.

Genetics Home Reference

Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.

Understanding Research Study Designs (Bio-Medical Library guide)

In order to find the best possible evidence, it helps to understand the basic design of research studies; this guide will help you do this.

Top Ten Most Useful Websites

The Medical Library Association's top recommendations for useful health websites.

Health Resoures for Kids and Teens

Looking for health information specifically designed for kids and teens? Check out our subject guide for more information, with recommendations from librarians at the Health Sciences Libraries, University of Minnesota.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Atlases

Find definitions and descriptions of health and disease related terms.

Acronyms and Initialisms for Health Information Resources

Acronyms and initialisms for global information and data resources in health, medical, and veterinary sciences.

AMA Atlas of the Body

Anatomy and medical illustrations from the American Medical Association

Directories

Find a health care professional

Finding Doctors and Hospitals (Bio-Medical Library guide)

Produced by the University of Minnesota's Bio-Medical library, this guide gives links to several relevant resources.

Doctor Finder (AMA's Physician Select)

Use this site to find either a specific doctor's contact information, or to find doctors who match geographic and specialty criteria.

MedlinePlus Directories

Includes directories for physicians and other health professionals; and hospitals and other health facilities. Includes links to AMA Physician Select, AMA Hospital Select, ADA Member Directory, Substance Abuse Treatment Facility Locator, and more

Minnesota Medical Association Physician Finder

A public service for individuals who want to locate a physician in Minnesota. The physician finder can be searched by physician's last name, clinic name, specialty, and more.

Drug Information

Information on prescription and over-the-counter medicine.

Drug Information from MedlinePlus

Reliable information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs plus supplements and herbals.

Pharmacy and You (American Pharmacists Association)

Website from the American Pharmacists Association, designed to bring you the latest information about how to work with your pharmacist to help you make the most of your medicines. Site includes information about pharmacists, your medicines, and your personal medication records, along with related health news.

Pill Identification Wizard

This website can help you identify medications sold in the United States.

Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs

Free guidance for consumers on prescription drug prices

Medical Tests and Procedures

Information on diagnostic tests and medical procedures.

Lab Tests Online

Designed to help you, as a patient or caregiver, better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and disease.

Family History (MedlinePlus)

Find out more about how family history affects health.

My Family Health Portrait

A tool from the U.S. Surgeon General to make a personalized family health history report, to share with your family or health care providers. Online tool also available in Spanish; downloadable form also available in Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, Polish, and French.

Personal Medical Records (MedlinePlus)

Advice from the trusted source of MedlinePlus on how to keep track of your personal health records.

Multicultural and Multilingual Resources

Information focused on specific cultural groups and/or written in other languages.

The 24 Language Project

Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures and sound recordings in 24 different languages, including Cambodian, Hmong, Somali, Russian, Vietnamese and Spanish.

MedlinePlus - Spanish version

Spanish version of MedlinePlus, providing commercial free, reliable, free health information including health topics, drug information, health news, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive tutorials, and more.

Health Information Translations

A collaborative initiative to improve health education for limited English proficiency patients. Languages include Hmong, Somali Vietnamese, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, and more.

Healthy Roads Media

Easy to understand health information in varied formats and multiple languages, including Spanish, Vietnamese, Somali, Hmong, and more. Health topics covered include asthma, diabetes, nutrition, smoking, women's health, and more.

Multicultural Health Websites (National Network of Libraries of Medicine)

Links to websites related to multicultural health concerns for African American, Latino American, Native American, and Asian American/Pacific Islander health.

American Indian Health

An information portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians.

Asian American Health

This website is designed to increase public awareness of the health concerns of Asian Americans

African American Health

MedlinePlus health information relevant to African Americans.

HmongHealth.org

Health information relevant to the Hmong community in both Hmong and English.

Alternative and Complementary Medicine

Information resources on alternative medicine procedures and treatments.

National Center for Alternative and Complementary Medicine (NCCAM)

NCCAM is the division of the National Institute of Health concerned with alternative medicine. This website provides professional and consumer information related to alternative and complementary therapies.

Taking Charge of Your Health

Developed by the Center for Spirituality and Healing at the University of Minnesota, this website provides useful information on complementary therapies.

Complementary & Alternative Medicine Mayo Clinic

Find information on complementary and alternative therapies and medicines.

Environmental Health & Toxicology

Learn more about environmental toxins and their affect on your health

Household Products Database

Health and safety information household products

Haz-Map

Information on hazardous chemicals and occupational diseases.

Toxtown

Interactive guide to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks. Also available in Spanish at http://toxtown.nlm.nih.gov/espanol

MedlinePlus Arthritis

Commerical free, reliable free arthritis information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

NIH Senior Health- Arthritis

Health information for older adults and their family members and friends. Includes audio and the ability to increase and decrease text size and screen contrast for easier readability.

MedlinePlus Diabetes

Commercial free, reliable diabetes information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse

Information on the disease, prevention, treatment, complications and statistics.

Deciphering Diabetes MedSpeak

Developed by the Medical Library Association to help the public translate common diabetes-related "medspeak" terms.

MedlinePlus Cancer

Commercial free, reliable cancer information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

Cancer.gov

Reliable information for practitioners and consumers regarding types of cancer, treatment, clinical trials and more.

Deciphering Breast Cancer MedSpeak

Developed by the Medical Library Association to help you translate common breast cancer-related "medspeak" terms.

MedlinePlus Heart Disease

Commerical free, reliable free arthritis information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

American Heart Association

This is the national homepage for the American Heart Association, where information on daily living, specific diseases, fundraising, research, advocacy and more can be found.

MedlinePlus AIDS

Commerical free, reliable free arthritis information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

CDC- HIV/AIDS

This Centers for Disease Control website covers in-depth information on the disease including prevention, treatment and information for specific groups of people.

Influenza (Bio-Medical Library guide)

Produced by the University of Minnesota's Bio-Medical library, this guide gives links to several relevant resources.

CDC- Influenza

This Centers for Disease Control website covers in-depth information on the disease including prevention, treatment and information for specific groups of people.

MedlinePlus Mental Health

Commercial free, reliable free mental health information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

Mental Health Center- Mayo Clinic

Find information on mental health and mental illness, specific disorders and mental health treatments.

SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) National Mental Health Information Center provides information about various mental health topics.

MedlinePlus Alzheimer's

Commercial free, reliable Alzheimer's information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

NIH Senior Health: Alzheimer's

Information on symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and research. This page allows the ability to change text size, contrast and provides audio for all information provided.

PTSD- National Institute of Mental Health

Information on the illness, signs and symptoms, treatment and getting help.

National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

This website is an ducational resource on PTSD and traumatic stress, for veterans and also for mental health care providers, researchers and the general public.

MedlinePlus Women's Health

Commercial free, reliable free mental health information including drug information, news, definitions, interactive tutorials and more.

Healthymnwomen.org

A collaborative project between the Minnesota Department of Health and the University of Minnesota Deborah E. Powell Center for Women’s Health. The site is created to provide reliable health resources for women in Minnesota with an emphasis on prevention and well-being.

For More Information

Looking for more in-depth consumer health information? The Medical Library Association's Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) provides a list of the top 100 websites you can trust.