Course Instructors:
Professor: Kristin Anderson
anderson_k@epi.umn.edu
Librarian: Lisa McGuire
lmcguire@umn.edu
Library Resources
- Bio-Medical Library
This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
- UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health
This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health.
- Bio-Medical Library Classes
Free to U of M students, staff and faculty. We offer a variety of instructional classes on topics such as navigating library resources, database search techniques, and Power Point presentations.
- Bio-Medical Library - Services
-- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
- Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
Reference staff monitor the account periodically during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00). Our goal is to send you a response within one business day. If this turn-around time is not fast enough to meet your needs, you may call our reference desk at (612) 626-3260. In-person requests are taken at the Reference desk, 2nd floor Diehl Hall.
Email reference questions should be of the "ready-reference" type. e.g. asking for health science related facts, statistics, or citation verifications (maximum of 5 cites).
Indexes/Databases Resources
- MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Includes all citations held in CANCERLIT
- National Cancer Instiute
This site includes a variety of information including general cancer info, clinical trials, statistics, research programs and research funding. In addition it contains a link to PubMed which allows you to search cancer literature with the cancer subset (results will be automatically limited to cancer related citations).
Selected Journals
-- Selected journals which focus on various aspects of cancer. Library Locations are indicated and E-journal link provided. (U of M students, staff, and faculty only)
Genomic Databases
- COSMIC (Catalogue of Somatic Mutations)
Provides information on publications, samples and mutations. Includes samples where no mutations were found during screening- allows calculation of frequency data for mutations in different genes from different cancer types.
The types of samples that can be found at this site: benign neoplasms, other benign proliferations, in situ and invasive tumors, recurrences, metastases, cancer cell lines.
- ONCOMINE
Gene Expression Comparisons:
Between normal tissues and cancer tissues, Between different cancer subtypes, In pathways associated with cancer. Find potential drug targets by looking at altered individual gene expression or altered expression in genes of different pathways
- PubGene
You chose the species (Homo sapiens), gene/protein of interest (Example: IGF2), and disease of interest (Example: Medulloblastoma. The site also has maps all of the known proteins associated with this cancer, gives a number and list of literature sources that site this association, maps/links genes/proteins associated with this cancer to other genes associated with this cancer and gives citations that show this association (Example: IGF2 and MYC). This site can be very useful for determining cancer pathways
Print Resources
-- Print items available in either Bio-Med or Wilson
- AJCC Cancer Staging Manual
-- AJCC cancer staging manual / American Joint Committee on Cancer. Edition 6th ed. / editors, Frederick L. Greene ... [et al.]. Published New York : Springer-Verlag, c2002.
Bio-Medical Library Reference QZ241 A312 2002
- International Classification of Diseases for Oncology (ICD-O)
-- April Fritz [et al.]. Edition 3rd. ed., U.S. interim ver. 2000. Published [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services ; Geneva : World Health Organization, c2000.
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) HE 20.3152:ON 1/6/2000
Internet Resources
-- The following links provide a wealth of information on a variety of topics. Brief descriptions have been included.
- American Institute for Cancer Research
Since its founding in 1982, the American Institute for Cancer Research has grown into the nations leading charity in the field of diet, nutrition and cancer. AICR supports research into the role of diet and nutrition in the prevention and treatment of cancer. It also offers a wide range of cancer prevention education programs. By adopting AICRs Diet and Health Guidelines for Cancer Prevention, people can reduce their risk of cancer by 30 to 40 percent.
- Cancer Control Planet
-- As described by the web site "This PLANET portal provides access to data and resources that can help planners, program staff, and researchers to design, implement and evaluate evidence-based cancer control programs."
- From Expsoure to Illness: Community Health Studies and Environmental Contamination
The Environmental Health Investigations Branch at the California
Department of Public Health has created a new online resource that
presents the challenges of conducting environmental health studies in
small communities, including the step by step process by which
epidemiologists decide whether it is appropriate to conduct a health
study. For example the site includes information about descriptive and
analytical health studies, exposure pathways, the biological likelihood
of developing disease, different types of bias, and a study power
calculator. There are also overviews of three health study examples.
The Web site was developed by epidemiologists, health educators,
toxicologists, and other health scientists, and reviewed by others with
similar expertise, as well as community advocates.
- State Health Facts Online
-- Contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
- MedlinePlus: Health Information - Cancer
-- A general information site which includes links to the latest news on cancer, NIH information, diagnosis, preventions, reasearch, treatment, statistics, and more.
- National Cancer Institute
The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs.
- National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
-- The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) is a not for profit, tax-exempt corporation that is an alliance of the worlds leading cancer centers. Includes an oncology outcomes database, news and clinical trials.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the WWW
-- A central source for links to official international statistical sites, from the University of Auckland Library, New Zealand. Global, regional, and national statistics are available in a wide range of topic areas including demographics, economics, and health. Searchable. Examples of statistics providers include the UN, World Bank, US Census Bureau, and the OECD. From University of Auckland Library, New Zealand.
- Your Disease Risk
Online tool to evaluate risk of developing cancer, diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis, or stroke.
Additional Resources
-- Items available online and/or in print.
Top