Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

INMD 6052: Physician & Society 3

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Assistant Professor: Karyn Baum kbaum@umn.edu
Librarian: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
    • Suggested MeSH Headings (Search Terms)
      Health Status Indicators, Health Status, Health Services Accessibility, Socioeconomic Factors, Public Health, Health Planning, Primary Health Care, "Quality of Healthcare", Quality Assurance, Healthcare, Health Services Research, Family Practice
  • Social Sciences Databases
    A listing 110 databases which focus on the social sciences, including Academic Search Premier, Family & Society Studies Worlwide, Genderwatch, Lexis Nexis Academic, and Social Work Abstracts.
    • Search Terms: Disparities, Health Disparities, Health Utilization
  • Academic Search Premier Authentication Required
    This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Return to Top]
General Library Resources/Services
  • Bio-Medical Library Home Page
    The Bio-Medical Library provides links to MNCAT (Library catalog), Medline/PubMed, a variety of resource databases, library services, e-journals/texts, instructional classes, and other information databases
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    Reference staff monitor the account periodically during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00). Our goal is to send you a response within one business day. If this turn-around time is not fast enough to meet your needs, you may call our reference desk at (612) 626-3260. In-person requests are taken at the Reference desk, 2nd floor Diehl Hall. Email reference questions should be of the "ready-reference" type. e.g. asking for health science related facts, statistics, or citation verifications (maximum of 5 cites).
  • MNCAT Plus
    Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
    • Electronic Journals
      This link will take you to the University Libraries Electronic Journals page. On that page you can either search for a specific journal, magazine or newspaper title or enter an e-journal vendor site. You will be presented with a list of results. Click on the appropriate title to begin accessing the online version of that periodical. Keyword searching of more than one journal at a time is sometimes possible, depending upon the search capabilities provided by the vendor who supplied the original journal that you referenced.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.

[Return to Top]
Web Based Resources
  • Health Disparities
    • Healthy People 2010
      "Healthy People 2010 is the prevention agenda for the Nation. It is a statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats."
    • National Center on Minority and Health Disparities
      "The mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH effort to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities."
  • Quality of care
    • National Association for Healthcare Quality
      "The National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ) is the nation’s leading organization for healthcare quality professionals. Founded in 1976, NAHQ currently comprises more than 5,000 individual members and 100 institutional members. Its goal is to promote the continuous improvement of quality in healthcare by providing educational and development opportunities for professionals at all management levels and within all healthcare settings."
    • National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
      "NQMC, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets."
    • Quality Tools (AHRQ)
      "...QualityTools™, a clearinghouse for practical, ready-to-use tools for measuring and improving the quality of health care. QualityTools is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)."
    • StratisHealth
      Our Mission: Stratis Health is a non-profit independent quality improvement organization that collaborates with providers and consumers to improve health care. Our Vision: Stratis Health’s vision is that of a health care system that supports an informed, activated consumer and competent, satisfied health care professionals working in settings that promote optimum care and reduce chance of error.

[Return to Top] Authentication Required
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
[Return to Top]




Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More