Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PUBH 1003: Alcohol and College Life

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
James Rothenberger rothe001@umn.edu
 
Library Services
  • Assignment Calculator
    Enter in the deadline for your research paper and get a suggested time-line for completing your paper on time plus links to the resources on campus that will help you succeed in each step of the research and writing process.
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Services
      -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
      -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
    • Bio-Medical Library Handouts
      -- Access to a variety of handouts, many in PDF format, on using Bio-Medical Library resources. Accessing E-Journals, Anatomy of a Citation, Evaluating Web Resources, and Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences are of particular interest.
  • Book and Article Delivery Options
    Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
  • InfoPoint - Personalized Assistance
    Use this web-based form to get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
    • U of M Internet Account
      Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
  • QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
    This eight-module tutorial provides an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.
  • Research QuickStart
    You can use Research QuickStart to begin your research for undergraduate papers and speeches. Research QuickStart provides you with a list of resources (books, indexes, websites, libraries and more) on the topic you select.
    • Education
      This subject covers: general educational theory and practice; early childhood, elementary, and secondary education; and topics such as curriculum, instruction, learning, tests, and measurements. For adult education: see also "Education, Vocational and Technical." For special education: see also "Educational Psychology." For Tests: see also "Tests, Educational and Psychological"
    • Substance Abuse
      This subject covers: the abuse, overuse, or misuse of drugs or other substances.
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

Information Resources
  • ETOH
    ETOH is a comprehensive bibliographic database on alcohol and alcoholism produced by NIAAA.
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. More than 10.8 million records from over 3900 journals are indexed in MEDLINE plus records formerly indexed in Bioethicsline, Aidsline, and Healthstar.
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
  • Internet Sites - Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Resources
    • Alcohol Epidemiology Program
      The Alcohol Epidemiology Program (AEP)is a research program within the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota. The program receives grant funding from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The site has information on alcohol control policies, local ordinances, state law, resources and tools, and publications.
    • College Drinking. Changing the Culture.
      This site is produced by NIAAA and is designed for students, peer educators, and college administrators. The sections include Links, Research, Just the Facts, NIAAA Reports, 3 in 1 Framework, College Alcohol Policies, and College Drinking Newsroom.
    • Facts on Tap
      Facts on Tap is a comprehensive alcohol and other drug education, prevention, and intervention program for college students. Links include information on Drugs, Alcohol and Your Body, Alcohol and Sex, Commuter Students, Children of Alcoholics, Dealing with a Friend’s Drinking, and Your College Experience.
    • Minnesota Prevention Resource Center (MPRC)
      MPRC is a project of the Minnesota Institute of Public Health (MIPH). MPRC supports people who work to promote the public health and prevent the problems caused by substance abuse. This includes tobacco and drug use, underage alcohol use, and the misuse of alcohol by adults.
    • Monitoring the Future Study
      The Monitoring the Future Study is a national annual survey of 8th, 10th, and 12th grade students that measures the trends in the use, attitudes, and availability of various drugs. Data tables and figures often appear at this site before they are in print.
    • National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
      This site has lists of NIAAA publications including the full text of Alcohol Alert and the Special Reports to the U.S. Congress on Alcohol and Health. Grants information is provided. A link to NIAAA Quick Facts provides statistical information on alcohol treatment. Links are also provided to the ETOH database on alcohol related topics, NIAAA clinical trials, and other sources.
    • PREVLINE - Prevention Online
      PSAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI) is the Nation’s one-stop resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. NCADI is one of the largest Federal clearinghouses, offering more than 500 items to the public, many of which are free of charge. We distribute the latest studies and surveys, guides, videocassettes, and other types of information and materials on substance abuse from various agencies, such as the U.S. Departments of Education and Labor, the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, and the National Institute on Drug Abuse. We staff both English- and Spanish-speaking information specialists who are skilled at recommending appropriate publications, posters, and videocassettes; conducting customized searches; providing grant and funding information; and referring people to appropriate organizations.



Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More