HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
Library Hours
Fall Hours
(Sept. 2 - Dec. 10, 2008)
- M-Th 7am-11pm
- F 7am-7pm
- Sa 9am - 6pm
- Su 12noon-11pm
- * W (11/26) 7am-6pm
- * Th (11/27) CLOSED
- * F (11/28) CLOSED
All Dept Hours
Library Location
Please note (7/1/08): The University is currently experiencing some central server outages and technical problems. The MNCAT catalog and other library services may be down throughout the day. We are sorry for any inconvenience.
I. IntroductionThese materials are intended as a starting point to aid in research for business research in the health sciences. Many of these resources can be found online via the Bio-Medical Library
http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/, Wilson Library
http://busref.lib.umn.edu/, or the University of Minnesota Libraries
http://www.lib.umn.edu/. Many are available in print at the Bio-Medical Library, Diehl Hall, 505 Essex Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455, telephone reference (612) 626-3260. We encourage you to search for additional materials and to ask the reference desk staff for guidance.
II. Guides and Directories- A. Bio-Medical Library (current editions in reference area)
- Health Devices Sourcebook
W26 H434
Guide to manufacturers of medical equipment, supplies, and instruments; plus product listings, company profiles, trade names, evaluations, and international medical device codes
- Health Industry Buyers Guide
W26 H4343
Sourcebook of products for hospitals, managed-care facilities; with product listings, suppliers, services, trade names & HCFA reimbursement codes
- Medical Device Register
W26 M4892 (US. version,Current edition in reference)
W26 M48921 (international version, in regular loan)
Directory of manufacturers and processors of medical devices and lab products doing business in the US.;worldwide in international version
- National Hospital Discharge Survey: Annual Summary with Detailed Diagnosis & Procedure Data
- B. Wilson Library: Business Reference
These online resources are available via the Business Library Web page
http://busref.lib.umn.edu/, and many more print guides and indexes are available in Business Reference.
- Corptech Web Explore
Directory of more than 50,000 U.S. private and public technology companies including startup firms, foreign company subsidiaries, government laboratories, and nonprofit organizations in engineering, pharmaceuticals, medicine, biotechnology, and software
- Million Dollar Database (formerly Dun & Bradstreet’s Million Dollar Directory)
Information on more than 1.6 million public and private businesses including SIC and NAICS codes, number of employees, annual sales, executives names and biographies
- Security Analysts Reports of interest to healthcare business researchers:
- 1.Investext Plus
Offers the same research- and analyst reports used at top investment banks and consulting firms to monitor industry trends, track company financials, and research merger and acquisition opportunities; more than 700,000 full-text reports with charts, photographs and graphics
- Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
Overviews of markets in 52 industries; a directory of 55,000 public and private companies listing sales, products, contact information, top executives, and key financial data for equity research
III. Suggestions for Better Search ResultsFor more accurate and inclusive results when searching MNCAT, use specific subject search terms called MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) or Library of Congress Subject Headings. If you are unsure of what subject headings to use, please ask the reference desk staff
MNCAT using Medical Subject Headings - When browsing MNCAT, select Browse Type "Medical Subject Heading begins…" in the dropdown menu and in the "Browse For" box above, enter specific subject headings:
When browsing MNCAT or MEDLINE, you may want to use medical subject headings such as these |
| Biotechnology |
| Cost-Benefit Analysis |
| Costs and Cost Analysis |
| Economics, Hospital |
| Economics, Pharmaceutical |
| Equipment and supplies |
| Industry |
| Managed Care Programs |
| Marketing of Health Services |
| Practice Management, Dental |
| Practice Management, Medical |
IV. Selected Periodicals at the Bio-Medical LibraryFor help in locating online full-text periodicals, ask reference desk staff.
| Journal name |
Online |
Print |
| Health Care Financing Review |
1990 - present |
1979 - 2004 |
| Healthcare Executive |
2001 - present |
1985 - present |
| Healthcare Financial Management |
1995 - present |
1982 - present |
| Medical Economics |
1999 - present |
1923 - present |
| Nursing Economic$ |
1983 - present |
1983 - present |
| Nursing Management |
1995 - present |
1981 - present |
| Profiles in Healthcare Marketing |
No |
1986 - present |