General Reference Sources
Biographical Sources
Chemical Compounds
ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. It is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structu.....
[more information] Combined Chemical Dictionary
Database of descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names; literature references; & structures. Contains all compounds included in:
Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records.....
[more information] Dictionaries
Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)
Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched......
[more information] Directories
Biotechnology Guide U.S.A. : Companies, Data, and Analysis , 5th ed. Library Location: WALTER SCI/ENG Reference HD9999 .B443 D53x 1999; BIO-MED Reference HD9999 .B443 B616 1999
"Covers companies in these areas of interest: animal agriculture, aquaculture, biomass conversion, biomaterials, biosensors & bioelectronics, bioseparations, cell culture, clinical diagnostics, commodity chemicals, consulting, cosmetics/health/beauty.....
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science Paul J. Worsford. Elsevier. 2005. 2nd.
Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference QD71.5 .E53 2005
A ten-volume set describing the theory and applications of various analytical techniques. The index has more individual compounds than that of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry......
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability Encyclopedia of Evolution Marc D. Pagel. Oxford University Press. 2002.
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encylopedias) QH360.2 .E54 2002
This is a comprehensive and concise guide to evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond......
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability Encyclopedia of Immunology Peter J. Delves. Academic Press. 1998. 2nd.
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998
A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields......
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability Frontiers of Life David Baltimore. Academic Press. 2002.
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias)
Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth v.....
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability General Reference Works
Faculty of 1000 - Biology
Current literature awareness service which highlights the "most interesting papers" in biology, based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading scientists......
[more information] Handbooks and Manuals
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology George M. Garrity. Springer. 1984, 2001. 1st, 2nd.
Library Location: 1st Ed: MAGRATH Reference; PLANT PATH Reference; VET MED 3 Day Reserve QR81 .B46 1984
BIO-MED Reference QW50 B496 1984
2nd Ed.: MAGRATH Reference; VET MED 3 Day Reserve QR81 .B46 2001
BIO-MED Reference QW50 B496 2001
Standard guide to the classification of bacteria. (Second Edition is currently in production, with volumes 1 and 2 released and volume 3 currently in preparation.).....
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

CRC Press.
Library Location: Available online and in print.
QD65 .H236
WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); BIO-MED Reference;
MAGRATH Ref (Desk); VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; Wilson Reference
Annually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more......
[more information]Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability Lange's Handbook of Chemistry

McGraw-Hill.. 1973-.
Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference TP151 .H25
MAGRATH Reference TP151 .L36y
Classic reference covering the entire field of chemistry, with up-to-date facts, figures, numerical values, tables, and formulas......
[more information] Nature Protocols
Nature Protocols is an online resource for experimental protocols, primarily in biology and chemistry, including authoritative, peer-reviewed 'Nature Protocols' and an interactive 'Protocols Network'. The two create a dynamic forum for scientists to .....
[more information] Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Gerald D. Fasman. CRC Press. 1989.
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989
WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989
Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance......
[more information] Top