Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

HSM 3521: Health Care Delivery Systems

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Library Resources and Services
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
  • MNCAT Plus
    Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
    • Electronic Journals
      This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    -- Use this web-based form to get individualized library research support for your course, or to get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.

Information Resources/Databases
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline). You may focus on finding Evidence Based Resources by clicking on the link below.

Weekly Modules: Web Resources
  • 1: Introduction and Overview
    • Institute of Medicine
      Institute of Medicine- Its report, To Err is Human is still the best summary of knowledge about medical errors. IOM committee members who wrote that report are excellent sources.
  • 2: Foundation of the Health Care System
    • HRSA
      The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) funds programs that improve the Nation’s health by expanding access to comprehensive, quality health care for all Americans. HRSA works to improve and extend life for people living with HIV/AIDS, provide primary health care to medically underserved people, serve women and children through state programs, and train a health workforce that is both diverse and motivated to work in underserved communities.
  • 3: Historical Overview
    • WHO: Health Care Delivery
      "Health care delivery systems are confronting important challenges posed by the rapid development of communication and biomedical technology, the need for cost-containment and the focus on effectiveness and efficiency, the increase of populations’ demands for services and changes in demographic and epidemiological factors."
  • 4: Health Care Finance and National Health Care Expenditures
    • AHRQ: Data & Surveys
      A variety of data and surveys covering health care costs and expenditures in the U.S.
    • Buyers Health Care Action Group
      "BHCAG’s efforts and results are recognized nationwide as the most innovative, leading-edge approach to health care purchasing. Click on the sections in the left column to learn more about the organization’s mission and the important programs launched by BHCAG."
  • 5: Private Insurance and Reimbursement Methods
    • America's Health Insurance Plans
      "AHIP is the national association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than 200 million Americans."
    • HealthDecisions.org
      "HealthDecisions.org aims to be the leading source of health care and insurance information available, while focusing on matching user needs with health care information. Backed by the best and most in-depth industry resources available, HealthDecisions.org connects users directly to 1300 health plans and tens of thousands of agents and brokers nationwide. Our up to the minute original and broad content provides a vast network of healthcare information, data, and commentary."
    • Health Spending Accounts
      "Several options exist for employers to provide accounts that employees can use to pay for health care expenses not otherwise covered by a health plan; the options vary as to tax treatment, who can contribute, and what expenses can be covered."
  • 6: Public Insurance
    • FEMA Public Assistance
      "FEMA’s Public Assistance Grant Program is one way federal assistance gets to the state and local governments and to certain private nonprofit organizations. These grants allow them to respond to disasters, to recover from their impact and to mitigate impact from future disasters. While these grants are aimed at governments and organizations -- their final goal is to help a community and all its citizens recover from devastating natural disasters."
  • 8: Hospitals
    • American Hospital Association
      "The American Hospital Association (AHA) is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities. Close to 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 37,000 individual members come together to form the AHA."
    • Department of Veterans Affairs: Facilities Locator & Directory
      "This site is a storehouse of facility and key staff information within 1155 VA facilities, maintained on a regular basis by editors and administrators nationwide throughout the VA network. Designed for ease-of-use, this site categorizes information for browsing by state and administration, as well as by viewing through an interactive map of the United States."
    • Health & Human Services: Hospital Compare
      "This tool provides you with information on how well the hospitals in your area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. This information will help you compare the quality of care hospitals provide. Hospital Compare was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and organizations that represent hospitals, doctors, employers, accrediting organizations, other Federal agencies and the public."
    • Michigan Health & Hospital Association
      "The MHA is composed of a blend of hospitals and health systems, and other organizations involved in health care. Our job is to represent these groups at the national, state and regional levels. That most often means before the legislative and regulatory agencies, and with the media. Our primary tools are education, policy development and advocacy."
  • 9: Long-Term Care
