|
MHA Healthcare Management -- ISP Off-Site Executive Study Program |
Course Instructors:
Librarian: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
On This Page
You are entitled to use the Library
-- ALL students currently enrolled in University of Minnesota, Twin Cities campus credit-bearing courses, including distance learners, are fully entitled to University Libraries resources and services. These services include, but are not limited to:
- (1) borrowing privileges (onsite visits)
(2) delivery of books and copies of articles to off-campus locations for a nominal fee
(3) reference and research assistance (provided in multiple ways)
(4) remote access to databases and other electronic resources
- Get an Overview of Selected Resources & Services
This six-minute online presentation highlights selected resources and services provided by the Bio-Medical Library. You can listen to the slide narration or use the Notes tab within the presentation to read the accompanying text.
Initiate Your Email Account
- Initiate your Email Account
-- You will need to initiate your U of M email in order to obtain remote access to many databases.
- If you have no social security number, you need to visit a computer lab.
-- Use the resources in this section to locate maps, library locations, & hours.
- All University Libraries -- Hours and Locations
-- The University of Minnesota Libraries are located in 15 separate sites located throughout the greater metropolitan area. The University Libraries comprise the seventeenth largest academic library collection in the United States.
University Libraries and MNCAT
-- Explore the University Libraries homepage and MNCAT, our U of M Libraries catalog.
- University of Minnesota Libraries' Website
-- The University Libraries web site provides access to the Libraries extensive scholarly print and electronic resources; journal article indexes; and services. And it serves as a gateway to local, national, and international information sources.
URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/
- MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries catalog, to find books, journals, and other resources owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. See also Basic Search Tips or Advanced Search Tips.
Find a Library Near You
- Materials you need are not available in the U of Minnesota Libraries? Use your organization's library, or find a library near you
- Using Libraries in Your Community
-- Use this list to find a library near you. Or, check out LibWeb for other choices.
- ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) is a Web-based virtual library containing online magazines, newspapers, journal articles, and information from encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and other resources. ELM is a compilation of thorough and accurate
Borrowing Services at the University of Minnesota Libraries
- Obtaining a U Card
-- The U Card enables you to use Library services (e.g., checking out books), as well as other campus resources.
- Borrowing Services
From this page you may access information about University Libraries borrowing policies, and services for renewing and recalling library materials.
Photocopy and Delivery Services Available to You
- Bio-Medical Library PhotoDelivery
-- -- A page-and-copy service available to all current students, staff, and faculty at the U of M. Material will be copied from journals or books housed in the Bio-Medical Library
- Libraries to U
Libraries to U provides access to library materials for current University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities faculty, staff, and students. Lumina to U staff will check out books or photocopy articles from the U of M Libraries collections.
What is the cost if I have materials delivered to me?
- Interlibrary Loan
-- Borrow a book or obtain an article from a journal. Use this to borrow items not owned by the libraries.
- Course Reserves
Materials are placed on reserve at the request of instructors to support the academic programs of various departments. The preferred location of reserve materials is the library building or unit where most of the subjects materials are held. Please refer to your course syllabus to determine which library has your reserve readings.
Electronic course reserves are also available. Follow the links to find out what materials are on electronic reserve for your classes.
Research Assistance in the Libraries
- Business Library
-- In person and telephone reference help are available during the hours listed. The Business Reference print collection is available during the extended Wilson Library building hours.
- Ask a Business Librarian. Reach us at busref@umn.edu
- Map
- Ask a Business Librarian. Reach us at busref@umn.edu
- Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
- Ask a Bio-Medical Librarian. Hours Map
- Law Library
Legal materials including state and federal statutes, reports, regulations, treatises, foreign and comparative international legal sources.
- Ask a Law Librarian. Hours Map
- Government Publications Library
Regional Federal Depository Library for U.S. government publications; depository for Minnesota, Canada, United Nations, and the European Union. Other official foreign and intergovernmental publications.
- Ask a Government Publications Librarian. Map
- Ask Us! University Libraries' InfoPoint Service
Use this service to request research assistance and contact the Libraries to get help in resolving computer and technology problems with our library resources.
