Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

PUBH 7200: PubH 7200-Navigating the MPH Project 114

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Assistant Professor: James Hart
Assistant Professor: Larissa Minicucci
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Librarian: Andre Nault naulta@umn.edu
 
Research Process
  • Library Research Strategy Checklist
    Checklist to help guide you through the library research process. Also covers the difference between scholarly and popular magazine as well as identifying primary, secondary and tertiary sources.
  • Search Strategy Checklist & Tips
    Define the topic: know what you are looking for. Take the time to write down your topic and consider it from all angles. Try to be specific about what it is you want to discover about your topic (and more tips).

Information Resources (Health Sciences)
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
    • PubMed (Bio-Medical Library guide)
      This guide from the Bio-Medical Library gives users an overview on how to search the free web version of the Medline database, PubMed.
  • AnimalScience.com Authentication Required
    Covers all aspects of veterinary science, including parasitology and zoonotic disease, as well as animal nutrition, equine science, animal production and animal genetics, and aquaculture and fisheries.
  • BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required
    Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books from over 5000 publications. [BIOSIS Previews consists of Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (reports, reviews, and meetings).] Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 10 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • CINAHL Authentication Required
    CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
  • Cochrane Library Authentication Required
    The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer’s Handbook.
  • Global Health Authentication Required
    Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Over 16,000 serial sources from more than 130 countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the Global Health database, to produce approximately 25,000 new entries per year. Nearly all records have informative English abstracts prepared by scientists and linguists.
  • PsycINFO Authentication Required
    Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
  • TOXLINE
    TOXLINE includes citations to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports on Toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals
  • Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required
    Web of Science is the Web interface for the ISI Citation Index products which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Titles of the print equivalent are: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

Information Resources (Other U of M Indexes)

The University Libraries subscribe to hundreds of indexes in a wide variety of fields. Use this link to explore indexes that cover the social sciences, humanities, physical sciences, education, and more.

Information Resources (Public Health)
  • Free Public Health Databases
    Links to free public health databases from a list created by the Lamar Soutter Library, UMass Medical School. **Note: U of M students, faculty, or staff should also check to see if the University of Minnesota Libraries subscribe to the same product via a Find-It enabled interface at: our Indexes page.
  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
    Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

Organize Your Citations
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).


Use Bio-Med’s Photodelivery Service to order photocopies or scans or articles that are available from our print collection. Small fee applies.

Request Articles or Books from Another Library

Request materials that are NOT held at the U of M Libraries from our Interlibrary Loan Service

Ask For Help
  • Meet with Your Librarian
    Lisa McGuire, MLIS is the librarian who works with students, faculty, and staff of SPH on their information needs.


Page Coordinator: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More