Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Bioinformatics - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: The application of mathematics, computer science, and information technology to biological problems, especially problems in molecular biology and biochemistry. The broad goals of bioinformatics are to gather and organize large data sets generated from biological experiments, and to allow flexible retrieval and analysis of that data to form new biological insights.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


INSPEC ® Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1896 - present, updated monthly
Provides comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astrophysics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Indexed are primarily journal articles and conference papers, w.....
[more information]


Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1975-present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present.Thomson ISI.

Resource Guide: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


ACM Digital Library Authentication Required 
Full text of most ACM journals and proceedings since 1950; also includes publications of affiliated organization. .....
[more information]

Biological Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1980-2003
Biological Abstracts (part of BIOSIS Previews) is one of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. This database enables researchers and students to retrieve references to vital biological and medical re.....
[more information]

BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1910 - present
CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and.....
[more information]

Compendex and Engineering Index Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1884 - present, updated monthly
Provides extensive indexing of scholarly and technical periodicals, conference proceedings, and report literature in all engineering disciplines including applied physics, electronics, materials science, and related fields in science and management......
[more information]

Computing Reviews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1974 - PresentReviews.Com and ACM.

Computing Reviews selectively reviews articles, books, and proceedings to the current research, theory and applications in computer science and related fields. The reviews are overviews of developments to both specialists and generalists who wish to .....
[more information]

Google Scholar Authentication Required 
Use Google Scholar through the Libraries' web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all.....
[more information]


IEEE Xplore Authentication Required 
Full-text access to the transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Includes all current IEEE Standards.
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Citi.....
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


American Men & Women of Science
Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Authentication Required Helicon Publishing. 2004.

Focuses particularly on contemporary scientists and includes selected bibliographies, chronologies, tables of scientific discoveries, and quotations......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Chemical Compounds


ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. It is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structu.....
[more information]

Combined Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required 
Database of descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names; literature references; & structures. Contains all compounds included in: Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records.....
[more information]

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology J. A. T. Dow. Academic Press. 1999. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH575 D554 1999; MAGRATH Reference QH575 .D52x 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology Terms Yong-he Zhang. Parthenon. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH442 .Z48 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics Günter Kahl. Wiley-VCH. 2004. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QH506 .K333 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology Paul Singleton. Wiley. 2001. 3rd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering Mark L. Steinberg, Sharon D. Cosloy. Facts on File. 2001.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference TP248.16 .S84 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

FOLDOC Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
FOLDOC is a searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history.....
[more information]

Glossary of Biotechnology Terms Authentication Required Kimball Nill. CRC Press. 2002. 3rd.

Library Location:

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required Van Nostrand Reinhold. c1993.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk) QD5 .C5 2001
Gives technical and descriptive data for common substances and phenomena. Identifies thousands of chemicals by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, CAS number, hazards, derivations, synonyms and applications. Availab.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology Julius M. Cruse. CRC Press. 2003. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 C957i 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)
Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched......
[more information]

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online Authentication Required S.P. Datta. Oxford University Press. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 O98 2000; MAGRATH Reference QD415.A25 O94x 2000; VET MED Reference QD415.A25 O94 2000
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

TechWeb Technology Encyclopedia
Provides "over 10,000 definitions to technology terms and concepts," With an emphasis on computer-related subjects......
[more information]

Directories


Nature Biotechnology Directory Nature Publishing Group. 2005.

Library Location:
Global information resource listing over 8,000 organizations, product and service providers in the biotechnology industry......
[more information]

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Analytical Science Paul J. Worsford. Elsevier. 2005. 2nd.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference QD71.5 .E53 2005
A ten-volume set describing the theory and applications of various analytical techniques. The index has more individual compounds than that of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
Covers all areas of biochemistry including aspects related to molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Intended for a cross-disciplinary audience......
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Evolution Marc D. Pagel. Oxford University Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encylopedias) QH360.2 .E54 2002
This is a comprehensive and concise guide to evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Genetics Sydney Brenner. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH427 .E532 2002 vols 1-4
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Encyclopedia of Immunology Peter J. Delves. Academic Press. 1998. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998
A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Authentication Required Thomas E. Creighton. Wiley. 1999.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH506 .C74 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine Robert A. Meyers. Wiley. 2004-. 2nd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Frontiers of Life David Baltimore. Academic Press. 2002.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth v.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Authentication Required McGraw-Hill. 2002. 9th.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Faculty of 1000 - Biology Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Current literature awareness service which highlights the "most interesting papers" in biology, based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading scientists......
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology George M. Garrity. Springer. 1984, 2001. 1st, 2nd.

