Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Nutrition, Clinical - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the dietary and nutritional management of a disease by a physician.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AGRICOLA Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.
Search here to find citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, pl.....
[more information]

BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1910 - present
CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and.....
[more information]

CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    1986 - present
IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the.....
[more information]

Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews, Series A: Human and Experimental
    1977-1995Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference (Index); MAGRATH Ref (Index)

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition Bender, David A.. Oxford Reference Online.

This dictionary is intended for anyone who enjoys food and would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media. With entries on food groups as diverse as shellfish (abalone, whelks) and .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary Lagua, Rosalinda. New York : Chapman & Hall. 1996. 4th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 L181n 1996; MAGRATH Reference RM217 .L34 1995
Covers aspects of nutrition, including assessment, drug nutrient interactions, laboratory interpretations, enteral and parenteral nutrition support, community and public health nutrition, and nutrition throughout the life cycle......
[more information]

Nutrition and Health Dictionary Russell, Percy. New York : Chapman & Hall. 1995.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU145 R966n 1995; MAGRATH Reference QP141 .R93 1995;
Includes metabolic maps for tracing nutrients from ingestion to incorporation and elimination; also additives, natural toxins, and food processings in relationship to health and disease.....
[more information]

Encyclopedias


CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition Berdanier, Carolyn D.. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press. 1998.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 B486c 1998; Magrath Reference QP141.B523 1998
Includes many common medical terms as well as descriptions of biochemical pathways, physiological processes, and nutrition-related genetic diseases.....
[more information]

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements Authentication Required Paul M. Coates. Marcel Dekker. 2005.

Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Foods and Nutrition Encyclopedia Ensminger, Audrey, ... [et al.]..

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU13 F686 1993; MAGRATH Reference Quarto TX349 .F66x 1994;
Covers aspects of food, nutrition, and health with historical and interpretive context. Also includes recommended daily allowances and deficiency symptoms of some nutrients.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used Pennington, Jean T.. Philadelphia : Lippincott. 2003. 18th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU145.5 B414b 2005
Nutrient content of foods.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

McCance and Widdowson's The Composition of Foods compiled by Foods Standards Agency and Institute of Food Research. Royal Society of Chemistry. 2002. 6th summary edition.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QU16 M122c 2002 ; Magrath Library Reference TX551 .M132x 2002
1. Introduction: 1. Background. 2. Sources of data and methods of evaluation. 3. Arrangement of the tables. 4. The definition and expression of nutrients. 5. The variability of nutrients in foods. 6. Bioavailability of nutrients. 7. Calculation of nu.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Nutrition Desk Reference New Canaan, Conn. : Keats Pub. 1995. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QU145 G242n 1995; MAGRATH Ref QP141 .G33 1995

Recommended Dietary Allowances
Library Location: QU145.5 N2762r 1989
BIO-MED Reference; BIO-MED; MAGRATH Reference TX551 .N393 1989
Official National Research Council recommendations for daily intake of most specific nutrients......
[more information]

Top

Internet Resources

Gateways & Megasites


Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov is a portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government. .....
[more information]

Internet Directory


Arbor Nutrition Guide Arbor Communications Pty Ltd. Dr.Tony Helman, Editor-in-Chief..

Provides a brief description and links to material that is relevant to nutrition......
[more information]

Healthweb - Nutrition
HealthWeb is a tool to facilitate access to health-related resources on the Internet. It is a project of the health sciences libraries in the Greater Midwest Region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine and of the Committee on Institutiona.....
[more information]

Web Sites


MEDLINEplus: Nutrition National Library of Medicine.

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. .....
[more information]

MEDLINEplus: Nutritional Support
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. .....
[more information]

Top

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites


Food and Nutrition Information Center National Agricultural Library, USDA.

The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS). Contains over 2000 links to current and reliable nu.....
[more information]

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Release 16 U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Nutrient Data Laboratory.

Provides data on 6,661 foods for up to 125 nutrients and food components. Simple keyword searching using common names for foods. Reports give information on proximates, minerals, vitamins, lipids and amino acids......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Last Updated: December 17, 2005, 4:17 pm