Course Instructors:
Librarian: Katherine Chew
chewx002@umn.edu
Instructor: James Rothenberger
rothe001@umn.edu
Librarian: Lisa McGuire
lmcguire@umn.edu
Death Across Cultures
- Ethnic variations in dying, death, and grief : diversity in universality
Cross-cultural variation in the experience, expression, and understanding of grief / Paul C. Rosenblatt -- One womans interracial journey / Vivian Jenkins Nelsen -- Personal reflections on death, grief, and cultural diversity / Kathleen F. Lundquist and Vivian Jenkins Nelsen -- Mourning and funeral customs of African Americans / Hosea L. Perry -- Mexican American perspectives related to death / Barbara Younoszai -- Hmong death customs: traditional and acculturated / Bruce Thowpaou Bliatout -- Native Americans: adapting, yet retaining / Martin Brokenleg and David Middleton -- To honor the dead and comfort the mourners: traditions in Judaism / Barry D. Cytron -- Death and dying in Buddhism / Ken and Nga Truitner -- Islamic customs regarding death / Farah Gilanshah -- Memorial services among Quakers and Unitarians / Donald P. Irish -- Reflections by professional practitioners / Donald P. Irish -- Conclusions / Donald P. Irish, Kathleen F. Lundquist and Vivian Jenkins Nelsen -- Ethnic population data and trends: United States and Canada / Donald P. Irish.
(cont) Questions that might be asked / Donald P. Irish -- Personal reflections on the African American experience / Juan L. Turner -- Personal reflections on the Hispanic experience / Marcial Vasquez.
Location: Bio-Medical Library BF789.D4 I68e 1993
- Death: Mortality and Religious Diversity
The Immigration Museums (Australia) latest exhibition, Death: Mortality and Religious Diversity, asks
representatives of Victorias eight largest religious groups to explain their approach to lifes greatest
mystery, and some of the practical issues involved with translating sometimes ancient rituals to a
vibrant multicultural nation.
[Return to Top]
Grief
- American Academy of Grief Counseling
The American Academy of Grief Counseling offers comprehensive, quality, Certification and Fellowship programs for qualified professionals including, physicians, nurses, counselors, social workers, funeral directors, clergy and other professional providers practicing the specialty of Grief Counseling
- Society of Military Widows
The SOCIETY OF MILITARY WIDOWS (SMW) was founded in 1968 by Theresa (Tess) Alexander to serve the interests of women whose husbands died while on active military duty, of a service-connected illness, or during disability or regular retirement from the armed forces.
- Doka, Kenneth J. Books by
- Rando, Therese A., books by
- Bereaved Families Online Support Center
Bereaved Families provides support for people who have lost an immediate family member -- an infant, a child, an adult child, a parent, a brother or a sister, an adult sibling, a grandchild or a spouse.
- Grief and Loss Resource Centre
This site, spread across a few pages, is divided into three sets of links. The first set includes grief and bereavement resources, called "Grief Links." The second set is devoted to various "losses" in our lives, other than death, that involve varying degrees of grief, called "Loss Links." The third set is comprised of links to Memorials collections.
- Grief in a Family Context
-- Developed by Dr. Kathleen Gilbert from Indiana Unversity, this online course offers information on how families manage loss and grief. Dr. Gilbert covers a variety of bereavement issues, such as chornic grief, ceremonies and rituals, gender and culture, etc. and provides extensive links to additional resources.
- The Sibling Connection
This site has been created as a resource for :
anyone who has experienced the death of a brother or sister.
adults who grew up with a sibling who had a chronic and fatal disease.
professional counselors, psychologists, therapists, and other healthcare providers.
[Return to Top]
Children and Death
- Death and the adolescent: a resource handbook for bereavement support groups in schools
Drawing on their own extensive experience as bereavement counsellors, the authors explain in detail how to conduct a bereavement support group for adolescents. In addition they examine problems typically encountered by bereaved teens, and provide clinical case studies that show a range of grieving patterns. The book includes a description of the mourning and funeral rites practised by a variety of religious and ethnic groups, and concludes with a bibliography and a list of community resources.
