Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

SPAN 144/1044/344/3404: Medical Spanish

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Maria Emilce Lopez lopez008@umn.edu
Librarian: Liz Fine evfine@umn.edu
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Librarian: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
 
Spanish Lanuage Health Resources
  • MedlinePlus - Spanish version
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the U.S. National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
  • English-Spanish, Spanish-English medical dictionary
    This pocket-sized book contains virtually all health-related terms likely to occur in a conversation between a health worker and a Spanish-speaking patient, including common colloquialisms and slang terms not found in similar dictionaries. The Third Edition contains over 18,000 entries and 3,000 new terms have been added.
    • Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 R726e 2007• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • Medical Dictionary in Six Languages
    Medical words and phrases in British and American English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, and Spanish.
    • Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 S756m 1995 Non-Circulating; TC Veterinary Medical Library Reference R121 .S685 1995 Same Day Loan • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • Health Hotlines
    The National Library of Medicine offers this online database of health-related organizations operating toll-free telephone services. The database also includes information on services and publications available in Spanish.
  • NOAH - New York Online Access to Health
    -- "NOAH seeks to provide high quality full-text health information for consumers that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased. NOAH currently supports English and Spanish. "
  • Informe Authentication Required
    A collection of hispanic magazines with full text; This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
    Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Text in Spanish.
  • Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
    "PAHO’s country profile database functions as the official regional information source on mortality in the Americas." It includes health profiles of forty-four countries in North and South America. Profiles available in Spanish (http://www.paho.org/Spanish/DD/AIS/cp_index_alpha.htm) or English (http://www.paho.org/English/DD/AIS/cp_index_alpha.htm).
  • Spanish-English, English-Spanish medical dictionary
    Contents: How to use the dictionary = Uso del diccionario -- Abbreviations = Abreviaturas -- Medical abbreviations = Abreviaturas médicas -- Conversion tables = Tablas de conversión -- Spanish sounds = Sonidos del español -- English sounds = Sonidos del inglés -- Cognates = Cognados -- Simplified Spanish grammar = Gramática española simplificada -- Spanish-English glossary = Glosario español-inglés -- Simplified English grammar = Gramática inglesa simplificada -- English-Spanish glossary = Glosario inglés-español.
    • Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 M478s 2005• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • 24 Languages Project
    Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages, including Cambodian, Hmong, Somali, and Spanish. This project is a partnership of the University of Utah Health Sciences Library and the Utah Department of Health’s Bureau of Primary Care, Rural and Ethnic Health to improve access to health materials in multiple languages.
  • Virtual Health Library
    The Virtual Health Library, a project of the Pan American Health Organization and WHO, contains citation databases from various Latin American and Caribbean countries. Content may be in English, Portuguese and Spanish.

English Language Health Resources
  • Dictionaries & Textbooks
    • Harrison's Online Authentication Required
      Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison’s principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
    • Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
      Includes information on demographics, social characteristics, household and family characteristics, education (primary through high school; postsecondary and educational attainment), government and elections, labor force, employment and unemployment, earnings, income, poverty, and wealth, crime and corrections, and special topics, such as AIDS, health insurance and health care, housing, and birth. Published annually.
      • Location(s): TC Bio-Medical Library E184 .S75 H673 (Latest edition in Bio-Med Reference)• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
    • MedlinePlus
      English-language version of MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
    • Merck Manual
      -- Online medical textbook that includes descriptions of hundreds of diseases.
  • Electronic Resources
    • images.MD Authentication Required
      images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.
    • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
      MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

      MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
      • PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
        This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
    • E-Journals are available online for many titles.
      -- Once you have identifed references that you want by searching Article Indexes (Articles and More page) you can search the E-Journal page or MNCAT to determine availbility in e-journal format.
    • QuickStudy -- Finding Books
      Finding books that focus on your research needs is one of the keys to successful scholarship. In this QuickStudy: Library Research Guide module, you’ll learn how to find the books you want among the six million items cataloged in MNCAT, University of Minnesota’s online catalog.

Library Services
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
  • QuickStudy -- Citing Sources
    QuickStudy: Library Research Guide from the University of Minnesota provides examples online for APA, MLA and Turabian styles, including how to cite electronic sources.
  • Home or Office: Book and Article Delivery
    -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
    • Bio-Medical Library PhotoDelivery Service
      Use online web form to request photocopies of articles in journals located at the Bio-Medical Library. See webpage for fees and other information about this service available to University of Minnesota students, staff, and faculty.
    • Interlibrary Loan
      Interlibrary Loan is a free service for University students, faculty, and staff with current borrowing privileges. This service is provided by the University of Minnesota Libraries to promote coursework and scholarly research by providing access to materials not held by the University Libraries.
    • Libraries to U
      Libraries to U provides access to library materials for current University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities faculty, staff, and students. Lumina to U staff will check out books or photocopy articles from the U of M Libraries’ collections.
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    Have a question about the libraries, connecting to databases or e-journals, or about the research process? Check here to see if we have already answered it.


Page Coordinator: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More