    • Elder Web
      Contains information and links about long-term care
    • HHS: Office of Disability , Aging, and Long-Term Care Policy
      "The Office of Disability, Aging, and Long-Term Care Policy (DALTCP) is charged with developing, analyzing, evaluating, and coordinating HHS policies and programs which support the independence, productivity, health, and long-term care needs of children, working age adults, and older persons with disabilities."
    • Minnesota: LinkAge Line
      "Senior LinkAge Line® is a free telephone information-and-assistance service which makes it easy for seniors and their families to find community services."
  • 10: Ambulatory Care
    • American Academy of Urgent Care
      "The American Board of Urgent Care Medicine is an independent certifying body, meeting the high standards required for recognition by the American Academy of Urgent Care Medicine, (AAUCM) (formerly the American Academy of Ambulatory Care)."
  • 11: Health Care Workforce
    • HHS: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis
      "Two studies (The Health Care Workforce in Eight States: Education, Practice & Policy and The Health Care Workforce in Ten States: Education, Practice & Policy) provide in-depth assessments of the health workforce in selected States and an Interstate Comparison that assesses data and influences across the eight or ten States. Both studies were conducted for HRSA by the National Conference of State Legislatures."
      • State Health Workforce Profiles
        "Highlights compile 2000 data on levels of employment, projected growth and key environmental factors that affect demand for health care. Details for medicine, nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, mental health and aides." (published 2004)
    • Occupational Outlook Handbook
      Note: for health professions information scroll down the page to the sections titled: Health diagnosing and treating occupations and Health technologists and technicians
    • WHO: Preparing a Health Care Workforce for the 21st Century:
      "This publication calls for the transformation of healthcare workforce training to better meet the needs of caring for patients with chronic conditions, predicated upon the rapid escalation in chronic health problems around the world. To provide effective care for chronic conditions, the skills of health professionals must be expanded to meet these new complexities."
  • 12: Health Care Quality
    • Institute for Healthcare Improvement
      "The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) is a not-for-profit organization driving the improvement of health by advancing the quality and value of health care. Founded in 1991 and based in Cambridge, Massachusetts, IHI offers comprehensive products and services."
    • The Leapfrog Group
      "The Leapfrog Group is an initiative driven by organizations that buy health care who are working to initiate breakthrough improvements in the safety, quality and affordability of healthcare for Americans. It is a voluntary program aimed at mobilizing employer purchasing power to alert America’s health industry that big leaps in health care safety, quality and customer value will be recognized and rewarded."
    • NQF: National Quality Forum
      "The mission of the NQF is to improve American healthcare through endorsement of consensus-based national standards for measurement and public reporting of healthcare performance data that provide meaningful information about whether care is safe, timely, beneficial, patient-centered, equitable and efficient."
  • 13: Health Care Safety
    • National Patient Safety Foundation
      "To Improve the Safety of Patients through our efforts to: Identify and create a core body of knowledge; Identify pathways to apply the knowledge; Develop and enhance the culture of receptivity to patient safety; Raise public awareness and foster communications about patient safety; and Improve the status of the Foundation and its ability to meet its goals."
  • 14: Health Policy and Health Economics
    • Alliance for Health Reform
      "A nonpartisan, nonprofit group, the Alliance believes that all in the U.S. should have access to health care and health coverage at a reasonable cost."
    • Center for Studying Health System Change
      "The mission of the Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC) is to inform health care decision makers about changes in the health care system at both the local and national levels and the effects of such changes on people. HSC seeks to provide objective, incisive analyses that lead to sound policy and management decisions, with the ultimate goal of improving the health of the American public."
    • National Health Policy Forum
      " The National Health Policy Forum seeks to inform the public policy process by helping participants–federal health policymakers in the legislative and executive branches and in congressional support agencies–engage in rigorous, constructive, and respectful dialogue."

RefWorks and Citing Sources Tutorial

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

Quick Study: Library Research Guide Citing Sources Tutorial
Thoroughly and completely citing the sources you use for your research is a critical part of your writing. It is one of the keys by which your research becomes a contribution to the larger intellectual community. In this module, you will learn how and why to cite your sources.


Page Coordinator: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More