Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

InMd 6411: Blood Pathophysiology

Print Page Print Page

 
InMd 6411 Spring 2008  
E-Texts
  • Harrison's Online Authentication Required
    Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison’s principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
  • MD Consult Authentication Required
    Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
    Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty

    Access to: Hoffman: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice, 4th ed., 2005; Kumar: Robbins and Cotran: Pathologic Basis of Disease, 7th ed., 2005

  • Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only) Authentication Required
    UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On site access only)

Images
  • American Society of Hematology: Image Bank
    The ASH Image Bank is a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world. The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both the images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyperlinked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases, and the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images.
  • BloodLine Image Atlas
    The first installment of this fully searchable directory features more than 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies.

    The Image Atlas represents some twenty years of work by Jean Shafer, Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Rochester School of Medicine.

  • Hematopathology Index
    Hematology images from WebPath - hosted by the University of Utah. This popular web resource includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.
  • images.MD Authentication Required
    images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.

Small Group Selected Readings
  • A Rash in a Fatigued College Student
  • A Ruddy Man with Pruritus
  • A Young Woman with Rectal Bleeding
  • Cincinnati Red Legs
    • ITP in the 21st Century
      Beardsley, DS. American Society of Hematology Education Program 2006, pp 402-07, PMID 17124090.
  • Bone pain, Bleeding and Fever in a Scientist
  • Fever and Lymphadenopathy
    • Lymphadenopathy.
      Haberman, TM and Steensma, DP. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2000, 75(7):723-7, PMID 10907389.
  • A Man with an Abnormal Protein
    • Multiple myeloma.
      Kyle RA, Rajkumar SV. New England Journal of Medicine, 2004; 351:1860-1872. PMID 15509819.

Additional Readings


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More