Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

DENT 5401: Dental Care Delivery, Epidemiology, and Prevention

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
 
Information Resources
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    -- (U of M Internet ID and password required): Major source of bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical journal literature, includes article citations from 4,500 journals.
  • BioMedSearch
    -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Collection of Article Indexes and Digital Resources
  • Research Guides - Dentistry
    -- A research guide to online information resources as well as print resources in the Bio-Medical Library.
  • Health Web - Dentistry
    -- HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation.

Internet Resources - Professional
  • American Dental Association
    -- A professional association serving both the profession and the public through health care advocacy, education and research.
  • American Dental Education Association
    -- ADEA is a national organization for dental education including members from all U.S. and Canadian dental schools, advanced dental education programs, hospital dental education programs, allied dental education programs as well as corporations, faculty, and students.
  • Minnesota Board of Dentistry
    -- Mission Statement for the Minnesota Board of Dentistry: "To ensure that Minnesota citizens receive quality dental health care from competent dental health care professionals."
  • CDC : Oral Health Resources
    -- From the National Center for Chronic Diseases & Health Promotion. Provides resources by topic, fact sheets, program information, guidelines, recommendations, state reports.

Library Resources
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
    -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    Reference staff monitor the account periodically during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00). Our goal is to send you a response within one business day. If this turn-around time is not fast enough to meet your needs, you may call our reference desk at (612) 626-3260. In-person requests are taken at the Reference desk, 2nd floor Diehl Hall. Email reference questions should be of the "ready-reference" type. e.g. asking for health science related facts, statistics, or citation verifications (maximum of 5 cites).
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.

Internet Resources - Patient
  • Dentalwatch
    -- A project of Quackwatch. The intention of this site is to "debunk misleading claims," identify reliable information and report improper actions. Begun June 2002.


Page Coordinator: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More