Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Boynton Health Service - Consumer Health

Print Page Print Page

 
This page links Boynton providers and staff to high-quality online consumer health resources. Contact your library liaisons, Karla Block or Jim Beattie for more information.  
Bio-Medical Library
  • Bio-Medical Library Workshops
    Take a workshop to learn more about finding electronic full-text, using RefWorks or other library resources, and more. Individual consultations can be arranged if the workshop time doesn’t fit your schedule.
    • Archived Workshop Recordings
      Library staff have recorded some of our popular workshops (like "Finding Electronic Full-Text: Tips and Tricks") that you can view instead of attending a workshop in person.

Evaluating Internet Resources
  • Deciphering Medspeak
    Developed by the Medical Library Association to help you translate common "medspeak" terms and solve your Rx riddles. Three disease-specific brochures (diabetes, breast cancer, and heart disease) are also available in addition to the general brochure.

Health News
  • Health News from MedlinePlus
    Health news from the past 30-90 days, from Reuters Health Information and HealthDay. News can be viewed by date or topic, with links to related news and relevant MedlinePlus Health Topics pages.

Consumer Health Resources
  • My Health Minnesota → Go Local
    Listing of health services and providers throughout Minnesota, with links to reliable health information from MedlinePlus. Part of the National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus Go Local initiative.
  • MedlinePlus
    Commercial free, reliable, free health information including health topics, drug information, health news, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive tutorials, and more.
    • Order Free MedlinePlus Promotional Material
      Health care professionals can order free promotional materials about MedlinePlus through the Information Rx program from the National Library of Medicine. Materials include bookmarks, business cards, and information prescription pads. Great for waiting rooms and patient handouts.
    • MedlinePlus Magazine
      A new quarterly guide for patients and their families. It brings the latest and most authoritative medical and healthcare information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as featured online on the MedlinePlus Web site.
    • NIHSeniorHealth
      Health information for older adults and their family members and friends. Includes audio and ability to increase text size or increase or decrease contrast for easier readability.
  • National Cancer Instiute
    Reliable information for practitioners and consumers regarding types of cancer, treatment, clinical trials, and more.
  • FDA
    Information from the Food and Drug Administration for professionals and consumers.
  • Genetics Home Reference
    Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine’s web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.
  • KidsHealth
    Health information from the Nemours Foundation, with sections geared to kids, teens, and parents.
  • Lab Tests Online
    Designed to help you, as a patient or caregiver, better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. The site is the product of a collaboration of professional societies representing the lab community.
  • MayoClinic.com
    Resource to help people manage their health with useful tools and up-to-date information on diseases and lifestyles.
  • Minnesota Department of Health
    Links to information about public health, health care and health statistics in Minnesota. Includes links to health alerts, directory of hospitals and nursing homes, birth and death certificates, health facility complaints, flu shot clinics, and more.
  • Multicultural Resources
    • 24 Languages Project
      Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures and sound recordings in 24 different languages, including Cambodian, Hmong, Somali, Russian, Vietnamese and Spanish.
    • Health Information Translations
      A collaborative initiative to improve health education for limited English proficiency patients. Languages include Hmong, Vietnamese, Spanish, Hindi, Chinese, and more.
    • Healthy Roads Media
      Easy to understand health information in varied formats and multiple languages, including Spanish, Vietnamese, Somali, Hmong, and more. Health topics covered include asthma, diabetes, nutrition, smoking, women’s health, and more.
    • MedlinePlus - Spanish version
      Spanish version of MedlinePlus, providing commercial free, reliable, free health information including health topics, drug information, health news, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive tutorials, and more.


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More