Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

NURS 5808: Indian Health

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Felicia Hodge hodge029@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • Indexes: for finding journal articles
    -- Use these indexes to find what articles are available on your topic. This grouping includes CINAHL (for Nursing and Allied Health) MEDLINE (for nursing and medicine), AMED (allied and complementary medicine) among other excellent resources.
    • Medline Tutorial
      -- This tutorial for MEDLINE searching has been customized for University of Minnesota students.
    • CINAHL Authentication Required
      CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
    • Bibliography of Native North Americans Authentication Required
      Contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
  • Other Resources
    • Indian Health Service
      -- The Indian Health Service (I H S), an agency within the U S Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
    • Native American Ethnobotany Database
      -- Database of the materials found in the book, American Indian Ethnobotany by Daniel E Moerman PhD at University of Michigan. Information includes plant use, and references.
    • Native Health History Database
      -- Database by the Indian Health Service and the University of New Mexico covering the history of Native Heath with citations from 1652 to 1970. Contains citations regarding traditional foods, herbal remedies, shamanism, etc.
    • HealthFinder: American Indians and Alaska Natives
      -- An easy-to-use consumer resource produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website provides carefully reviewed links to up-to-date health information of special interest to American Indians and Alaska Natives.

Library Services
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
  • Distance Education
    -- This site provides the outline information for distance learning services. Additional details can be requested by contacting the reference desk MEDREF@tc.umn.edu.
    • U of M Internet Account
      -- -- Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
  • Home or Office: Book and Article Delivery
    -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to requrest books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
    • Libraries to U (if in MNCAT)
      -- Libraries to U provides delivery of books and journal articles held in the Libraries. These materials can be delivered to an off-campus address. Small fees usually apply.
    • InterLibrary Loan (if not in MNCAT)
      -- - Faculty, students and staff in the Health Sciences may request materials not held by the University Libraries, University of Minnesota Twin City Campus Libraries.
  • QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
    This tutorial, an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.



Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More