Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Environmental Health - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the science of controlling those conditions or forces surrounding man which influence human health.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

Environmental Impact Statements: Full-text and Digests Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) are documents that help the government and the general public understand the effects of developments on the environment and to decide whether developments should go ahead.Full text statements are available from 2.....
[more information]

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1967 - present
This database provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 sources including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government .....
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Pollution Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    May 1981- presentBethesda, Md., etc. Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,etc.

Library Location: Also available at: BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.162; WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Index) Quarto TD172 .P65; MAGRATH Ref (Index)
Combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in re.....
[more information]

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

TOXLINE
    1965-present
TOXLINE includes citations to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports on Toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.....
[more information]

Water Resources Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1967-present
Includes water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical an.....
[more information]

Catalogs & Indexes to Government Publications


LexisNexis Congressional Authentication Required 
    1789 - present; updated daily/monthly
Resource Guide: http://govpubs.lib.umn.edu/guides/congcomp.phtml

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


CCINFOWeb Authentication Required 
Collection of toxicology-related databases from Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS). Databases include MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances).....
[more information]

Haz-Map
Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors......
[more information]

PestBank
    Current information; updated quarterly
The PEST-BANK Pesticide Product Data file describes specific pesticide products in detail.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 8 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try acc.....
[more information]

TOXNET
Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Illustrated Dictionary of Environmental Health and Occupational Safety Lewis Publishers.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WA13 K84i 1996

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Health Information Sources
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference ZWB100 E56
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Environmental health : a global access science source
    Environmental health Environmental Illness Epidemiology Occupational Diseases ToxicologyBio-Med Central. ongoing.

Library Location: Online Access
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Handbook of environmental health Herman Koren, Michael Bisesi. Lewis Publishers. 2003. 4th ed.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WA30 K84h 2003
v. 1. Biological, chemical, and physical agents of environmentally related disease -- v. 2. Pollutant interactions in air, water, and soil. Summary: Focuses on interaction between humans and the environment and how such interactions affect health an.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbook of Pesticide Toxicology
Library Location: MAGRATH Reference Quarto RA1270 .P4 H36x 2001
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Blogs


UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health Bio-Medical Library librarians.

This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health......
[more information]

Gateways & Megasites


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Department of Health and Human Services.

Resource Guide: http://www.cdc.gov/about/default.htm

Top

Statistics and Data

Statistical Resources


FedStats
More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. This site provides easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use......
[more information]

National Center for Health Statistics.
Provides surveys, data, vital statistics, state data and news. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, .....
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top