Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Health Sciences - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: dentistry, medical school, nursing, pharmacy, and public health

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


AIDSLINE
    1980 - present
Covers citations to information about acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and related topics in journal articles, government reports, letters, technical reports, meeting abstracts/papers, monographs, special publications, theses, books and a.....
[more information]

AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1985 - present
Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource .....
[more information]


AnimalScience.com Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    1973 - present
Covers all aspects of veterinary science, including parasitology and zoonotic disease, as well as animal nutrition, equine science, animal production and animal genetics, and aquaculture and fisheries......
[more information]

BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1996 - present, updated monthly.
Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books f.....
[more information]

CANCERLIT
    1983 - present, updated monthly
This international bibliographic database pertains to all aspects of cancer therapy, including experimental and clinical cancer therapy; chemical, viral and other cancer causing agents; mechanisms of carcinogenesis; biochemistry, immunology, and phy.....
[more information]

CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm


Digital Dissertations Authentication Required 
    1861 - present (Doctoral dissertations); 1962 - present (Masters theses).
Library Location: Print Version available at WILSON Quarto Z5053 .D57 and other locations under varying titles. See reference librarian for assistance. Print version: 1933/34 - present
Dissertations and theses from over 1000 universities. Doctoral dissertations are indexed for almost all North American graduate schools and many European universities. Masters theses from selected schools only. Provides bibliographic citations for o.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1983 - present, updated quarterly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/hapi2

Hypnosis and Related States Research Database
Database from the Society of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis containing 11465 references to hypnosis related materials in journals and books......
[more information]

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
    1986 - present
IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the.....
[more information]

Index to Chiropractic Literature
    1985 - present
Index to Chiropractic Literature is created by a group of health science librarians working in chiropractic colleges throughout the world. It includes citations to articles in 40 journals, and is searchable by keyword, subject, or author......
[more information]

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA via OvidSP) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970 - present, updated monthly.American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists..

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/ipa



MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

MedlinePlus
    updated daily
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information .....
[more information]


OT Search (formerly OT BibSys) Authentication Required 
    1947 - present.American Occupational Therapy Foundation.

This bibliographic index covers the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. It includes citations to journal and newsletter articles, books, proceedings, and doctoral and masters theses. Produced by the American Occupational T.....
[more information]

Physical Education Index Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1970-present
Search PEI for a wide range of Physical Education & Kinesiology topics including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coachi.....
[more information]

POPLINE
    1970 - present
Covers information family planning, population law and policy, and primary health care, including maternal/child health in developing countries in journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works......
[more information]

PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1806 - present, updated weeklyThe American Psychological Association.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO .....
[more information]


Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited


Smoking & Health Database
    1965 - present
Focuses on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical literature related to smoking and tobacco use and its effect on health......
[more information]

The Morgue
    1997 - present
The Morgue attempts to provide students, scholars and researchers with an on-line tool specifically targeted at the literature in field of Mortuary Science.The database can be searched by subject heading by scrolling through the subjects indexed list.....
[more information]

TOXLINE
    1965-present
TOXLINE includes citations to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports on Toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.....
[more information]

Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1975-present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present.Thomson ISI.

Resource Guide: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


CHID (Combined Health Information Database)
Includes information from 16 different databases created by agencies of the US Federal Government. Specific subjects include AIDS, Alzheimer's, arthritis, cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, deafness, diabetes, digestive diseases, epileps.....
[more information]

Haz-Map
Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors......
[more information]

Mental Measurements Yearbook Authentication Required 
    1985-
MMY, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. The electronic version complements the print version. .....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required Therapeutic Research (publisher of Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter).

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/natural

STAT!Ref Authentication Required 
Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try ac.....
[more information]


TOXNET
Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

WorldCat Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    2150 BC - present (most records from 1968 - present), updated daily.
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all sub.....
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Parthenon Pub. Group. 4th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference (Consumer Health) W13 D752m 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary
Online medical dictionary that includes definitions and pronunciations of many terms, abbreviations, and acronyms......
[more information]

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WB100 M555 1999
Online version of the Merck Manual that covers numerous diseases and disorders, their causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments. Also available in print......
[more information]

Top

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts


Harrison's Online Authentication Required 
Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included.....
[more information]

Web Sites


Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
These databases contain information on the activity of chemicals in plants, and ethnobotanical uses for plants. Databases are searchable by plant(scientific or common name), chemical (e.g., ascorbic acid), or activity (e.g., antiviral)......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


American Medical Association manual of style: a guide for authors and editors Cheryl Iverson (chair) ... [et al.].. Baltimore, MD : Williams & Wilkins,. 1998. 9th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference WZ345 A511 1998 ; Magrath Library Reference R119 .A533
Produced from the AMA, this manual is used quite extensively throughout the health sciences......
[more information]

National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation Karen Patrias. Bethesda, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, Reference Section. 1991.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 P314n 1991
Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet for.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Top