Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Evidence-based Practice for Orthopaedics

Print Page Print Page

 
 
Evidence-based Practice References

Selected readings on evidence-based practice from the Orthopaedics literature.
  • Evidence-based medicine.
    Bernstein J. J Am Acad Orthop Surg 2004 Mar-Apr;12(2):80-8.

Evidence-based Electronic Resources
  • Cochrane Library Authentication Required
    The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer’s Handbook.
  • MD Consult Authentication Required
    Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
    Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    The National Guideline ClearinghouseTM (NGCTM) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
    Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).

Selected Search Engines and Directories
  • Google Scholar Authentication Required
    Use Google Scholar through the Libraries’ web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all the articles and journal subscriptions the library has already acquired for you. Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

    When using any one of the three access methods below, the text link, "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities", will appear in your Google Scholar search results. Then clicking the "Find It" link will present you with a menu of full-text and related service options for the Scholar search result you followed. To benefit from this service, access Google Scholar via:

    1. any U of M Twin Cities Campus Internet connection,
    2. the "special" link to Google Scholar that the Libraries provide (below or from the Libraries’ Google Scholar listing on "Indexes"), or
    3. the regular link to Google Scholar when having set up your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities)."

    Google Scholar FAQ

  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.


Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More