Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Anatomy - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: a field in the biological sciences concerned with the identification and description of the body structures of living things. More specifically, the science of the human body structure and its parts.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *



Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1975-present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present.Thomson ISI.

Resource Guide: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


Biological Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1980-2003
Biological Abstracts (part of BIOSIS Previews) is one of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. This database enables researchers and students to retrieve references to vital biological and medical re.....
[more information]

BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1910 - present
CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and.....
[more information]

Google Scholar Authentication Required 
Use Google Scholar through the Libraries' web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all.....
[more information]


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


American Men & Women of Science
Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Authentication Required Helicon Publishing. 2004.

Focuses particularly on contemporary scientists and includes selected bibliographies, chronologies, tables of scientific discoveries, and quotations......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology J. A. T. Dow. Academic Press. 1999. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH575 D554 1999; MAGRATH Reference QH575 .D52x 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology Terms Yong-he Zhang. Parthenon. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH442 .Z48 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics Günter Kahl. Wiley-VCH. 2004. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH506 .K333 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology Paul Singleton. Wiley. 2001. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering Mark L. Steinberg, Sharon D. Cosloy. Facts on File. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TP248.16 .S84 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Glossary of Biotechnology Terms Authentication Required Kimball Nill. CRC Press. 2002. 3rd.

Library Location:

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology Julius M. Cruse. CRC Press. 2003. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 C957i 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)
Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched......
[more information]

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online Authentication Required S.P. Datta. Oxford University Press. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 O98 2000; MAGRATH Reference QD415.A25 O94x 2000; VET MED Reference QD415.A25 O94 2000
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
Covers all areas of biochemistry including aspects related to molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Intended for a cross-disciplinary audience......
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Evolution Marc D. Pagel. Oxford University Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encylopedias) QH360.2 .E54 2002
This is a comprehensive and concise guide to evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Genetics Sydney Brenner. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH427 .E532 2002 vols 1-4
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Encyclopedia of Immunology Peter J. Delves. Academic Press. 1998. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998
A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Authentication Required Thomas E. Creighton. Wiley. 1999.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH506 .C74 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine Robert A. Meyers. Wiley. 2004-. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Frontiers of Life David Baltimore. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth v.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Authentication Required McGraw-Hill. 2002. 9th.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Faculty of 1000 - Biology Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Current literature awareness service which highlights the "most interesting papers" in biology, based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading scientists......
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Atlas of Human Anatomy Frank H. Netter. Icon Learning Systems. 2003. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QS17 N474a 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Current Protocols Authentication Required Wiley.

Series of standard, authoritative guides to research laboratory methods in the life sciences; the U of M subscribes to 9 Current Protocols titles: Bioinformatics, more information]


Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Authentication Required Maryadele J. O’Neil. Merck Research Laboratories. 2001. 13th.

Library Location: RS51 .M4x 2001 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;
BIO-MED Reference QV772 M555 2001
Classic reference source for chemists; contains over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data,.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. Victor A. McKusick.

Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations......
[more information]

Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Gerald D. Fasman. CRC Press. 1989.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989
Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance......
[more information]

Springer Handbook of Enzymes Dietmar Schomburg. Springer. 2001-. 2nd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP601 .E5158 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


NCBI Bookshelf This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Growing collection of online, open access biomedical books; full text can be searched directly from this interface......
[more information]

Gateways & Megasites



Top

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources


An@tomy.tv Authentication Required 
The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, anim.....
[more information]

Human Anatomy On CD-ROM Format University of Florida. 1999.

Library Location: BIO-MED Educational Software (2nd Flr Service Desk) QS18.2 H918 1999
A step-by-step CD-ROM guide to cadaveric dissection and a simulation of the dissection procedures. Uses over 6,000 digitized still images to highlight important structures in each step of the dissection and presents sequenced images to demonstrate th.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy On CD-ROM Format Jamie Weir. Mosby. 2005. Version 3.0.

Library Location: BIO-MED Perm Reserve (2nd Flr Circ Desk) QS17 W425i 2005
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed. Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press. 2006. 7th.

Library Location: T11 .S386 1994 MAGRATH; MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; FORESTRY Ref (Secured); PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 C386s 1994
Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

NCBI Journals Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Useful tool for finding the full title of a journal in biomedicine, if you only have an abbreviation, or for determining from the full title what the official NLM and ISO abbreviations of the title are (e.g., for preparing a reference list)......
[more information]

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. 1997-.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994
Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top