Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

GERO 5105: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Aging

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Instructor: Anne Kane kanex040@umn.edu
Librarian: Lisa McGuire lmcguire@umn.edu
 
Library Resources
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
  • Bio-Medical Library Classes
    Free to U of M students, staff and faculty. We offer a variety of instructional classes on topics such as navigating library resources, database search techniques, and Power Point presentations.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Reference
    -- The Bio-Medical Library’s Reference and Instructional Services department engages faculty, students and staff in the learning, research and service missions of the University of Minnesota by providing broad instructional, reference, research and mediated search services. Our staff provides in-person, telephone, and digital reference assistance, conduct classes, actively partner with AHC professional schools and centers to further their respective missions, and manage the print and electronic collections that serve the AHC, the University and the State.
  • Bio-Medical Library - Services
    -- Services available for students, faculty and staff. Including recalling books and journals, librarian-mediated searches, and reference consultations.
  • Ask a Librarian -- Bio-Medical Library
    Reference staff monitor the account periodically during normal business hours (Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00). Our goal is to send you a response within one business day. If this turn-around time is not fast enough to meet your needs, you may call our reference desk at (612) 626-3260. In-person requests are taken at the Reference desk, 2nd floor Diehl Hall. Email reference questions should be of the "ready-reference" type. e.g. asking for health science related facts, statistics, or citation verifications (maximum of 5 cites).
  • Bio-Medical Library - Interlibrary Loan
    -- Borrow a book or obtain an article from a journal. This borrowing service is for current students, staff and faculty in U of M health science programs.
  • QuickStart Resources
    -- Links to a variety of subject areas which will jump start you in your research process. Medicine (general aspects) Psychology Public Health Sociology (general aspects)

Index/Database Resources
  • CINAHL Authentication Required
    CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.
  • MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required
    MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

    The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers â€" biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.
  • PsycINFO Authentication Required
    Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.
  • LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.
  • Social Science Databases
    -- (U of M Internet ID and password required may be required)This link provides access to 80+ social sciences related indexes. Please note: U of M userid/password may be required.

Journals

-- (All of these journals are available through the U of M Libraries - Links have been provided to those that have full text - free to U of M Students, Faculty, and Staff.)
  • Advances in Cell Aging
    -- Bio-Medical Library
  • Advances in Life Course Research
    -- Wilson Library
  • Aging and Society
    -- Wilson Library & Online: Upon entering the Cambridge Web site you will need to look for the journal alphabetically
  • Aging Clinical and Experimental Research
    --Bio-Medical Library
  • Aging in the News
    --Magrath Library
  • Ethics, Law and Aging Review
    --Law Library
  • Maturitas
    --Bio-Medical Library (1998-2002 only)

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More