Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

History of Medicine - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the history of medical theory and practice from the earliest times to the recent past.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


America: History and Life Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1964 - present
This index provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, it .....
[more information]

History of Science and Technology Authentication Required 
HST: 1976-to date Includes articles about the history of science in all historical periods. Includes such subjects as magic, alchemy, etc., as well as more modern concepts of science.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows f.....
[more information]

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Science, 1976 - present; Technology, 1987 - present; updated annually.Society for the History of Technology, the History of Science Society; published by the University of Chicago Press.

Indexes articles, books, proceedings, reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology......
[more information]

IndexCat
    1400-1961National Library of Medicine. National Library of Medicine, National Institute of Health.

Sources Indexed: periodicals, books, pamphlets
Resource Guide: http://indexcat.nlm.nih.gov/help/icatcontents.htm

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf


Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    1975 - present, updated weekly. The Institute for Scientific Information.

Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/help/guides/woscited

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Current Contents Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1994 - present, updated weekly
FYI: Current Contents Database to be Replaced on January 1, 2006! .....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Bibliographies


Morton's medical bibliography : an annotated check-list of texts illustrating the history of medicine
    ancient to currentNorman, Jeremy M., ed.. Scolar Press. 1991. 5th.

Library Location: Wangensteen Reference ZWB100 M891 1991
A listing of the "firsts" in medicine as they appeared in the literature. Includes name and subject indices. .....
[more information]

The history of surgery in the United States
    1775-1900Rutkow, Ira M.. Norman Publishing. 1988.

Library Location: Wangensteen Library Reference WO11 AA1 R9h 1988 Bio-Medical Library WO11 AA1 R9h 1988
In two volumes. Volume 1 covers textbooks, monographs, and treatises; Volume 2 covers periodicals and pamphlets. Both volumes are heavily illustrated......
[more information]

Women in medicine: a bibliography of the literature on women physicians
    1750-1975Scarecrow Press. 1977.

Library Location: Wangensteen Reference ZW21 W872 1977 Bio-Medical Library ZW21 W872 1977 Wilson Library Reference R692 .W66x 1977
Sources Indexed: published material including books, medical and non-medical journal articles, alumnae and alumni mag
Includes bibliographic entries as well a biographical information on women practitioners dating back to the beginning of recorded history; includes cites for medical education and graduate medical education. Educational topics include statistics, ho.....
[more information]

Catalogs


MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources


Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides authoritative, in-depth biographical articles on deceased scientists from classical antiquity to modern times. Each article includes bibliographies of works by and about the scientist who is the subject of the article. For biographical infor.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine Bynum, W. F., ed. and Roy Porter, ed.. Routledge. 1993.

Library Location: WZ13 C737 1993
BIO-MED Wangensteen (Reference); BIO-MED Reference
Essays covering the definition of and the development of understanding of various aspects of health care over many centuries......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedia of Medical History McGraw-Hill.

Library Location: WZ13 M478e 1985
BIO-MED Wangensteen (Reference); BIO-MED
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Historical encyclopedia of nursing Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. ABC-CLIO. 1999.

Library Location: Wangensteen Reference WY13 S673h 1999
Includes biographical info in addition to such topics as public health nursing, African-American nurses, gender issues in nursing, ancient, medieval, and early renaissance nursing, war nursing, and midwifery......
[more information]

General Reference Works


Medical Discoveries UXL.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference (Consumer Health) WZ13 M489 1997
subtitle: Medical Breakthroughs and the People Who Developed Them.....
[more information]

Medical Discoveries : Who and When Thomas.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ13 S352m 1959; VETERINARY MEDICINE 610.9 Sch54

Medieval and Renaissance medicine
    approximately 480ad to 1600Gordon, Benjamin Lee. Philosophical Library. 1959.

Library Location: Wangensteen Library Reference WZ54 G662m 1959 Bio-Medical Library WZ54 G662m 1959

Names of body parts in English, 1400-1550
    1400-1550Norri, Juhani. Finnish Academy of Science and Letters = Academia Scientarium Fennica. 1998.

Library Location: Wangensteen Reference QS15 N853n 1998

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Chicago Manual of Style Online (15th Edition) Authentication Required Chicago : University of Chicago Press. 2003. 15th.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference Z253 U58c 2003 ; Walter Sci/Eng Library Reference (Rm 206) Z253 .U69 2003 ; Wilson Reference (Desk) Z253 .U69 2003
The standard work and most comprehensive of the style manuals. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by new technologies, use the la.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability


Top