Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Death and Dying - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: the psychological, sociological and physical aspects of death and the dying process.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/CINAHLBasicSearching.html

Family & Society Studies Worldwide On CD-ROM Format Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.
Search here to find citations and abstracts to articles and book chapters on family dynamics, marriage and family therapy, the family in society, and child development......
[more information]


Sociological Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1963 - present, updated monthly
Library Location: Print Version: Quarto HM1 .S67 (1952/53-present) WILSON Reference
Updated bimonthly, this core database for the field of sociology contins information on sociology and social policy worldwide. All citations and abstracts are in English. The database officially covers 1963 to the present, but includes many citations.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Death Dictionary
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 Q7d 1994; WILSON Reference HQ1073 .Q54 1994
Includes over 5,500 clinical, legal, literary, and vernacular terms......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


The Encyclopedia of Death and Dying Dana K. Cassell, Robert C. Salinas, Peter S. Winn. Facts On File. 2005. 1st.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library HQ1073 C344e 2005
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Death and the afterlife : a cultural encyclopedia Richard P. Taylor. ABC-CLIO. 2000.

Library Location: Wilson Library Reference Quarto GT3150 .T25
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying Robert Kastenbaum, editor in chief. New York : Macmillan Reference USA : Thomson/Gale. 2003.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference HQ1073 M167 2003
"The 327 signed entries, written by scholars and expert care providers, range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages. The focus of the entries is on exploring �the place of death in contemporary life,� although the encyclopedia also aim.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Death and dying sourcebook : basic consumer health information for the layperson about end-of-life care and related ethical and legal issues ... edited by Annemarie S. Muth. Omnigraphics. 2000.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference (Consumer Health) BF789.D4 D2838
Basic consumer health information for the layperson about end-of-life care and related ethical and legal issues including chief causes of death, autopsies, pain management for the terminally ill, life support systems, insurance, euthanasia, assisted .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Grief counseling and grief therapy : a handbook for the mental health practitioner J. William Worden.. Springer Pub. 2002.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WM420 W924g
1. Attachment, Loss, and the Experience of Grief -- 2. Understanding the Mourning Process -- 3. Grief Counseling: Facilitating Uncomplicated Grief -- 4. Abnormal Grief Reactions: Complicated Mourning -- 5. Grief Therapy: Resolving Complicated Mournin.....
[more information]

Handbook of Bereavement Research: consequences, coping, and care edited by Margaret S. Stroebe ... [et al.].. American Psychological Association. 2001.

Library Location: Magrath Library BF575.G7 H355

Teacher's Handbook of Death Maggie Jackson and Jim Colwell.. Jessica Kingsley. 2002.

Library Location: Wilson Library BF723.D3 J33x 2002
Teachers are increasingly called upon to discuss and explain death and dying to children in the classroom. This book provides them with methods to facilitate open discussions of death and to find suitable ways of talking with children about what happ.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Web Sites


Death to Dust: What Happens to Dead Bodies?
-- Selected excerpts from the second edtion of Kenneth V. Iserson's classic Death to Dust. Includes: decomposition, death investigation factiods, funeral industry jargon and more. .....
[more information]

Death: An Inquiry Into Man's Mortal Weakness
-- An interactive ThinkQuest site that explores the topic of death: from causes; coping with death to the finality of death & the uncertainty that follows......
[more information]

Death: The last taboo Australian Museum Online.

This online exhibition by the Australian Museum looks at what happens to us after we die; how different cultures dispose of, mourn and remember their dead and takes a remarkable journey through how death has been dealt with through the ages. .....
[more information]

Grief in a Family Context
-- Developed by Dr. Kathleen Gilbert from Indiana Unversity, this online course offers information on how families manage loss and grief. Dr. Gilbert covers a variety of bereavement issues, such as chornic grief, ceremonies and rituals, gender and cu.....
[more information]

MedlinePlus: Bereavement National Library of Medicine.

Bereavement topics include: overviews; diagnosis/symptoms; specific conditions; directories; organizations; children; men; seniors; teenagers .....
[more information]

MedlinePlus: End of Life Issues National Library of Medicine.

Death & dying topics include: general overviews; coping; research; specific conditions/aspects; dictionaries; law and policy; organizations; statistics; children; seniors and women .....
[more information]

On Our Own Terms: Moyers on Dying
Bill Moyers goes from the bedsides of the dying to the front lines of a movement to improve end-of-life care in ON OUR OWN TERMS: Moyers on Dying. PBS. Includes transcripts, audio & video clips.....
[more information]

Sociology of Death & Dying
-- This meta-index of death & dying resources includes the following topics: cross-cultural issues; death in the arts and humanities; types of death; life after death; obituaries; memorials; religion; politics; euthanasia and physician assisted suici.....
[more information]

With Eyes Open PBS.

On Our Own Terms: Moyers on Dying provokes a wide variety of emotions. The series asks us to begin the difficult task of contemplating our own mortality. In response, KQED (San Francisco) presents four half-hour companion shows: honest discussions ab.....
[more information]

Top

Periodical and Newspaper subscriptions

Electronic Journal Collections


PsycARTICLES Authentication Required APA.

PsycARTICLES Database contains the full text of articles from APA (American Psychological Association) journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1988 to the present. The articles are provided in HTML format for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites


Association for Death Education and Counseling
-- A gathering place on the web for lay personnel and professionals who provide grief counseling, funeral service education, and hospice care......
[more information]

GriefNet Rivendell Resources.

GriefNet.org is an Internet community of persons dealing with grief, death, and major loss......
[more information]

Project on Death in America: Transforming the Culture of Dying Open Society Institute.

The mission of the Project on Death in America (PDIA)’s was to understand and transform the culture and experience of dying and bereavement. Over the course of nine years, PDIA created funding initiatives in professional and public education, th.....
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Top