Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Biomedical Ethics - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the moral and philosophical principles which guide the professional actions and decisions of those engaged in the health professions.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Dictionary of Medical Ethics A.S. Duncan, G.R. Dunstan, and R.B. Welbourn, editors. Crossroad. 1981. New rev. ed..

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D5574 1981; WILSON R724 .D53 1981.
Contains signed essays pertaining to concepts and terms used in medical ethics and the administrative aspects of health care. Emphasis is on the United Kingdom of Great Britain......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Parthenon Pub. Group. 4th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference (Consumer Health) W13 D752m 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


Directory of Biomedical Ethics Organizations American Hospital Association. American Hospital Association. 1989.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W50 D598 1989
A word about hospital ethics -- National and regional centers for biomedical ethics -- Regional networks for bioethics committees -- Academic bioethics centers and humanities programs -- Institution-based medical ethics centers -- Foreign bioethics o.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Encyclopedia of Bioethics Macmillan Pub. Co. : Simon & Schuster Macmillan; Prentice Hall Int., c1995..

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QH332 E56 1995 WILSON Reference Quarto QH332 .E52 1995
Provides information on ethical and social issues in the life sciences, medicine, health care, and the health professions, including topics such as abortion, euthanasia, and gene therapy. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Code of Medical Ethics, Council on Ethical And Judicial Affairs American Medical Association.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W50 A512co 1992
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Codes of Medical Ethics, Oaths, and Prayers Christian Medical & Dental Society.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W50 C669 1989
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Ethics Manual, American College of Physicians, 4th ed.
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W50 A506e 1998
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top