Library Location: 1st Ed: MAGRATH Reference; PLANT PATH Reference; VET MED 3 Day Reserve QR81 .B46 1984
BIO-MED Reference QW50 B496 1984
2nd Ed.: MAGRATH Reference; VET MED 3 Day Reserve QR81 .B46 2001
BIO-MED Reference QW50 B496 2001
Standard guide to the classification of bacteria. (Second Edition is currently in production, with volumes 1 and 2 released and volume 3 currently in preparation.).....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Computer Science and Engineering Handbook
Library Location: WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QA76 .C57315 1997
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Authentication Required CRC Press.

Library Location: Available online and in print. QD65 .H236 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); BIO-MED Reference; MAGRATH Ref (Desk); VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; Wilson Reference
Annually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Current Protocols Authentication Required Wiley.

Series of standard, authoritative guides to research laboratory methods in the life sciences; the U of M subscribes to 9 Current Protocols titles: Bioinformatics, more information]

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Authentication Required McGraw-Hill.. 1973-.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference TP151 .H25 MAGRATH Reference TP151 .L36y
Classic reference covering the entire field of chemistry, with up-to-date facts, figures, numerical values, tables, and formulas......
[more information]

Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Authentication Required Maryadele J. O’Neil. Merck Research Laboratories. 2001. 13th.

Library Location: RS51 .M4x 2001 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;
BIO-MED Reference QV772 M555 2001
Classic reference source for chemists; contains over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data,.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Nature Protocols Authentication Required 
Nature Protocols is an online resource for experimental protocols, primarily in biology and chemistry, including authoritative, peer-reviewed 'Nature Protocols' and an interactive 'Protocols Network'. The two create a dynamic forum for scientists to .....
[more information]

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. Victor A. McKusick.

Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations......
[more information]

Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Gerald D. Fasman. CRC Press. 1989.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989
Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance......
[more information]

Springer Handbook of Enzymes Dietmar Schomburg. Springer. 2001-. 2nd.

Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP601 .E5158 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


Books24x7 Authentication Required 
Books24x7 is a web-based, searchable, e-book site that provides users access to the complete contents of nearly 3,000 titles covering a broad range of engineering and technology topics. Contributing publishers include: Cambridge University Press, The.....
[more information]

NCBI Bookshelf This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Growing collection of online, open access biomedical books; full text can be searched directly from this interface......
[more information]

Gateways & Megasites



Web Sites


Bioinformatics.fr
This resource provides a convenient Google-based search tool for 31 bioinformatics journals. The Journals can be searched either indivdually or collectively, and impact factor data is provided for most of the 31 titles. Article titles in the journa.....
[more information]

MathSciNet (online)
A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to the research literature of mathematics. Corresponds to the print indexes Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Current Mathematical Publications (CMP). Published by the American Mathematical Society. .....
[more information]

Top

Statistics and Data

Data Resources




Ensembl EMBL European Bioinformatics Institute and Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute.

Provides data sets resulting from an automated genome analysis and annotation process for selected eukaryotic (primarily vertebrate) genomes. The Ensemble software system aims to provide accurate, automatic analysis of genome data; analysis and anno.....
[more information]




Entrez Prokaryotic Genomes
Access point for prokayotic genome information and the prok genome browser on NCBI web site. The RefSeq (NC_) records lead to a browseable and searchable chromosomal view of the sequenced genomes......
[more information]


ExPASy Proteomics Server Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics.

ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE; includes the UniProt Knowledgebase (Swiss-Prot and TrEMBL) Protein knowledgebase; the PROSITE - Protein fa.....
[more information]


KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes Bioinformatics Center, Kyoto University and Human Genome Center, University of Tokyo.

Resource Guide: http://www.genome.jp/kegg/kegg1.html



PIR: Protein Information Resource Georgetown University Medical Center.

Provides many protein sequence databases and analysis tools, including the Protein Sequence Database and its successor, UniProt, functional analysis tools, protein classification and ontology systems......
[more information]

Protein Data Bank
PDB is the single worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D structure data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids; the site provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolec.....
[more information]

PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChe.....
[more information]

UCSC Genome Browser University of California Santa Cruz.

Resource Guide: http://genome.ucsc.edu/goldenPath/help/hgTracksHelp.html

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed. Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press. 2006. 7th.

Library Location: T11 .S386 1994 MAGRATH; MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; FORESTRY Ref (Secured); PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 C386s 1994
Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

NCBI Journals Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
Useful tool for finding the full title of a journal in biomedicine, if you only have an abbreviation, or for determining from the full title what the official NLM and ISO abbreviations of the title are (e.g., for preparing a reference list)......
[more information]

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. 1997-.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994
Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top