Location: Magrath Library BF724.3.D43 B39x 1999
- A teacher's handbook of death.
The authors also offer useful strategies for talking about death in the context of different school lessons, in order to prepare pupils of all ages. The various chapters are each clearly labelled with suggested age-ranges for their use, and each has a useful summary of the main points covered. The final chapter on grief and mourning covers the crucial topic of how to give newly bereaved children the support they need. This handbook combines factual information with broader suggestions for teachers to use when discussing death with children. Readable and practical, it will be invaluable for teachers who have to broach this sensitive issue within the school environment.
Location: Wilson Library BF723.D3 J33x 2002
- Using literature to help troubled teenagers cope with end-of-life issues
Losing a loved one is a scary and confusing experience for teenagers, but one that can be made easier through the use of literature and informed mentoring from a caring adult. This teacher-friendly reference resource and bibliography provides tools for those who work with young adults to help them come to terms with the grieving process. Literacy experts and counseling professionals are innovatively paired in each chapter to explore specific types of loss and ways in which professionals can help students understand their feelings by reading about those in similar situations. This original approach encourages young people to cope with their losses while improving their literacy skills.
Location: Wilson Library BF724.3.G73 U85 2002
- Information about children and grief
Text adapted with permission from Life and Loss: A Guide to Help Grieving Children, Breaking the Silence: A Guide To Help Children With Complicated Grief: Suicide, Homicide, AIDS, Violence, and Abuse and Helping The Grieving Child in the School Healing Magazine (Kidspeace)and Growing Up Fast (NES).
[Return to Top]
Death & Grief in the Hmong Community
- Death and dying in ethnic America : a research study
Death and dying in ethnic America: findings in Eritrean, Oromo, and Somali communities / Naima R.Z. Solomon -- Death and dying in ethnic America: findings in Lao Lum, Khmu, Hmong, Khmer, and Cham communities / Jean M. Langford. Location: Bio-Medical Library BF789.D4 D28365 2000
[Return to Top]
Dying / Hospice / Palliative Care
- American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
AAHPM is an organization of physicians and other medical professionals dedicated to excellence in palliative medicine, the prevention and relief of suffering among patients and families by providing education and clinical practice standards, fostering research, facilitating personal and professional development of its members, and by public policy advocacy.
- Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association
The purpose of the HPNA is to exchange information, experiences, and ideas; to promote understanding of the specialties of hospice and palliative nursing; and to study and promote hospice and palliative nursing research.
- --And a time to die: how American hospitals shape the end of life.
Pt. I. The Predicatment: Death becomes a new kind of problem. Death and hospital culture -- Death in life: The "person" and the experience of dying -- Pt. II. The Hospital system: Time and the power of the pathway. Transforming time: from deathwatch to billable treatments -- Moving things along -- Waiting -- Pt. III. The Politics and rhetoric of the patients condition. "Suffering", "Dignity," and the "Quality of Life". Death by design -- Life Support -- Hidden places: the zone of indistinction as a way of life -- Culture in the making. Location: Bio-Medical Library BF789.D4 K21a 2005
- Handbook for mortals : guidance for people facing serious illness
Handbook for Mortals is warmly addressed to all those who wish to approach the final years of life with greater awareness of what to expect and greater confidence about how to make the end of our lives a time of growth, comfort, and meaningful reflection. Written by Dr. Joanne Lynn and a team of expert physicians, this book provides equal measures of practical information and wise counsel. Readers will learn what decisions they will need to face, what choices are available to them, where to look for help, how to ease pain and other symptoms, what to expect with specific diseases, how the health-care system operates, and how the entire experience affects dying persons, their families, and their friends. Such practical information is indispensable. But equally important are the personal stories included here of how people have come to terms with dying, how they have faced their fears and made their choices.
Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference (Consumer Health) WB310 H236 1999 (Non-circulating)
- BMC Palliative Care
BMC Palliative Care publishes original research articles in the clinical, scientific, ethical and policy issues, local and international, regarding all aspects of hospice and palliative care for the dying and for those with profound suffering related to chronic illness. BMC Palliative Care (ISSN 1472-684X) is indexed/tracked/covered by PubMed, CAS, Scopus, EMBASE and Google Scholar.
