Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Epidemiology - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the study of disease as it affects people, including incidence and prevalence of disease.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


Haz-Map
Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Epidemiology John M. Last, et.al.. Oxford University Press. 2001.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WA13 D553 2001 Non-Circulating
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Epidemiologic Methods editors, Mitchell H. Gail, Jacques Benichou. Wiley. 2000. 2000.

Library Location: TC Veterinary Medical Library Reference RA652 .E53 2000 Same Day Loan

Encyclopedia of Health Information Sources
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference ZWB100 E56
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Virology edited by Allan Granoff and Robert G. Webster. Academic Press. 1999. 2nd.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QW13 E565 1999
Covers animal, insect, plant and bacterial viruses. Virus entries may include information on taxonomy and classification, genetics, evolution, epidemiology, transmission, pathogenicity, clinical features of infection, pathology and histopathology, im.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Episource : A Guide to Resources in Epidemiology Epidemiology Monitor.

Library Location: VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference RA651 .E65x 1991
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Textbooks


Applied epidemiology : theory to practice edited by Ross C. Brownson, Diana B. Petitti. Oxford University Press. 2006. 2nd.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WA105 A652 2006
Epidemiology: a foundation of public health / Ross C. Brownson and Christine M. Hoehner -- Public health surveillance / Stephen B. Thacker and Donna F. Stroup -- Outbreak and cluster investigations / Ross C. Brownson -- Systematic reviews in public h.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Clinical epidemiology : the essentials Robert H. Fletcher, Suzanne W. Fletcher. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2005. 4th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WA950 F614c 2005
Introduction -- Abnormality -- Diagnosis -- Frequency -- Risk: looking forward -- Risk: looking backward -- Prognosis -- Treatment -- Prevention -- Chance -- Cause -- Systematic reviews -- Knowledge management......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Foundations of epidemiology Lilienfeld, David E.. Oxford University Press. 1994. 3rd.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library WA950 L728f 1994 Regular Loan
Basic epidemiologic concepts, such as rates and ratios, age adjustment, incubation periods, investigation of an outbreak time-place-and person, agent-value, inter- and intra-observer variability, odds ratios, randomized trials, and cohort and case-co.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Blogs


UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health Bio-Medical Library librarians.

This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health......
[more information]

Gateways & Megasites


Internet Directory


The UCSF Epidemiology Page University of California San Francisco Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

A broad list of available online epidemiology resources maintained by the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California San Francisco......
[more information]

Web Sites


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Department of Health and Human Services.

Resource Guide: http://www.cdc.gov/about/default.htm

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Health Topics
Data on a wide range of population health topics. Items are listed alphabetically......
[more information]

Epidemiology (Public Health, Biosciences, Medicine)
Maintained by the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California San Francisco......
[more information]

National Cancer Institute
The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs. .....
[more information]

Public Health Information & Data Tutorial Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHP).

Public Health Information and Data Tutorial provides instruction for members of the public health workforce on issues related to information access and management. This tutorial is based on more information]

Summary of Notifiable Diseases U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

The statistical summary of notifiable diseases in the United States is published to accompany each volume of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), US Department of Health and Human Services.....
[more information]

U.S. Census Bureau
-- A variety of census information availble fromthe federal govenment. Epecially noteworthy are the people and geography sections......
[more information]

World Health Organization HIV/AIDS
The World Health Organization's web site on HIV/AIDS contains sections on WHO and HIV/AIDS, HIV/AIDS Topics, Strategic Information, Facts and Figures, Publications, and a Media Center that includes press releases......
[more information]

Worldwide Cancer Mortality Statistics (WHO - IARC)
-- This database from WHO (World Health Organization), provides cancer mortality data by country. .....
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top