Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Forensic Medicine - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: The application of medical knowledge to questions of law.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


Haz-Map
Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors......
[more information]

TOXNET
Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Bibliographies


Criminology and forensic sciences: An international bibliography, 1950-1980
Library Location: Wilson Reference HV6025 .E56x 1981
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

General Reference Sources

Atlases & Maps


A Radiologic Atlas of Abuse, Torture, Terrorism and Inflicted Trauma Brogdon, B. G. (Bryon Gilliam). CRC Press. 2003.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W617 B864r 2003
Child abuse / B.G. Brogdon and Hermann Vogel -- Abuse of intimate partners / John D. McDowell and B.G. Brogdon -- Abuse of the aged / B.G. Brogdon and John D. McDowell -- Self-abuse / Hermann Vogel and B.G. Brogdon -- Civil/political abuse / B.G. Br.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Color Atlas of the Autopsy Scott Wagner. CRC Press. 2004.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W617 W135c 2004
Approach to the autopsy: purpose and philosophy -- Circumstantial and medical history -- External examination: the preliminary examination -- External examination: specific injuries -- External examination: specific body areas -- Internal examination.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Dictionaries


Death Dictionary
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 Q7d 1994; WILSON Reference HQ1073 .Q54 1994
Includes over 5,500 clinical, legal, literary, and vernacular terms......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Facts on File Dictionary of Forensic Science Bell, Suzanne. Facts on File. 2004.

Library Location: TC Wilson Library Reference HV8073 .B426 2004 Non-Circulating
.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Forensic Science: an illustrated dictionary Brenner, John C.. CRC Press. 2004.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference W613 B838f 2004 ; Wilson Library HV8073 .B677 2004
Rev. ed. of: Forensic science glossary. c2000......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine Byard, Roger [et al]. Academic Press. 2005.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference W613 E56 2005 Non-Circulating
The Encyclopedia of Forensic & Legal Medicine comprehensively covers forensic and legal medicine (including related specialties and scientific, technical and legal issues)in four volumes. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science : a Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction Barbara Gardner Conklin, Robert Gardner, Dennis Shortelle. Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press. 2002. 1st ed., 1v..

Library Location: TC Wilson Library Reference HV8073 .C595 2002 Regular Loan
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

General Reference Works


Legal Medicine American College of Legal Medicine. Mosby. 2004. 6th.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library Reference W32.5 AA1 L4 2004
Leading treatise in the field. Legal Medicine explores and illustrates the legal implications of medical practice. Edited by the American College of Legal Medicine Textbook Committee, it features comprehensive discussions on a diverse array of legal .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Guides


Guide to Information Sources in the Forensic Sciences Holt, Cynthia. Libraries Unlimited. 2006.

Library Location: TC Wilson Library Reference HV8073 .H65 2006 Non-Circulating
This book provides a good starting place for research in this area, providing annotated references to the key databases, encyclopdia, dictionaries and other research tools......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Autopsy Pathology: An Manual and Atlas Walter E. Finkbeiner, Philip C. Ursell, Richard L. Davis.. Churchill Livingstone. 2004.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library QZ f499a 2004
The autopsy - past and present -- Legal, social, and ethical issues -- Autopsy biosafety -- Basic postmortem examination -- Postmortem examination of fetuses and infants -- Special dissection procedures -- Autopsy photography and radiology -- Microsc.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Death Investigation: A Guide for the Scene Investigator Developed and approved by the National Medicolegal Review Panel.. U.S. Dept. of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, National Institute of Justice. 1999.

Library Location: Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) J 28.24/3:D 34/7
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Forensic Dental Evidence: an investigator's handbook Bowers, C. Michael. Academic Press. 2004. 2nd.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W639 B786f 2004
Dental detectives -- The evidence, the forensic dentist and dental analysis -- Recognition, recovery and analysis of bite mark evidence -- DNA and forensic odontology -- Physical abuse and forensic dentistry: the diagnosis of violence -- Dental inves.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Forensic Medicine: clinical and pathological aspects edited by Jason Payne-James, Anthony Busuttil, William Smock. Greenwich Medical Media. 2003.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W700 F71501 2003
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbook of forensic pathology Vincent J.M. DiMaio and Suzanna E. Dana.. CRC/Taylor & Francis. 2007. 2nd.

Library Location: TC Bio-Medical Library W639 D582h 2007
ntroduction to medicolegal casework -- Physical evidence -- Time of death - decomposition -- Identification of remains -- Natural disease. Causes of sudden natural death in adults -- Causes of sudden natural death in infants ... and young children --.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbook of Human Toxicology Edward J. Massaro. CRC Press. 1997.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference QV600 H2345 1997
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Medical Examiners' and Coroners' Handbook on Death Registration and Fetal Death Reporting Centers for Disease Control. National Center for Health Statistics. 2003 Revision.

This handbook contains instructions for medical examiners and coroners on the registration of deaths and the reporting of fetal deaths. It was prepared by the Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Nation.....
[more information]

Physicians' Handbook on Medical Certification of Death Centers for Disease Control. National Center for Health Statistics. 2003 Revision.

