Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

MHA Master of Healthcare Administration

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Information Resources
  • Indexes: for finding journal articles
    -- Use these indexes to find what articles are available on your topic. For healthcare administration, indexes covering journals in both the "Business and Economics" and "Health Sciences" categories are useful sources of article citations.
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
      MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

      MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • QuickStudy -- Finding Books
      Finding books that focus on your research needs is one of the keys to successful scholarship. In this QuickStudy: Library Research Guide module, you’ll learn how to find the books you want among the six million items cataloged in MNCAT, University of Minnesota’s online catalog.
  • University Library homepages
    • Bio-Medical Library
      This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.

Library Services
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
  • Distance Education
    -- This site provides the outline information for distance learning services. Additional details can be requested by contacting the reference desk MEDREF@tc.umn.edu.
    • U of M Internet Account
      -- -- Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
    • Obtaining a U Card
      -- The U Card enables you to use Library services (e.g., checking out books), as well as other campus resources.
  • Home or Office: Book and Article Delivery
    -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to requrest books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
    • Libraries to U (if in MNCAT)
      -- Libraries to U provides delivery of books and journal articles held in the Libraries. These materials can be delivered to an off-campus address. Small fees usually apply.
    • Interlibrary Loan
      Interlibrary Loan is a free service for University students, faculty, and staff with current borrowing privileges. This service is provided by the University of Minnesota Libraries to promote coursework and scholarly research by providing access to materials not held by the University Libraries.
  • QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
    This eight-module tutorial provides an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    Have a question about the libraries, connecting to databases or e-journals, or about the research process? Check here to see if we have already answered it.

Online Reference Sources
  • Doctor Finder (AMA's Physician Select)
    -- Use this site to find either a specific doctor’s contact information, or to find doctors who match geographic and speciality criteria (e.g., if you are looking for cardiologists in Dallas, Texas).
  • HospitalWeb
    -- Use this site to find information about hospitals both in the US and around the world.
  • Merck Manual
    -- Online medical textbook that includes descriptions of hundreds of diseases.

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More