Course Instructors:
James Rothenberger
rothe001@umn.edu
Information Resources
- MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. More than 10.8 million records from over 3900 journals are indexed in MEDLINE plus records formerly indexed in Bioethicsline, Aidsline, and Healthstar.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- PsycINFO

PsycINFO covers all areas of psychology, including experimental and developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine.
It provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. PsycINFO also indexes books and book chapters.
The producer/publisher is the American Psychological Association.
- Internet Sites - Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Resources
- Alcohol Epidemiology Program
The Alcohol Epidemiology Program (AEP)is a research program within the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota. The program receives grant funding from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The site has information on alcohol control policies, local ordinances, state law, resources and tools, and publications.
- Smoking & Tobacco Use - Center for Disease Control & Prevention
This site has several sections including an overview of quick tobacco information and links, current tobacco related events, Surgeon Generals Reports related to tobacco, other research, data, and reports, guides on how to quit using tobacco, tobacco related citations, educational materials, and a listing of publications.
- DEA Drug Enforcement Administration U.S. Department of Justice
The Drug Enforcement Administration enforces the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States. This site contains an overview of the agency, its programs and publications, statistics on drug use, drugs of concern, and links to other relevant sites.
- Hazelden Foundation
Hazelden is a nonprofit organization dedicated to help people recover from alcoholism and other drug addiction. This site contains a comprehensive collection of resources for people in recovery, for those uncertain about themselves, friends, or relatives, and for professionals who treat the effects of alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use.
- HealthWeb
HealthWeb provides organized access to evaluated non-commercial, health-related, Internet-accessible resources. It is a meta-list of current, authoritative health-related web sites that is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation.
- Marin Institute for the Prevention of Alcohol and Other Drug Problems
The Marin Institute takes a public health approach to prevention: creating an environment that helps individuals make health choices and requiring responsible actions from government and business. This site links to other prevention sites, alcohol beverage industry sites, to recovery and self-help organizations, and to the Institutes alcohol industry and policy database.
- Minnesota Prevention Resource Center (MPRC)
MPRC is a project of the Minnesota Institute of Public Health (MIPH). MPRC supports people who work to promote the public health and prevent the problems caused by substance abuse. This includes tobacco and drug use, underage alcohol use, and the misuse of alcohol by adults.
- Monitoring the Future Study
The Monitoring the Future Study is a national annual survey of 8th, 10th, and 12th grade students that measures the trends in the use, attitudes, and availability of various drugs. Data tables and figures often appear at this site before they are in print.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
This site has lists of NIAAA publications including the full text of Alcohol Alert and the Special Reports to the U.S. Congress on Alcohol and Health. Grants information is provided. A link to NIAAA Quick Facts provides statistical information on alcohol treatment. Links are also provided to the ETOH database on alcohol related topics, NIAAA clinical trials, and other sources.
- NHIC: National Health Information Center
NHIC is an information and referral service that puts health professionals and consumers in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide answers. The Health Information Resources Database includes over 1100 organizations and government offices. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information on publications and services. Links are provided to many HIV/AIDS sites.
- Nicotine and Tobacco Network (NICNET)
This site is from the University of Arizona and deals with tobacco and nicotine exclusively. Research, satire, journals and monographs, policies and issues, grants, government resources, statistical resources, images, and listings of organizations are provided.
- NIDA: National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIDAs site contains information about the division, offices, and work groups and committees of NIDA. An events calendar, a listing of grants and contracts, and links to other relevant web sites are provided.
- PREVLINE - Prevention Online
PSAMHSAs National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI) is the Nations one-stop resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. NCADI is one of the largest Federal clearinghouses, offering more than 500 items to the public, many of which are free of charge. We distribute the latest studies and surveys, guides, videocassettes, and other types of information and materials on substance abuse from various agencies, such as the U.S. Departments of Education and Labor, the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, and the National Institute on Drug Abuse.
We staff both English- and Spanish-speaking information specialists who are skilled at recommending appropriate publications, posters, and videocassettes; conducting customized searches; providing grant and funding information; and referring people to appropriate organizations.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA is an agency that provides substance abuse and mental health services, as well as prevention and treatment information. The home page outlines SAMHSAs programs and services, has listings of events and conferences, and statistical information on drug abuse. Links to other related Internet sources are provided.
Library Services
- Bio-Medical Library
This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
- Bio-Medical Library - Services
-- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
- Bio-Medical Library - Reference
-- The Bio-Medical Librarys Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
- Bio-Medical Library Handouts
-- Access to a variety of handouts, many in PDF format, on using Bio-Medical Library resources. Accessing E-Journals, Anatomy of a Citation, Evaluating Web Resources, and Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences are of particular interest.
- QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
This eight-module tutorial provides an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.
- RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
- Research QuickStart
You can use Research QuickStart to begin your research for undergraduate papers and speeches.
Research QuickStart provides you with a list of resources (books, indexes, websites, libraries and more) on
the topic you select.
- Education
This subject covers: general educational
theory and practice; early childhood, elementary, and
secondary education; and topics such as curriculum, instruction, learning, tests, and measurements. For adult
education: see also "Education, Vocational and
Technical." For special education: see also "Educational Psychology." For Tests: see also "Tests, Educational
and Psychological"
- Selected Books and Journals
- Adolescents, alcohol, and substance abuse: reaching teens through brief interventions
- Substance abuse intervention, prevention, rehabilitation, and systems change strategies: helping individuals, families, and groups to empower themselves
- Substance use and abuse: sociological perspectives
- Journal of American college health
- Journal of child and adolescent substance abuse
Top