- Before I Die: Medical Care & Personal Choices
(PBS) Premiered on April 22, 1997. The program explores the medical, ethical, and social issues surrounding end-of-life care in America today. This Web companion piece features original reporting (REAL LIFE STORIES, SIDEBARS) by health writer Janet Firshein, 1995 Kaiser Media Fellow.
- Facts on Dying: Policy relevant data on care at the end of life
The Brown University Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research, with funding from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, is engaged in a five-year research effort to use both existing and new data collections to describe the dying experience in the United States of America utilizing maps which display geographical data about quality of end-of-life care. State profiles, maps, tables and other statistical information
- Growthhouse.org
Growth House, Inc., provides a portal to resources for life-threatening illness and end of life care. Their primary mission is to improve the quality of compassionate care for people who are dying through public education and global professional collaboration.
The hypertext topic pages explain major issues in hospice and home care, palliative care, pain management, grief, death with dignity, and quality improvement. Offer comprehensive guides to heart failure, cancer and AIDS, including a regional directory of AIDS sites for the Pacific Rim.
- On Our Own Terms: Moyers on Dying
PBS. Bill Moyers goes from the bedsides of the dying to the front lines of a movement to improve end-of-life care in ON OUR OWN TERMS. Audio & video clips, discussion forum transscripts, articles, discussion guide and other resources.
- TIME: Toolkit of Instruments to Measure End-of-Life Care
A fundamental barrier in the quality of care at the end of life is the lack of measurement tools. These measurement tools should identify opportunities for improving medical care, examining the impact of interventions or demonstration programs, and holding institutions accountable for their quality of care. The Toolkit takes steps toward crossing this measurement barrier by creating patient-focused, family-centered survey instruments that address the needs and concerns of patients and their families, as defined by them.
- With Eyes Open
PBS. KQED presents four half-hour companion shows: honest discussions about caregiving, grief, difficult decisions and what may lie beyond death. Hosted by veteran journalist, Ray Suarez, these programs invite viewers to look at the end of life With Eyes Open, and by doing so make their lives more meaningful. Includes discussion forums, transcripts, program guides, teacher guides and other resources.
[Return to Top]
Organ Donation
- Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO)
AOPO has developed organizational and ethical standards for Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs), offering a voluntary accreditation program to its members. This peer review process, conducted on-site, helps assure compliance with federal regulations as well as AOPO standards. The period of accreditation is three years, after which the OPO must meet reaccreditation conditions to maintain its status.
- Donate Life: Organdonor.gov
The official U.S. Government web site for organ and tissue donation and transplantation, www.organdonor.gov, is maintained by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Healthcare Systems Bureau (HSB), Division of Transplantation, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human.
- International Association for Organ Donation
The International Association for Organ Donation provides dynamic educational and outreach programs and services to the general public, and particularly to vulnerable racial and ethnic minorities ensuring their awareness of the need for organ transplantation and actively securing their commitment to become organ donors.
- TransWeb.org
A nonprofit educational web site serving the world transplant community. Based at the University of Michigan, TransWeb features news and events, real peoples experiences, the top 10 myths about donation, a donation quiz, and a large collection of questions and answers, as well as a reference area with everything from articles to videos.
- United Network for Organ Sharing
The Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN), is the unified transplant network established by the United States Congress under the National Organ Transplant Act (NOTA) of 1984 to be operated by a private, non-profit organization under federal contract. Resources includes fact sheets, patient brochures, policies, calculators and critical pathways for donor management.
- Data
UNOS has developed an online database system, called UNetsm, for the collection, storage, analysis and publication of all OPTN data pertaining to the patient waiting list, organ matching, and transplants. Available data reports include national data, regional data, state data, center data, annual reports and data by specific organ
[Return to Top]
Death Education
- American Counseling Association
The American Counseling Association is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Founded in 1952, ACA is the worlds largest association exclusively representing professional counselors in various practice settings.
- American Medical Student Association: Interest Group on Death & Dying
This Interest Group arose in response to medical students concern that medical school leaves us inadequately prepared to communicate with terminally ill patients, as well as being poorly equipped emotionally to deal with matters of death and dying. Addresses important issues such as physician-assisted suicide and palliative care.
