Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Resources for Clinicians...

Print Page Print Page
 
Drugs and Supplements (Filtered/Curated)
  • MICROMEDEX Authentication Required
    Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.
  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required
    This database contains authoritative, current information on herbal medicines and supplements, including safety, effectiveness, known constituents, and possible interactions with other substances. The database also includes alternative names, common uses of herbal medicines, and reference citations.

    The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • Natural Standard Authentication Required
    Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Genomics & Proteomics; Medical Conditions; Comparative Effectiveness; Brand Names; and Interactive Tools.
Point-of-Care & Evidence-based Sources (Filtered/Curated)
  • ACP's PIER: The Physician's Information & Education Resource Authentication Required
    PIER is a product of ACP, The American College of Physicians and is a web-based authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool. PIER's disease modules include sections on diagnosis, prevention, screening, drug therapy, patient education and case scenarios. On the PDA application, topics are supported with tables, and references to Web sites for supporting articles in Annals of Internal Medicine and PubMed. PIER adds and revises information as new disease findings become available.
  • Cochrane Library Authentication Required
    The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.
  • FIRSTConsult Authentication Required
    FIRSTConsult contains electronic text books, e-journals, drug info and more. First Consult provides evidence based answers to clinical questions and is designed for point of care professionals.
  • ICSI - Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement
    The mission of our collaboration is to champion the cause of health care quality and to accelerate improvement in the value of the health care we deliver to the populations we serve. ICSI's vision is to be a collaboration that is deemed essential by its members for their improvement of health care and deemed essential by our community as a trusted voice for quality in health care.
  • Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required
    Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    The National Guideline ClearinghouseTM (NGCTM) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
    An independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.
Finding References - Article Indexes (Unfiltered)
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
  • Google Scholar Authentication Required
    Use Google Scholar through the Libraries' web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all the articles and journal subscriptions the library has already acquired for you. Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

    When using any one of the three access methods below, the text link, "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities", will appear in your Google Scholar search results. Then clicking the "Find It" link will present you with a menu of full-text and related service options for the Scholar search result you followed. To benefit from this service, access Google Scholar via:

    1. any U of M Twin Cities Campus Internet connection,
    2. the "special" link to Google Scholar that the Libraries provide (below or from the Libraries' Google Scholar listing on "Indexes"), or
    3. the regular link to Google Scholar when having set up your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities)."

    Google Scholar FAQ

Medical Text Books - Background Sources
  • E-Books
    Health Sciences electronic books arranged by subject or discipline.
  • Access Medicine Authentication Required
    Electronic book (E-Book) collection of core basic sciences and clinical titles.
    • Harrison's Online Authentication Required
      Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

  • MD Consult Authentication Required
    Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
    Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty.
  • STAT!Ref Authentication Required
    Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.
  • Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only) Authentication Required
    UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On site access only)
Visual Resources
  • An@tomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
  • images.MD Authentication Required
    images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine's series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.
Other Resources (Filtered/Curated)
  • FDA
    Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
  • Lab Tests Online
    "Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. The site is the product of a collaboration of professional societies representing the lab community."
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
    • MedlinePlus - Spanish version
      MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the U.S. National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
  • Minnesota Department of Health
    Links to information about public health, health care and health statistics in Minnesota. Includes links to health alerts, directory of hospitals and nursing homes, birth and death certificates, health facility complaints, flu shot clinics, etc.
  • National Cancer Institute
    The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs.


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu

PubMed & Journals Search Box

Search E-Journals

Find Library Owned Online Journals

Last Updated: September 3, 2008, 10:13 am