Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PMED 5392: Research in Occupational Therapy

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Virgil Mathiowetz mathi003@umn.edu
Librarian: Liz Fine evfine@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • MNCAT Plus
    Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
    • Electronic Journals
      This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • CINAHL Authentication Required
    CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Authentication Required
    Describes instruments used to assess health and behavior of infants, children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Topics covered include public health, communication, psychology, management, nursing, organizational behavior, medicine, sociology, physical education, psychiatry, human resources, gerontology and dental medicine. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, observation checklists and manuals, index measures, coding schemes, scenarios and vignettes, rating scales, projective techniques and tests. Includes title, author, publication resource, development date, publication date, subjects, description and reliability and validity information. International coverage.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • OT Search (formerly OT BibSys) Authentication Required
    This bibliographic index covers the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. It includes citations to journal and newsletter articles, books, proceedings, and doctoral and masters theses. Produced by the American Occupational Therapy Foundation.
  • OTseeker
    OT seeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
  • images.MD Authentication Required
    images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.
  • An@tomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

Internet Sites
  • ABLEDATA
    ABLEDATA contains information on assistive technology products, from white canes to voice output programs, including detailed descriptions of each product, price, and company information.
  • American Occupational Therapy Foundation
    The American Occupational Therapy Foundation is a charitable, non-profit organization created in 1965 to advance the science of occupational therapy and increase public understanding of its value.
  • Fastats: Health Statistics A-Z
    Quick access to health statistics such as: accidents, outpatient department visits and work loss days from the National Center for Health Statistics. This subject index gives users a summary of the most current figures; links to "Comprehensive Data", typically statistical time-series in PDF format and links to related web sites including other government web sites and occasionally including private, non-profit sources.
  • Instructions to Authors
    -- Links to web sites that provide instructions to authors for over 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences.
  • Minnesota Occupational Therapy Association
    The purpose of MOTA is to promote practice, education and research within the profession of occupational therapy. MOTA also serves as a liaison between therapists in Minnesota and the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA).
  • Occupational Therapy
    Part of the University Libraries’ Research QuickStart database, this web page provides information on occupational therapy-related article indexes, dictionaries, handbooks, and writing guides.

Library Services
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
  • Bio-Medical Library Classes
    Free to U of M students, staff and faculty. We offer a variety of instructional classes on topics such as navigating library resources, database search techniques, and Power Point presentations.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
    -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Interlibrary Loan
    -- Borrow a book or obtain an article from a journal. This borrowing service is for current students, staff and faculty in U of M health science programs.


Page Coordinator: Liz Fine evfine@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More