Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PUBH 3010/6010: Public Health Interventions for AIDS

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
James Rothenberger rothe001@umn.edu
Alan Lifson lifso001@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • Article Indexes
    • CINAHL Authentication Required
      CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
    • Health and Medicine in the News
      Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
      MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

      MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • MedlinePlus
      MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
    • PsycINFO Authentication Required
      Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
  • Internet Sites: General Information
    • AEGIS
      This site includes the AEGIS Daily Briefing - HIV news from around the world, updated hourly. The site allows the user to search Medline, CDC resources, law and reference books, conference proceedings, and other web resources. There is an "Ask the Doc" information service committed to providing unbiased information regarding any facet of the HIV epidemic.
    • AIDS Info
      AIDSInfo is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Information about Treatment and Prevention Guidelines, Drugs and Vaccines, and Clinical Trials is provided. There is an HIV/AIDS Education and Resource Center including brochures, factsheets, and resources for patients, health care providers, and researchers. Information about HIV/AIDS is also presented in Spanish.
    • Body: an AIDS and HIV information resource
      This site is a service of the Body Health Resource Corporation. Information on HIV/AIDS in more than 550 topic areas is provided including AIDS Basics and Prevention, Just Diagnosed, Treatment, Quality of Life, and Policy and Action. There is a section called "Ask the Experts" where the user can ask experts questions on a variety of topics relating to HIV/AIDS.
    • HealthWeb
      Provides organized access to evaluated non-commercial, health-related, Internet-accessible resources. A meta-list of current, authoritative health-related web sites. HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation. Currently there are over twenty actively participating member libraries. This project is supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) under contract #N01-LM-6-3523 with the University of Illinois at Chicago.
    • NHIC: National Health Information Center
      NHIC is an information and referral service that puts health professionals and consumers in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide answers. The Health Information Resources Database includes over 1100 organizations and government offices. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information on publications and services. Links are provided to many HIV/AIDS sites.
    • NLM Specialized Information Service. HIV/AIDS Information
      This service of the National Library of Medicine has treatment information, drug information, and consumer health information links. Links to sites on clinical trials, books, journal articles, and audiovisuals are also included. There is a section of links to other web sites on HIV/AIDS including Spanish language sites.
    • World Health Organization HIV/AIDS
      The World Health Organization’s web site on HIV/AIDS contains sections on WHO and HIV/AIDS, HIV/AIDS Topics, Strategic Information, Facts and Figures, Publications, and a Media Center that includes press releases.
  • Internet Sites: Research
    • National Institutes of Health Office of AIDS Research
      The Office of AIDS Research is located within the Office of the Director of NIH and is responsible for the scientific, budgetary, legislative, and policy elements of the NIH AIDS Research Program. This website includes Recent Releases, NIH Plan for HIV Related Research, Reports from Meetings, Treatment Guidelines, and NIH-AIDS Research Program Evaluation Task Force. Links to other NIH websites are provided.
  • Internet Sites: Statistics
    • AIDS Monthly
      The Minnesota Department of Health MDH HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports contain the number and demographic characteristics of HIV and AIDS cases in Minnesota.
    • CDC's HIV/AIDS Surveillance
      This site provides links to CDC publications on incidence and trend statistics, particularly the HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report.
    • Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
      "PAHO’s country profile database functions as the official regional information source on mortality in the Americas." It includes health profiles of forty-four countries in North and South America. The report "AIDS Surveillance in the Americas" contains AIDS incidence and mortality statistics, age and gender, for countries in the Western Hemisphere.
    • UNAIDS
      This website is a resource for the incidence and prevalence of AIDS throughout the world, including country by country reports.
  • Internet Sites: Special Populations
    • Black AIDS Institute
      The Black AIDS Institute is involved in leading the fight against AIDS among people of African descent. This site has sections on In the News, Latest Headlines, Our Programs, Hot Links, and Facts and Figures.
    • HIV-AIDS Facts: Hispanics and AIDS
      This site has an overview about Hispanics and AIDS. Links are provided to articles that have more information about HIV-AIDS in the Latino population.
    • National Native American AIDS Prevention Center
      The National Native American AIDS Prevention Center mission is to stop the spread of HIV and related disease among American Indians, Alaskan Natives, Native Hawaiians, and to improve the quality of life for the people infected and affected by HIV/AIDS. NNAAPC online offers current information on HIV/AIDS, statistics, events, resources, and links to other sites. New information is identified on the home page under "What’s New?".
    • Women, Children and HIV
      The goal of this site is to contribute to the improvement of the quality of international HIV/AIDS prevention, care, and treatment programs for women and children by increasing access to authoritative HIV/AIDS information. Resources on prevention of mother to child transmission, infant feeding, clinical care of women and children living with HIV infection, and the support of orphans are provided.
  • Internet Sites: Organizations and Associations

Library Services
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Services
      -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
    • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
      -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
    • Bio-Medical Library Handouts
      -- Access to a variety of handouts, many in PDF format, on using Bio-Medical Library resources. Of particular interest to this class is the handout "Finding AIDS & HIV Related Information". Research Quick Tips handouts are also available on subjects such as Ovid Medline and PubMed Searching, Boolean Operators, and Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources.
  • Book and Article Delivery Options
    Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
  • InfoPoint - Personalized Assistance
    Use this web-based form to get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
    • U of M Internet Account
      Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
  • QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
    This eight-module tutorial provides an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.
  • Research QuickStart
    You can use Research QuickStart to begin your research for undergraduate papers and speeches. Research QuickStart provides you with a list of resources (books, indexes, websites, libraries and more) on the topic you select.
    • Public Health
      This subject covers: the field of medicine that deals with the phsyical and mental health of the community.
  • Selected Books and Journals
    The underlined books and journals are available in electronic format as well as print. To access the electronic format, click on the underlined title. For books, this will take you directly to the book. For journals, clicking on the title will take you to the University of Minnesota Libraries Electronic Journals page. Type in the title of the journal you want to access. The next page will have the URL for the journal. Click on this to take you to the journal. If there is more than one URL listed, use the first one as this usually provides the most current access. If you are accessing electronic journals away from the library, you will need to authenticate with your University of Minnesota Internet ID and password. You will be prompted to do so if this is necessary.
    • Principles and practice of infectious diseases
      • Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference WC100 M2713 2000 (non-circulating)<br> Veterinary Medical Library Reserve Quarto RC111 P78 2000 • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Page Coordinator: Chad Fennell fenne035@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More

c