You can click here to start a live CHAT session (limited hours) or to send us your EMAIL question.
- UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health
This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health.
Library Research Assistance on the Web
-- Use these help guides or research tools when you cannot reach our library staff.
- Library Research Guides on Business Topics
-- Check out our Research Guides!
- CourseLib
-- A list of Web pages designed for specific University of Minnesota classes or student groups.
Remote Access to Research Databases (available through U of M Libraries' licenses) on the Web
-- This section includes links to licensed database and other full-text information resources, most available remotely only to University of Minnesota students, faculty and staff. To access these services you will need to activate your University of Minnesota email account.
- Periodical & Journal Index Databases
-- This library research guide offers an extensive listing of databases of interest to healthcare management professionals. Listed below are just a few of the databases in this guide:
- Academic Search Premier
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The worlds largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
- Business Source Premier
-- Business Source Premier database contains over 2,800 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals. For example, find full text of Harvard Business Review and Academy of Management Journal.
- PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty
Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
- PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
- MEDLINE (OVID)
MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.The Libraries subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
- Searching MEDLINE Through Ovid
-- Printable handout that gives an overview on how to search Medline through Ovid
- Social Sciences Citation Index (included in Web of Science)
-- Covers the social sciences, including anthropology, history, industrial relations, information science and library science, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social issues, social work, sociology, substance abuse, urban studies, and womens studies. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 60% of the articles in the database."
- Frequently Used Business Journal/Magazine/News Databases
-- This is the full list of business journal databases for which we have licenses.
- Corporate Annual Reports and Company Information
-- Review the list of resources on this page for information about publicly traded companies.
- Mergent Online
Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and annual reports. Pdf images of corporate annual reports for publicly traded US and foreign corporations are available going back to 1996. Access to SEC filings via EDGAR database are also included in Mergent Online. The University of Minnesota license allows 6 simultaneous users.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.
Grey/Gray Literature -- Working Papers
- Some Web Sites that provide Grey/Gray Literature-- The U.S. Interagency Gray Literature Working Group, "Gray Information Functional Plan," 18 January 1995, defines gray literature as "foreign or domestic open source material that usually is available through specialized channels and may not enter normal channels or systems of publication, distribution, bibliographic control, or acquisition by booksellers or subscription agents." Both "gray" literature and "grey" literature are commonly used to describe this body of information.
- Grey Literature Page from the New York Academy of Medicine
- Gray Lit Network
- Open University Library --Reports and Gray Literature
- National Clearinghouse on the Direct Care Workforce
- RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
- Social Science Research Network
- eScholarship Repository from the University of California
- PolicyFile
PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection
This database includes historic documents and primary source materials, CQ reports and analyses of public policy issues, bibliographies, chronologies, statistical information, and directory listings for government, nonprofit, and private organizations in major policy areas such as agriculture, business, education, environment, health, international relations, justice, media, national security, and social welfare.
Find Master of Healthcare Administration Theses
-- Check to see what others in the program have submitted. University of Minnesota Healthcare Management theses are in the process of being added to the Bio-Medcial Librarys collection. Records appear in MNCAT, our Web catalog.
- Digital Dissertations
-- U. S. and European dissertations and theses from over 1,000 universities. Doctoral dissertations are indexed for almost all North American graduate schools and many European universities. Masters theses from selected schools only. Provides bibliographic citations for older titles. Abstracts are included for dissertations since 1980 and for masters theses since 1988. Some dissertations, beginning with 1997 publication dates, are available digitally. These include the University of Minnesota and other CIC member universities:http://www.cic.uiuc.edu/CICUniversities.shtml
Location(s): Print Version available at WILSON Quarto Z5053 .D57 and other locations under varying titles. See reference librarian for assistance. Print version: 1933/34 - present Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
Managing your Research Citations with RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
- Learn More About RefWorks
Start at this page to learn how to use this powerful citation management tool.
- Export Instructions by Database
Find detailed, easy to follow instructions on how to export records from a database to RefWorks.





delicious
furl