Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Finding Doctors and Hospitals

Print Page Print Page

 
 
General Directories
  • MedlinePlus: Directories
    (1)Doctors & Dentists--General (2) Doctors & Dentists--Specialists (3) Hospitals & Clinics--General (4) Hospitals & Clinics--Specialized (5) Other Healthcare Facilities
  • My Health Minnesota → Go Local
    My Health Minnesota → Go Local is a free, online directory of health care services and providers throughout Minnesota, including clinics, hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living facilities, health screening programs, and more. All 87 counties in Minnesota are covered. My Health Minnesota → Go Local is a joint project of the National Library of Medicine and the Health Sciences Libraries of the University of Minnesota, the Mayo Clinic Libraries, and the MINITEX Library Information Network.

Doctors/Physicians
  • AMA DoctorFinder
    DoctorFinder provides you with basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States. This includes more than 690,000 doctors. AMA member physicians are offered an expanded listing that contains additional information such as office hours, accepted insurance providers, educational history and other helpful information.
  • Directory of health care professionals
    Lists hospital professionals in the areas of executive management, general administrative and financial services, clinical services department and units, and support services departments by geographic area and hospital, by healthcare system headquarters, and by job function.
    • Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference W22Aa1 D584• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • Directory of Physicians in the United States
    Contains data on MD’s in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and certain Pacific Islands, or who are temporarily located in foreign countries. Includes both members and nonmembers of the AMA and graduates of foreign medical schools (FMG’s) who are recognized as international medical graduates (IMG’s) located in the U.S.

    Also includes osteopathic physician members of the AMA. Organized geographically, data includes physician name and address, medical school, year of license, primary and secondary practice specialty, type of practice, American Specialty Board certification, and Physician’s Recognition Award.
    • Location(s): Bio-Med REF W22 AA1 D5 1999 • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

  • DocFinder: Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors
    DocFinder contains the licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians. The only combined public online physician database in the nation that has its direct source of data from state government licensing boards and that also remains free of charge to the public.
  • National Practitioner Databank
    The National Practitioner Databank (NPDB) is primarily an alert or flagging system intended to facilitate a comprehensive review of health care practitioners’ professional credentials.Access to information in the NPDB is available to entities that meet the eligibility requirements defined in the provisions of P.L. 99-660 and the NPDB regulations. In order to access information, entities must first register with the Data Bank. NPDB information is not available to the general public. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Bureau of Health Professions (BHPr), Office of Workforce Evaluation and Quality Assurance (OWEQA), Practitioner Data Banks Branch (PDBB) is responsible for the management of the National Practitioner Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank.
  • Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
    Covers the specialities of allergy and immunology, anesthesiology, colon and rectal surgery, dermatology, emergency medicine, family practice, internal medicine, medical genetics, neurological surgery, psychiatry and neurology, nuclear medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopaedic surgery, otolaryngology, pathology, pediatrics, physical medicine and rehabilitation, plastic surgery, preventive medicine, radiology, surgery, thoracic surgery, and urology.
    • Location(s): BIO-MED Reference W22 DA2 O31 • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • Participating Physician Directory
    Provides a list of Medicare/Medicad participating physicians in the specialty and geographic area specified, along with detailed physician profiles, maps and driving directions.
  • Who's who in medicine and healthcare
    Provides healthcare professionals and other interested readers with a vehicle for identifying members of the medial community. Entires include name, professional certifications, career, and professional and association memberships, clubs, and lodges.
    • Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference W22AA1 W63• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Hospitals and Healthcare Facilities
  • AHA Guide to the Health Care Field
    A guide to United States hospitals, health care systems, networks, alliances, health organizations, agencies and providers.
    • Location(s): WILSON Business Reference Quarto RA977 .A1 A46; BIO-MED Reference WX22 AA1 A2• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
  • Best Hospital Finder
    U.S. News and World Report. Search by selecting either a specialty or a location. You can also select both a specialty and a location to get a list of hospitals that meet your needs.
  • Hospital blue book
    Includes hospital listings for U.S.states and territories. Entries include addresses and phone numbers and information on ownership, number of beds, outpatient visits, employees, hospital type, special services, and some staff. Also, includes sections on U.S. medical schools and healthcare systems, and diagnosis related groups (DRGs).

    Location(s) Bio-Medical Library Reference WX22AA1 H8

  • Hospital Compare
    Tool provides information on how well the hospitals in your area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. Hospital Compare was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and organizations that represent hospitals, doctors, employers, accrediting organizations, other Federal agencies and the public.
  • Hospital Finder
    HospitalConnect.com. HospitalConnect links together the Internet sites for dozens of organizations serving health care providers. Includes maps and links to hospital web pages.
  • Quality Check
    Joint Commission. A search engine that can be used to locate accredited healthcare organizations. Links to quality reports and a compare facilities function.

Health Plans
  • Best Health Plans
    U.S. News & World Report, in conjunction with the National Committe for Quality Assurance.
  • HealthChoices
    The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is a private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving health care quality everywhere. Since 1990, NCQA has assessed and reported on the quality of the nation’s managed care plans.
  • HealthDecisions
    HealthDecisions.org aims to be the leading source of health care and insurance information available, while focusing on matching user needs with health care information. Produced by America’s Health Insurance Plans, a national organization representing over 1300 health insurance companies.
  • Plan Finder
    Minnesota Health Insurance Network (MNHI.net).


Page Coordinator: Katherine Chew chewx002@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More