Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

INMD 6102-4: Physician & Patient 3

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Professor: Sharon Allen, MD allen001@umn.edu
Librarian: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
 
Library Resources and Services
  • Bio-Medical Library
    Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health. • HoursMap
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
      -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.

Information Resources/Databases
  • General
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
  • images.MD Authentication Required
    images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.
  • MD Consult Authentication Required
    Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
    Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty.
  • MICROMEDEX Authentication Required
    Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician’s Desk Reference.
    • Using MICROMEDEX
      Handout on how to search the various databases that make up MICROMEDEX.
  • STAT!Ref Authentication Required
    Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • Evidence Based
  • ACP's PIER: The Physician's Information & Education Resource Authentication Required
    PIER is a product of ACP, The American College of Physicians and is a web-based authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool. PIER’s disease modules include sections on diagnosis, prevention, screening, drug therapy, patient education and case scenarios. On the PDA application, topics are supported with tables, and references to Web sites for supporting articles in Annals of Internal Medicine and PubMed. PIER adds and revises information as new disease findings become available.
  • Cochrane Library Authentication Required
    The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews ; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE; The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register; The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions)
  • Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required
    Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.
  • Web Sites
  • NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
    -- Similar to Cochrane, the CRD databases provide provide the NHS (National Health Service -Great Britain) with important information on the effectiveness of treatments and the delivery and organisation of health care
  • TRIP Database
    The trip database contained Evidence Based Healthcare reources. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.

Practice Guidelines
  • General Information
    • Levels of Evidence
      The Levels of evidence (RTF document) sets out one approach to systematising this process for different question types.
  • Information Resources/Databases
    • Clinical Practice Guidelines Online (AHRQ)
      Between 1992 and 1996, the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (now the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) sponsored development of a series of 19 clinical practice guidelines
    • Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI)
      An independent, non-profit organization, ICSI provides health care quality improvement services to 43 medical organizations. The Knowledge Resources component includes: healthcare guidelines, guideline impact studies, technology assessment reports and other resources
    • National Guideline Clearinghouse
      The National Guideline ClearinghouseTM (NGCTM) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.



Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More