Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Bioterrorism

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Overviews

A compliation of resources on biological and chemical weapons information form the US federal government, professional organiations, and news services. Link to an automatic MEDLINE search that retrieves the most recently published article citations

Academic/Research Institutions
  • National Center for Food Protection and Defense
    A national consortium of academic, public sector, and industry partners led by the University of Minnesota. Collaborators include Michigan State University, North Dakota State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, University of Tennessee–Knoxville, and University of Wisconsin–Madison, along with individual investigators from ten other universities.

Federal Government
  • Countering Terrorism
    Food & Drug Administration (FDA) / Center for Biologics Evaluation & Research (CBER)
  • Homeland Health
    Joint Venture by the Department of Health & Human Services and pharmaceutical companies
  • National Disaster Medical System
    The National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) is a section within the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Response Division, Operations Branch, and has the responsibility for managing and coordinating the Federal medical response to major emergencies and Federally declared disasters including: -- Natural Disasters -- Technological Disasters -- Major Transportation Accidents -- Acts of Terrorism including Weapons of Mass Destruction Events
  • Noble Training Center
    Operated by the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency and located at Fort McClellan, AL. It is the only hospital facility in the U.S. devoted to medical training for hospital and healthcare professionals in disaster preparedness and response.

State of Minnesota

Professional Organizations
  • Bioterrorism
    American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • NBC Industry Group
    The NBC Industry Group is composed of over 135 companies, not-for-profit organizations, and consultants who support nuclear, chemical, and biological warfare defense activities.

International Organizations
  • Biological Weapons
    GeneWatch UK briefing series on how the advances in genetics may influence the development of biological weapons.
  • Bioweapons Prevention Project
    The BWPP tracks governmental and other behaviour that is pertinent to compliance with international treaties and other agreements, especially those that outlaw hostile use of biotechnology
  • Chemical & Biological Weapons Project
    SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. The CBW Project began in the late1960s and is now one of SIPRI’s longest-running programmes. It focuses on all developments regarding chemical and biological weapons, including efforts to establish effective and equitable disarmament regimes, allegations of their use, and measures to stem their proliferation and prevent their use by terrorist and criminal organizations.

Meta-Sites
  • Bioterrorism
    Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce: a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
  • National Library of Medicine. Specialized Information Services
    Evaluated links to Internet resources on toxicology and environmental health issues of recent special interest, such as arsenic or chemical warfare agents.

Agents/Diseases: Anthrax & Smallpox
  • Anthrax
    • Anthrax
      Centers for Disease Control. Division of Bacterial and Mycotic Diseases
    • Anthrax
      Centers for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP), University of Minnesota
    • Anthrax
      Chapter 22, Medical Aspects of Chemical & Biological Wafare. Arthur M. Friedlander, MD
    • Anthrax Basics
      Centers for Disease Control. Emergency Preparedness & Response
    • Bacillus anthracis and anthrax
      Todar’s Online Textbook of Bacteriology © 2004 Kenneth Todar University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Bacteriology
    • Inhalational anthrax.
      Content represents the combined efforts of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology and the American Registry of Pathology, Washington DC and INOVA Fairfax Hospital, Fairfax VA.
    • World Anthrax Data Site
      World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems for Public Health (Louisiana State University)
  • Smallpox
    • AFIP Smallpox Website
      Armed Forces Institute of Pathology. Department of Infectious & Parasitic Diseases
    • Smallpox
      Centers for Disease Control. Emergency Prepareness & Response.
    • Smallpox
      Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP), University of Minnesota
    • Smallpox
      Department of Health & Human Services
    • Smallpox
      Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy. Section 13. Chapter 162. 17th ed.
    • Smallpox
      David J. McClain, MD. Chapter 27. Medical Aspects of Chemical & Biological Warfare.
    • Smallpox
      Minnesota Department of Health
    • Smallpox and its eradication.
      F. Fenner, D.A. Henderson, I. Arita, Z. Jezek, I.D. Ladnyi. Published 1988. Made avaiable online by the World Health Organization (WHO)
    • Smallpox: What Every Clinician Should Know
      Center for Disease Control Interactive online training. The tutorial is based on a satellite broadcast that was produced by the National Immunization Program (NIP) and the Public Health Training Network (PHTN) of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • Other Biological Agents
      • Botulism
        Centers for Disease Control. Emergency Preparedness & Response

Databases / Computer Programs
  • DoD Biomedical Research Database
    Developed from biomedical research, testing or training programs that were federally funded 1998-2005.

    The areas of research, testing and training include, but are not limited to, the following: infectious diseases, biological hazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense, medical biological defense, clinical medicine, clinical surgery, physical protection, training, graduate medical education and instruction. This information will be updated each year.

  • Haz-Map
    Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors.
  • MICROMEDEX Authentication Required
    Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician’s Desk Reference.
  • TOXNET
    Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once.

Article Collections
  • bmj.com
    Topic collection: Medical consequences of conflict
  • JAMA
    Bioterrorism. Contributing journals to this collection: JAMA & Archives Journals
  • Journal of Medical Chemical, Biological and Radiological Defense
    Peer-reviewed, scientific online journal. Freely available. [Formerly Journal of Medical Chemical Defense].

    The mission of The Journal of Medical Chemical, Biological, & Radiological Defense is to provide an international, peer-reviewed journal of original scientific research and clinical and doctrinal knowledge in the area of medical chemical, biological and radiological defense; and to develop and maintain an archive of current research and development information on training, doctrine, and professional discussions of problems related to chemical, biological and radiological casualties.

  • MMWR
    Terrorism Preparedness Compendium. Current & past articles on smallpox, anthrax and other terrorism related reports and recommendations
  • Nature
    Focus on Anthrax: series of free full-text articles on the topic of anthrax and realted bioterrorism issues.

Full-Text Reports, Handbooks/Textbooks & Documents
  • Biotechnology Research in an Age of Terrorism
    Committee on Research Standards and Practices to Prevent the Destructive Application of Biotechnology, Development, Security, and Cooperation, National Research Council. 2004. National Academies Press
  • Disaster Preparedness for Radiology Professionals
    American Society for Therapeutic Radiology & Oncology (ASTRO), in conjunction with the American College of Radiology and the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, offers a primer titled "Disaster Preparedness for Radiology Professionals." This guide will help enable the radiology community to respond effectively in the event of a nuclear or radiologic disaster.
  • Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide
    Free access with registration. Search by diagnosis (biodefense), pathogen (Ebola), or antibiotic (smallpox vaccine). PDA versions also available.

News & Media
  • Bioterror
    NOVA Online: companion to the NOVA program "Bioterror"
  • Bioterrorism (Posters)
  • The History of Bioterrorism
    "These videos describe the Category A diseases: smallpox, anthrax, botulism, plague, tularemia, and viral hemorrhagic fevers. If these germs were used to intentionally infect people, they would cause the most illness and death. Watch these videos to learn how some of these agents have been or can be used as bioterrorist weapons."

    Can be viewed online


History
  • History of Bioterrorism
    Supercourse lecture

    Supercourse is a global repository of lectures on public health and prevention targeting educators across the world. Supercourse has a network of over 41300 scientists in 171 countries who are sharing for free a library of over 3162 lectures in 26 languages. The concept of the Supercourse and its lecture style has been described as the Global Health Network University and the Hypertext Comic Books.



Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More