- Finding our way: living with dying in America
This self-paced non-instructor mediated web-based course, based on the Finding Our Way newspaper series, is a collaborative effort with Santa Clara University (SCU), using state of the art web course Prometheus software. The web-based self study course will feature course materials on line, the ability of participants to contribute to online discussions, video streaming using real video and a quiz at the end with an electronically-delivered certificate of completion. Participants will be able to begin and take the course at any time during the year. The course is intended as a resource for all Americans and can be used in adult education centers like the YMCA, YWCA and also serve as a training experience for end-of-life professionals and volunteers in hospice, oncology, long-term care, and nurses aides.
- Project on Death in America: Transforming the Culture of Dying
"The Project on Death in America (PDIA) completed all grantmaking in December 2003, having distributed $45 million in grant awards to organizations and individuals working to improve care for dying patients and their families.
PDIAs mission was to understand and transform the culture and experience of dying and bereavement. Over the course of nine years, PDIA created funding initiatives in professional and public education, the arts, research, clinical care, and public policy. PDIA and its grantees have helped build and shape this important and growing field, and have helped place improved care for the dying on the public agenda."
- Project on Death in America: January 2001–December 2003 Report of Activities
This third and final three-year report describes the 2001–2003 grantmaking program of OSIs Project on Death in America (PDIA). These grants trace the evolution of PDIA funding strategies to sustain the field of palliative care and to support the infrastructure of professional organizations focused on improving the care of the dying.
The report also briefly describes PDIA palliative care initiatives in Central and Eastern Europe, the former Soviet Union, and South Africa.
- Transforming the Culture of Dying: The Project on Death in America 1994-2003
"PDIAs report, Transforming the Culture of Dying, was written specifically for other funders. It traces the development of PDIAs funding initiatives over the course of nine years and highlights examples of strategic grants. The report includes specific funding recommendations that focus on areas of special opportunity where philanthropic investment at any level would make a dramatic difference in reducing suffering and allowing people to live out their lives in dignity and comfort."
[Return to Top]
Death of a Pet
- Compassion Collection: Veterinary Medical Library
In September 1998, Dr. Carl Osborn, a faculty member of the University of Minnesotas College of Veterinary Medicine, established the Compassion Corner. Later renamed Compassion Collection, the vision of the collection is to provide learning resources for faculty, staff, students, clients and patients with special needs on all aspects of compassion as it relates to humans and animals, including the application of compassionate concern.
- Delta Society: the Human-Animal Health Connection
Delta Society® is an international, non-profit, human service organization with a very unique mission. Uniting millions of Americans who have mental and physical illnesses and disabilities with professionally trained therapy animals and service dogs, Delta Society programs promote human health and well-being through interactions with companion animals.
Click on the Pet Loss and Bereavement Link for links to articles, hotlines, counselors, cemeteries and grief websites.
[Return to Top]
Legal and Ethical Issues
- Death with Dignity National Center
Death With Dignity National Center works with leaders in other states considering Oregon-style laws, as legislatures, medical communities and the public come to understand the laws benefits as well as the choice, control and comfort that the law affords.
- ERGO: Euthanasia Research & Guidance Organization
The Euthanasia Research & Guidance Organization (ERGO), a nonprofit educational corporation based in Oregon, USA, was founded in 1993 to improve the quality of background research of assisted dying for persons who are terminally or hopelessly ill and wish to end their suffering. Develops and publishes guidelines - ethical, psychological and legal - for patients and physicians to better prepare them to make life-ending decisions. The organization supplies literature to, and does research for, other right-to-die groups world wide, and also briefs journalists, authors, and graduate students who are coming fresh to the issue.
- Hemlock Society
The Hemlock Society USA is the only nationwide membership organization that promotes access to the full range of end-of-life choices, and offers guidance on advance healthcare directives, living wills, durable powers of attorney and other resources that help people ensure their end-of-life wishes are followed and implemented and that their pain is adequately treated.
