Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

RTT 2001: Radiation Therapy

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Patricia Fountinelle fount022@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • Article Indexes
    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Provides access to journal articles in the health sciences, including the citations in Medline, HealthStar, BioethicsLine and several other sources of information. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
      • PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
        This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
      MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

      MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • CANCERLIT
      This international bibliographic database pertains to all aspects of cancer therapy, including experimental and clinical cancer therapy; chemical, viral and other cancer causing agents; mechanisms of carcinogenesis; biochemistry, immunology, and physiology of cancer; and mutagen and growth factor studies. Indexes journal articles, letters, meeeting abstracts, government and technical reports, dissertations and monographs.
  • Books
    • Nuclear medicine physics: the basics.
      Ramesh Chandra. 2004

      Bio-Medical Library WN110 C457n 2004

    • Physics of radiation therapy
      Faiz M. Kahn. 3rd ed. 2003

      Bio-Medical Library WN110 K45p 2003

    • Principles and practice of radiation therapy
      [edited by] Charles M. Washington, Dennis Leaver. 2nd ed. 2004.

      Bio-Medical Library WN250 P957 2004

    • Radiation exposure and image quality in x-ray diagnostic radiology: physical principles and clinical applications.
      H. Aichinger ... [et al.]. 2004

      Bio-Medical Library WN665 R129 2004

    • Radiobiology for the radiologist.
      Eric J. Hall, Amato J. Giaccia. 6th ed. 2006

      Bio-Medical Library WN600 H175rb 2006

    • Radiotherapy physics and equipment
      Samantha Morris ; contribution by Andy Williams ; foreword by Angela Newing. 2001

      Bio-Medical Library WN150 M877r 2001

    • Walter and Miller’s textbook of radiotherapy : radiation physics, therapy, and oncology
      C.K. Bomford, I.H. Kunkler ; foreword by B.W. Hancock. 6th ed. 2003

      Bio-Medical Library QZ269 B695w 2003

  • Videos
    • Nuclear medicine [DVD]
      2005.

      Bio-Medical Library WN21 N964 2005

    • Radiation therapy [DVD]
      2005

      Bio-Medical Library WN21 R129 2005

    • Radiography [DVD]
      2005

      Bio-Medical Library WN21 R1239 2005

    • Sonography [DVD]
      2005.

      Bio-Medical Library WN21 S699 2005

  • Library Catalogs

    -- Lists of items, such as books, journals, and videos, owned by libraries.
    • MNCAT Classic
      Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. We recommend MNCAT Classic for searching South Asia materials. The authors and titles of South Asian materials often contain non-standard characters that prevent MNCAT Plus from finding them.
    • WorldCat Authentication Required
      -- Includes catalog records from over 20,000 US libraries.
  • Organizations and associations
    • American Cancer Society
      -- The American Cancer Society (ACS) is a nationwide, community- based voluntary health organization.
  • Internet Resources
    • MedlinePlus: Radiation Therapy
      MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

Library Services
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
    • U of M Internet Account
      -- -- Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
  • Book and Article Delivery Options
    -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use Libraries to U, Point to Point or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to the library, your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
  • Distance Education Services
    U of M distance learners are entitled to all library resources and services available through the Health Sciences Libraries home page, including access to electronic article indexes, journals and e-texts, research assistance and more.
  • QuickStudy -- Library Research Guide
    This eight-module tutorial provides an overview of the library research process, including these topics: starting your research; designing a research strategy; finding books, articles, and web sites; finding facts; evaluating resources; and citing sources.



Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More