Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

HSM 4501: Health Systems Management

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Library Resources and Services
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
  • MNCAT Classic
    Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. We recommend MNCAT Classic for searching South Asia materials. The authors and titles of South Asian materials often contain non-standard characters that prevent MNCAT Plus from finding them.
    • Electronic Journals
      This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    -- Use this web-based form to get individualized library research support for your course, or to get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.

Evidence-Based Practice
  • Information Resources/Databases
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
      MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

      MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline). You may focus on finding Evidence Based Resources by clicking on the link below.
      • PubMed: Clinical Queries
        This page within the PubMed Medline database allows you to search PubMed with evidence based elements
  • Internet Resources/Comprehensive Websites

Medical and Bioethics
  • American Public Health Association: Public Health Code of Ethics
    "This code of ethics states key principles of the ethical practice of public health. An accompanying statement lists the key values and beliefs inherent to a public health perspective upon which the ethical principles are based. Public health is understood within this code as what we, as a society, do collectively to assure the conditions for people to be healthy. We affirm the World Health Organization’s understanding of health as a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity".
  • ORI: Office of Research Integrity
    "The Office of Research Integrity (ORI) promotes integrity in biomedical and behavioral research supported by the U. S. Public Health Service (PHS) at about 4,000 institutions worldwide."
  • UNC: Public Health Ethics - a short course
    "Welcome to Public Health Ethics, a short course developed to explore such questions as: Is there a public health ethic? Is it different from medical ethics? And is it the same as public health laws?"

Research Design
  • An Introduction to Information Mastery
    This is a Web-based course that introduces the basic concepts of Information Mastery, Evidence-Based Medicine (EBP), and critical appraisal of the medical literature. Note that the icon means that clicking on this link will open a new browser window, and appears throughout this course. Send comments and suggestions to Mark Ebell, MD, MS. (Mark.Ebell@ht.msu.edu)
  • SPH: Research Services
    "Housed within the school are a number of services that can assist you in conducting your research. Whether you are looking for statistical analysis, recruitment of study participants, or survey design, our experts can help you."

RefWorks and Citing Sources Tutorial

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

Quick Study: Library Research Guide Citing Sources Tutorial
Thoroughly and completely citing the sources you use for your research is a critical part of your writing. It is one of the keys by which your research becomes a contribution to the larger intellectual community. In this module, you will learn how and why to cite your sources.



Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More