Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Biostatistics - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: those statistical processes and methods applied to the analysis of biological phenomena.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


American Men & Women of Science
Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionaries


Clinical Trials Dictionary: Terminology and Usage Recommendations
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QV771 M514ct 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionary of Epidemiology John M. Last, et.al.. Oxford University Press. 2001.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WA13 D553 2001 Non-Circulating
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Health Information Sources
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference ZWB100 E56
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Library Location: QA47 .M315 MAGRATH, MATHEMATICS Reference, WALTER Reference; BIO-MED Reference QA47 9115
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

CRC standard probability and statistics : tables and formulae
Library Location: MATHEMATICS Reference QA276.25 .C72 1991; WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; MAGRATH Reference; Bio-Med Reference QA276.25 C911 1991 Non-circulating
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Primer of biostatistics
    1. Biostatistics and clinical practice -- 2. How to summarize data -- How to test for differences between groups -- 4. The special case of two groups: the t test -- 5. How to analyze rates and proportions -- 6. What does ’not significant" really mean?Stanton A. Glanz. McGraw-Hill. 2005. 6th.

Library Location: Bio-Med Reference WA950 G545p 2005 Non-circulating
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Textbooks


Biostatistics: a methodology for the health sciences
     Introduction to biostatistics -- Biostatistical design of medical studies -- Descriptive statistics -- Statistical inference: populations and samples -- One- and two-sample inference -- Counting data -- Categorical data: contingency tables -- NonparametrGerald van Belle ... [et al.]. Wiley - Interscience. 2004. 2nd..

Library Location: Bio-Med WA950 B6158 2004
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Search Engines


CDC Wonder
WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. .....
[more information]

Web Feeds


Web Sites


MathSciNet (online)
A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to the research literature of mathematics. Corresponds to the print indexes Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Current Mathematical Publications (CMP). Published by the American Mathematical Society. .....
[more information]

Top

Statistics and Data

Statistical Resources


National Center for Health Statistics.
Provides surveys, data, vital statistics, state data and news. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, .....
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top