Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Dentistry - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the medical science dealing with the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and disorders of the teeth, jaws, and mouth.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes



Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required 
    1996 - present
Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs p.....
[more information]

EviDents
EviDents provides access to medical databases. It is an evidence-based dentistry search engine that is a collaboration between EviDents.com, SumSearch and the Forsyth Institute, Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry......
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf



Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

TRIP Database
    Evidence Based Healthcare Resourcestrip database. 1997 - current.

Sources Indexed: PubMed, Journal articles, other databases, websites
The trip database contained Evidence Based Healthcare reources. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations......
[more information]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Dental terminology Charline M. Dofka. Delmar. 2000.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WU15 D653d 2000
Ch. 1. Introduction to Dental Terminology -- Ch. 2. Anatomy and oral Structures -- Ch. 3. Tooth Origin and Formation -- Ch. 4. Practice and Facility Setups -- Ch. 5. Infection Control -- Ch. 6. Examination and Prevention -- Ch. 7. Radiography -- Ch. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Mosby's Dental Dictionary On CD-ROM Format 
    Appendices: A. Symbols and abbreviations -- B. American Dental Association (ADA) dental codes -- C. Anxiety and pain management -- D. Clinical oral structures -- E. Dental professional organizations -- F. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Aceditor, Scott Stocking, associate editor, Jyothimai Gubili]. Mosby. 2004.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WU13 M8941 2004
Appendices: A. Symbols and abbreviations -- B. American Dental Association (ADA) dental codes -- C. Anxiety and pain management -- D. Clinical oral structures -- E. Dental professional organizations -- F. Health Insurance Portability and Accountabili.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


American Dental Directory
    1947 - presentAmerican Dental Association. American Dental Association.

Library Location: BIO-MED WU22 AA1 A5 (latest edition in Reference)
Includes information on National Dental Organizations, state and regional dental examining boards, foreign dental organizations, United States and Canadian dental schools, and dental trade organizations, as well as a geographical listing and specialt.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Canadian Dental Directory Southam Magazine & Information Group. 1996 -.

Library Location: BIO-MED WU22 DC2 C2 (Latest edition in BIO-MED Reference)
Includes names, addresses, communication numbers, and affiliations of dentists in Canada. Also, lists dental associations, faculties, laboratories, technologists associations, denturists, denturist associations, provincial dental associations, and su.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Primary preventive dentistry [edited by] Norman O. Harris, Franklin García-Godoy. Pearson Education. 2004. 6th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WU113 P9522 2004
1. Introduction to primary preventive dentistry -- 2. Development and structure of dental plaque (a bacterial biofilm), calculus, and other tooth-adherent organic materials -- 3. Developing carious lesion -- 4. Role of dental plaque in the etiology a.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


ADA guide to dental therapeutics American Dental Association. American Dental Association. 2003. 3rd.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QV50 A191 2003
Sect. 1. Drugs used in dentistry: Ch. 1. Injectable and topical local anesthetics. Ch. 2. Conscious sedation and agents for thecontrol of anxiety. Ch. 3. General anesthetics. Ch. 4. Analgesics: opioids and nonopioids. Ch. 5. Hemostatics, astringents .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Key Dental Facts
    1992-American Dental Association, Bureau of Economic and Behavioral Research. American Dental Association.

Library Location: BIO-MED WU16 K44 (Latest edition in Bio-Med Reference)
Access initiatives -- ADA Seal of acceptance -- Consumer attitudes toward dentists and dental care -- Dental visits -- Safety in the dental office -- Consumer price index -- Cost comparison of dental care to general health -- Dental insurance coverag.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WB100 M555 1999
Online version of the Merck Manual that covers numerous diseases and disorders, their causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments. Also available in print......
[more information]

USP DI Advice for the Patient United States Pharmacopeial Convention.

Library Location: BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a
These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Blogs


UMN: Bio-Medical Library - School of Dentistry Bio-Medical Library librarians.

This blog, which is maintained by the Bio-Medical Library's liaison to the School of Dentistry is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in dentistry and dental hygiene......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top