Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

HMED 8113: Methods in the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Print Page Print Page

 

Course Instructors:
Jennifer Gunn gunnx005@umn.edu
 
Libraries and Research Centers
  • University Archives
    Non-circulating University records: faculty, staff, student, and alumni personal, and organizational papers; audiovisual material; and dissertations. • Map
  • Social Welfare History Archives
    Non-circulating. Documents social reform and the delivery of human services primarily in the 20th century. See also YMCA Archives. • Map
  • YMCA Archives (Kautz Family)
    Non-circulating historical records, photographs, books, and journals documenting the U.S.A. YMCA’s work in the U. S. and abroad from the 1850s to the present. • Map
  • Immigration History Research Center
    Non-circulating personal papers, organizational records, books, newspapers, and other original sources documenting immigration and ethnicity throughout the United States. • Map
  • Minnesota Historical Society Library
    The Minnesota Historical Society has been collecting, preserving, and interpreting the history of Minnesota since 1849. FREE ADMISSION TO LIBRARY. Located at 345 Kellogg Blvd. W, St. Paul, MN, 55102-1903. Library hours are noon to 8:00pm on Tuesday; 9:00-5:00 Wednesday through Friday; 9:00- 4:00 on Saturday. 651-296-2143. Wireless WiFi FreeSpot available
  • Bakken Library & Museum
    "The Bakken is a center for education and learning that furthers the understanding of the history, cultural context, and applications of electricity and magnetism in the life sciences and their benefits to contemporary society." The Library holds 11,000 rare books and 2,500 scientific instruments. The Bakken is located at 3537 Zenith Avenue South, Minneapolis (west side of Lake Calhoun) Visit web site for directions. The Library is open Monday through Friday, 9:00-4:00 Elizabeth Ihrig, Librarian (Ihrig@thebakken.org), 612-926-3878, x227.
  • Govenrment Publications Library
    The Government Publications Library in Wilson Library provides assistance in identifying and retrieving historical materials published by the United States and Minnesota. We also have collections for the United Nations, the European Union and Canada, although those collections don’t generally contain as much historical information.

[Return to Top]
Library Resources

The following are links to electronic catalogs, indexes, and databases to help in locating resources for your papers.
  • RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required
    RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
  • Google Patents
    Allows you to search the full text of United States patents from the 1790s through the middle of 2006.
  • General Reference Sources
    • Chicago Manual of Style Online (15th Edition) Authentication Required
      The standard work and most comprehensive of the style manuals. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by new technologies, use the latest methods of preparing mathematical copy, and cite electronic and online sources.
      • Location(s): Bio-Medical Library Reference Z253 U58c 2003 ; Walter Sci/Eng Library Reference (Rm 206) Z253 .U69 2003 ; Wilson Reference (Desk) Z253 .U69 2003 • Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
    • Historical Statistics of the U.S. Authentication Required
      The Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition is a compendium of statistics about the United States produced by the United States Census Bureau since 1790 with additions, revisions and analysis by noted social scientists. This edition includes numerous new topic areas including statistics on migration, poverty, nonprofit organizations, slavery and Native Americans. Tables may be searched and downloaded in Excel or other formats, either individually or in large groups. Users may create custom tables and graphs. Citations may also be downloaded in multiple formats.
    • LexisNexis Statistical Authentication Required
      Index to statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities. Comprised of three indexes--the American Statistics Index (ASI)--Index to International Statistics (IIS)-- and Statistical Resources Index (SRI) that give bibliographic citations, abstracts, and links to selected full-text tables and web sites when available. The Government Publications Library has the companion microfiche collections which include copies of almost all the publications indexed in this database.
  • Catalogs
    • MNCAT Plus
      Search MNCAT, the libraries’ catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
    • RLG Union Catalog
      The RLG Union Catalog allow for searching of a diverse set of materials, including holdings in research libraries, international sources, special collections, hundreds of languages, and original scripts. Contains more than 130 million records, and over 40% describe non-English materials, three million are for items published before 1900, and two million cover materials on microfilm. Updated daily.
    • WorldCat Authentication Required
      This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
      Covers all subjects. Provides bibliographic citations of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films and machine-readable data files published worldwide. Provides holdings information for nearly 30,000 libraries. Producer/Publisher is OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.