Handbook contains instructions for physicians on cause-of-death certification. It was prepared by the Department of Health and Human Services’ Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). These .....
[more information]

Spitz and Fisher's Medicolegal Investigation of Death: Guidelines for the Application of Pathology to Crime Investigation Spitz, Werner, editor; co-edited by Daniel J. Spitz. Charles C. Thomas. 2006. 4th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W825 S7612 2006
History and development of forensic medicine and pathology / Daniel J. Spitz -- Crime scene. Pt. 1. Bloodstain pattern interpretation / Herbert Leon MacDonell. Pt. 2. Biological evidence on the human body / Heather Miller Coyle, Carll Ladd, and Henr.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


Color atlas of the autopsy on CD-ROM Wagner, Scott. CRC Press. 2004.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Perm Reserve (2nd Flr Circ Desk) W617 W135ca 2004
This CD-ROM shows the fundamentals of autopsy and how it is used in death investigation. It focuses on autopsy protocol which introduces the process and principles of the procedure to professionals who interact with the pathologist before, during and.....
[more information]

Defining Death: Medical, Legal and Ethical Issues in the Determination of Death President's Commission for the Study of Ethical Problems in Medicine and Biomedical and Behavioral Research. US Government Printing Office. 1981.

Results from the Presidential Commssion on the question "the ethical and legal implications of the matter of defining death, including the advisability of developing a uniform definition of death.".....
[more information]

Education and Training in Forensic Science: A Guide for Forensic Science Laboratories, Educational Institutions, and Students U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs. National Institute of Justice. 2004.

Library Location: Internet Resource
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Online Skeleton Peter Brown.

Created by Professor Peter Brown as booklet on Forensic Anthropology for students at the University of New England, New South Wales, Australia. .....
[more information]

Web Sites


7th Sense: the Sense of Forensics ThinkQuest.org. 2004.

ThinkQuest Library site. "Our project is based on the science of forensics. It would be a perfect place for beginners to understand the twists and turns of forensics.".....
[more information]

Autopsy HBO.

HBO documentary series. Hosted by reknowned forensic pathologst Dr. Michael Baden.

Includes inactive autopsy and a history of forensics.....
[more information]


Death to Dust: What Happens to Dead Bodies?
-- Selected excerpts from the second edtion of Kenneth V. Iserson's classic Death to Dust. Includes: decomposition, death investigation factiods, funeral industry jargon and more. .....
[more information]

Forensic Science: Let the Evidence Reveal the Truth ThinkQuest.org. 2004.

ThinkQuest Library website. "Forensic Science covers the different techniques used to analyse a variety of crimes, sectioned into a logical order (located at the left) and also features an interactive section of interviews, quizzes, science experime.....
[more information]

Interactive Investigator Virtual Musuem, Canada.

Site has been developed for anyone with an interest in the different scientific methods used to solve crimes. Contains a general information and an introduction to the main aspects of forensic science from a database on the subject. Explore a Histori.....
[more information]

OsteoInteractive Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.

Interactive website on the skeleton. Covers Forensic Anthropology and Human Osteology. .....
[more information]

The Case for Innocence PBS: Frontline.

The science of DNA testing can now establish with near certainty who did or didn't commit a crime. Why, then, do inmates remain in prison despite DNA evidence which exonerates them?

"The Case for Innocence" explores this question, profiling fou.....
[more information]


The Killer's Trail NOVA Online. PBS.

Companion Web site to the NOVA program "The Killer's Trail," in which a team of experts investigates the forensic evidence in the 1954 murder of Marylin Sheppard, one of the most famous unsolved crimes in the U.S. The program was originally broadcast.....
[more information]

Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body National Library of Medicine.

Visible Proofs is National Library of Medicine exhibition about the history of forensic medicine. It includes videos, radio interviews, gallery images and links to useful resources......
[more information]

Top

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources


An@tomy.tv Authentication Required 
The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, anim.....
[more information]

Videos and Films


The Autopsy : chapter one: unraveling life's mysteries Wagner, Scott. Whirlwind Pictures. 2004.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Perm Reserve W825 A939 2004
Gives a detailed account of the procedures, analysis and general overview of an autopsy......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites


American Academy of Forensic Sciences
AAFS is "a professional society dedicated to the application of science to the law, the AAFS is committed to the promotion of education and the elevation of accuracy, precision, and specificity in the forensic sciences." The web page includes a good.....
[more information]

American Board of Medicolegal Death Investigators
The American Board of Medicolegal Death Investigators, Inc.SM (ABMDI) is a national, not-for-profit, independent professional certification board that has been established to promote the highest standards of practice for medicolegal death investigato.....
[more information]

Forensic Science Society
The Forensic Science Society is an international professional body with members in over 60 countries. It publishes a peer reviewed journal (Science & Justice), a newsletter (Interfaces), arranges scientific conferences in the UK and abroad and is eng.....
[more information]

Top

Statistics and Data

Data Resources


Household Products Database Specialized Information Services, US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. National Library of Medicine.

This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. The database is designed to.....
[more information]

Top