- International Task Force on Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide
The International Task Force on Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide is a non-profit 501 (c)(3) educational and research organization
It addresses euthanasia, assisted suicide and end-of-life issues from a public policy perspective. Contains articles, fact sheets and other materials.
- Assisted Suicide: The Continuing Debate
by Rita L. Marker. Extensively documented article about assisted suicide in the United States through December 2000. Includes initiative, legislative and court developments as well as statistics, background information, etc. (139 Kb)
- When Death is Sought: Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia in the Medical Context
In May 1994, the New York State Task Force on Life and the Law published a 217 page report titled "When Death Is Sought: Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia in the Medical Context". Since this particular issue has received so much public attention, we are making the report available electronically. The report is posted in individual Chapters.
[Return to Top]
Suicide
- SAVE: Suicide Awareness Voices of Education
The organization is comprised mostly of suicide survivors, and people that have suffered from depression. SAVE is committed to the education of the general public about the depressive brain diseases (such as clinical depression and bipolar illness) that can result in suicide if left untreated medically and psychologically.
- Suicide Reference Library
A website created, developed and maintained by volunteer members of the Suicide Awareness Support and Education (SASE) group, Parents of Suicides (POS) group, and Friends and Families of Suicides (FFOS) group. Contains articles and reports dealing with awareness, support & education
[Return to Top]
Funeral Practices
- Morgue, The
The Morgue attempts to provide students, scholars and researchers with an on-line tool specifically targeted at the literature in field of Mortuary Science.The database can be searched by subject heading by scrolling through the subjects indexed list. The database can be searched by authors name by scrolling through the authors indexed list. Covers 30 English language journals within the field of Mortuary Science. Years 1997-present (not all journals all years).
- Complying With the Funeral Rule
Aimed at professionals in the funeral service industry, the Federal Trade Commission defines who in the funeral service profession must follow the Funeral Rule, which was created to protect the interests of consumers needing funeral services or goods.
- TheFuneralDirectory.com
Information portal and directory to a variety of funeral service, bereavement, funeral history, religion & culture and pet loss information and links.
[Return to Top]
Traumatic Death
- American Academy of Experts in Traumatic Stress
A multidisciplinary network of professionals who are committed to the advancement of intervention for survivors of trauma. The Academy aims to identify expertise among professionals, across disciplines, and to provide meaningful standards for those who work regularly with survivors
- Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc.
Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc., also known as COPS, is a nationwide non-profit 501(c)(3) organization providing resources to assist in the rebuilding of the lives of survivors of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty as determined by Federal government criteria
- International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies
Dedicated to trauma treatment, education, research and prevention. Through this organization, professionals share information about the effects of trauma, seeking to reduce traumatic stressors and their immediate and long-term consequences.
- National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
The United States Congress created the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation to lead a nationwide effort to remember Americas fallen firefighters. Since 1992, the tax-exempt, nonprofit Foundation has developed and expanded programs to honor our fallen fire heroes and assist their families and coworkers.
- TAPS: Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors, Inc.
TAPS is a national non-profit organization serving families, friends and military service members who have been affected by a death in the armed services. They offer peer support, crisis response and intervention, grief care and counseling resources, casework assistance, long-term survivor wellness, and community and military outreach.
- Traumatology of grieving : conceptual, theoretical, and treatment foundations
Traumatology of Grieving focuses on the unique features of death-related post-traumatic stress disorder, its assessment, and treatment. It enables mental health professionals to distinguish between those who are going through the normal grieving process in the aftermath of a traumatic event, and those who are suffering from PTSD. With case examples that draw upon consistent concepts and definitions, and equal attention to scholarly and practical concerns, the book argues that traumatic elements must be worked through first before grief and loss accommodations are achieved. More importantly, the new research and treatment methods presented by the leading experts in the field provide professionals with a valuable guide for understanding and helping those who grieve a loss under traumatic circumstances.
Location: Magrath Library RC455.4.L67 T7 1999
- David Baldwin's Trauma Information Pages
Focus primarily on emotional trauma and traumatic stress, including PTSD (Post-traumatic Stress Disorder), whether following individual traumatic experience(s) or a large-scale disaster. The purpose of this site is to provide information for clinicians and researchers in the traumatic-stress field.
