Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Dental Hygiene - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the professional care of the teeth and mouth.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf


Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, and allied health
     Appendices: Diagnostic tools. Assessment. Anatomy tables. Nutrition. Tables of weights and measures. Chemical tables. Immunization schedules. Symbols, terms, and abbreviations. Dental caries and restorations. Reference intervals for the interpretationW.B. Saunders. 2003. 7th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 E553 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dental terminology Charline M. Dofka. Delmar. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WU15 D653d 2000
Ch. 1. Introduction to Dental Terminology -- Ch. 2. Anatomy and oral Structures -- Ch. 3. Tooth Origin and Formation -- Ch. 4. Practice and Facility Setups -- Ch. 5. Infection Control -- Ch. 6. Examination and Prevention -- Ch. 7. Radiography -- Ch. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Mosby's Dental Dictionary On CD-ROM Format 
    Appendices: A. Symbols and abbreviations -- B. American Dental Association (ADA) dental codes -- C. Anxiety and pain management -- D. Clinical oral structures -- E. Dental professional organizations -- F. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Aceditor, Scott Stocking, associate editor, Jyothimai Gubili]. Mosby. 2004.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WU13 M8941 2004
Appendices: A. Symbols and abbreviations -- B. American Dental Association (ADA) dental codes -- C. Anxiety and pain management -- D. Clinical oral structures -- E. Dental professional organizations -- F. Health Insurance Portability and Accountabili.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Handbook for dental hygienists (4th ed)
Library Location: BIO-MED WU90 C713h 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Mosby's dental drug reference Mosby.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library QV50 G133d
Pocket-sized reference features more than 2,000 drug monographs, organized alphabetically, Each drug is listed by generic name and cross-indexed by brand name. Includes new appendices illustrating a wide range of information......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Williams & Wilkins' dental hygiene handbook
Library Location: BIO-MED WU49 A473w 1998

Textbooks


Essentials of dental hygiene : clinical skills Mary Danusis Cooper, Lauri Wiechmann. Pearson/Prentice Hall. 2006.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WU18.2 C777e 2006
Clinical applications of pain and anxiety control: local anesthesia and nitrous oxide -- Advanced instrumentation -- Power-driven scaling -- Air polishing -- Tobacco cessation -- Dental sealants -- Rubber dam isolation -- Sutures --Periodontal dre.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Oral pathology for the dental hygienist On CD-ROM Format Olga A. C. Ibsen, Joan Anderson Phelan. Saunders. 2004. 4th.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference WU140 I14o 2004
1. Introduction to preliminary diagnosis of oral lesions / Olga A.C. Ibsen -- 2. Inflammation and repair / Margaret J. Fehrenbach, Joan A. Phelan -- 3. Immunity / Margaret J. Fehrenbach, Joan A. Phelan -- 4. Infectious diseases / Joan A. Phelan -- 5......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Blogs


UMN: Bio-Medical Library - School of Dentistry Bio-Medical Library librarians.

This blog, which is maintained by the Bio-Medical Library's liaison to the School of Dentistry is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in dentistry and dental hygiene......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top