- PILOTS Database
The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD, and is available to the public on computer systems maintained by Dartmouth College.
- A Systematic Review of the Literature on Complicated Grief
The 88 studies analysed in this review were selected because they were evidence based, published in an English-language peer-review journal between 1990 and 2005, and originated in a country with a comparative health system and social and cultural similarities to Australia.
[Return to Top]
HIV & AIDS
- "Helping the AIDS Mourner"
An Excerpt From Working With AIDS Bereavement: A Comprehensive Approach for Mental Health Providers
by Peter B. Goldblum, Ph.D., M.P.H., and Sarah Erickson, Ph.D. pp. 55-90.
Provided by TheBody.com The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
- Palliative Care and HIV
AIDS Education & Training Centers (AETC) National Resource Center.
Clinical Manual for Management of the HIV-Infected Adult, 2006 Edition. Chapter 6: Pain and Palliative Care
[Return to Top]
Death In Literature
- The American Puritan elegy : a literary and cultural study
Jeffrey Hammonds study takes an anthropological approach to the most popular form of poetry in early New England - the funeral elegy. Hammond reconstructs the historical, theological and cultural contexts of these poems to demonstrate how they responded to a specific process of mourning defined by Puritan views on death and grief. The elegies emerge, he argues, not as "poems" to be read and appreciated in a postromantic sense, but as performative scripts that consoled readers by shaping their experience of loss in accordance with theological expectation.
Locaiton: Wilson Library PS309.E4 H36 2000
- Angels and absences : child deaths in the nineteenth century
Real deaths -- Strategies of consolation : the dead child in poetry -- The life and death of Paul Dombey, and other child deaths in Dickens -- Heaven claims its own : child death in nineteenth century fiction, and after -- Sentimentality : for and against.
Location: Wilson Library PR468.D42 L47 1997
- A Confession
by Lev Nikolayevich Tolstoy (1882), distributed by the Christial Classics Ethereal Library, Calvin College, Grand Rapids, MI
- Death & dying: art, film & literature
Annotated list from the Literature, Arts and Medicine Database. This Web site is produced and maintained by the Hippocrates Project, the multi-disciplinary development laboratory for application of information technologies to medical education at New York University School of Medicine.
- Death in the movies
Some films where death is a major part of the narrative, or where death related issues are explored as part of the thematic element of the film. While this list is only a starting point, the commentaries will show a little of the breadth and diversity of movie representations of death as portrayed in the cinema. From the ThinkQuest: Death: An inquiry into mans mortal weakness
- The Tibetan Book of the Dead
Literature and artwork on prayer, ritual, and meditation from the religious traditions of Tibet, India and Nepal. University of Virginia Library online exhibit.
[Return to Top]
Internet Resources - General
- Grief in a Family Context
-- Developed by Dr. Kathleen Gilbert from Indiana Unversity, this online course offers information on how families manage loss and grief. Dr. Gilbert covers a variety of bereavement issues, such as chornic grief, ceremonies and rituals, gender and culture, etc. and provides extensive links to additional resources.
- MEDLINEplus
MEDLINEplus, a service of the worlds largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 600 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Self-Help Group Sourcebook Online
The Self-Help Sourcebook Online is a searchable database that includes information on over 800+ national, international and demonstrational model self-help support groups, ideas for starting groups, and opportunities to link with others to develop needed new national or international groups.
- Sociology of Death & Dying
-- This meta-index of death & dying resources includes the following topics: cross-cultural issues; death in the arts and humanities; types of death; life after death; obituaries; memorials; religion; politics; euthanasia and physician assisted suicide; animal rights; grief; funeral customs and planning. It is complied and maintained by Michael C. Kearl, Trinity University.
[Return to Top]
Library Resources
-
This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
- Anthropology Plus

Indexes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Useful subject headings: bereavement; mourning customs; grief; funeral rites and ceremonies; postmortem changes; burial; embalming; cremation; mummies.
- CINAHL

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, and consumer health. Useful subject headings: burial practices; bereavement; grief; death counseling; attitude to death; death; death education; suicide; postmortem care.