      The Libraries’ subscription to this resource allows for 65 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • Primary Sources
    • ArchiveGrid Authentication Required
      ArchiveGrid is a tool for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives, libraries, and museums around the world.
    • Early American Imprints Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition Authentication Required
      Every book, pamphlet, serial, and other printed work of signficance published in America 1639 - 1800, 36,000 items, 2. 4 million page images when complete. Based on Charles Evans, American Bibliography with additions from Roger Bristol’s Supplement. The file allows searching by author, title, key words in titles, publication years and places, and subject and format categories. A sub-group of 6000 works re-keyed and marked up by the Text Creation Partnership will allow full-text searching by all words in the text.
    • Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)
      The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) under the general editorship of Professor Ralph Bauer, at the University of Maryland at College Park. Intended as a long-term and inter-disciplinary project in progress committed to exploring the intersections between traditional humanities research and digital technologies, it invites scholars from all disciplines to submit their editions of early American texts for publication on this site.
    • LexisNexis Congressional Authentication Required
      Provides easy to use and comprehensive access to US legislative information. Also includes links to political parties and organizations, news sources, etc. See Overview/Help for useful information on the legislative process.
    • HeinOnline Federal Register Authentication Required
      The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other Presidential documents. The HeinOnline version has the entire Register in full-text with a 6-month embargo for the most recent issues.
      • Location(s): Government Publications Library - see <a href="http://govpubs.lib.umn.edu/guides/fedreg.phtml">The Federal Register</a> guide.<br> Also in the Law Library and Magrath Library; see MNCAT for details.• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
    • Public Documents Masterfile Authentication Required
      Finding tool for public documents, combining bibliographic and index information from a variety of historic and current tools.
    • Digital National Security Archive Authentication Required
      Access primary documents central to United States foreign and military policy since 1945. Material is arranged by topical collection produced by the National Security Archives at George Washington University. Each collection contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and more.
    • Government Accountability Office of the United States (GAO)
      Formerly called the General Accounting Office of the United States, the Government Accountability Office is an agency that works for Congress and the American people. GAO, commonly called the investigative arm of Congress or the congressional watchdog, is independent and nonpartisan. It studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars, advises Congress and the heads of executive agencies about ways to make government more effective and responsive, evaluates federal programs, audits federal expenditures, and issues legal opinions.
    • Open CRS: CRS Reports for the People
      Congressional Research Service Reports are produced for Congress, but not readily available. This search tool helps locate reports freely available online.
  • History of Medicine and History of Science & Technology Indexes

    The following help to locate both historical citations and current sources written about science and medicine.
    • Energy Citations Database
      Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes bibliographic records of literature in related disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. Includes links to the full text of some recent publications.
    • IndexCat
      Digital version of the printed "Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s Office. Includes all five series of the publication.
    • NTIS National Technical Information Service Authentication Required
      NTIS indexes government-sponsored U.S. and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related publications with over 2.0 million bibliographic records since 1964. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video and audio. See the NTIS Website for an overview of subject coverage and document delivery services.
    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
  • General History and Academic Indexes
    • Academic Search Premier Authentication Required
      This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
      The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
    • America: History and Life Authentication Required
      This index provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, it also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, books, dissertations and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Includes book reviews.
    • Digital Dissertations Authentication Required
      Dissertations and theses from over 1000 universities. Doctoral dissertations are indexed for almost all North American graduate schools and many European universities. Masters theses from selected schools only. Provides bibliographic citations for older titles. Abstracts are included for dissertations since 1980 and for masters theses since 1988. Some dissertations, beginning with 1997 publication dates, are available digitally. These include the University of Minnesota and other CIC member universities:
      http://www.cic.uiuc.edu/CICUniversities.shtml
      • Location(s): Print Version available at WILSON Quarto Z5053 .D57 and other locations under varying titles. See reference librarian for assistance. Print version: 1933/34 - present• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
    • JSTOR Authentication Required
      Index to JSTOR, full text academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
      Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff, and faculty
    • LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required
      LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.
    • New York Times Index
      In print in Wilson Library - see "More Information" for details. The complete run of The New York Times newspaper is available in the Periodicals/Reserve area in the basement of Wilson Library and via our online archive. See the "News Sources" page at: http://www.lib.umn.edu/articles/news.phtml for other options to online versions of the New York Times. The University Libraries also own a print edition of the Index covering from 1851-present. It includes a subject index to articles in the New York Times giving references to the date, page, and column of articles in the paper as well as brief synopses of the articles themselves.
      • Location(s): Also owned in print: WILSON Reference Quarto AI21 .N45• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
    • Readers Guide Retrospective Authentication Required
      The database allows for searching the records of a century (1890-1982) of popular magazine coverage, reflecting the history of the 20th century America and its evolving attitudes and cultures. Provides comprehensive, historic indexing of the most popular general-interest magazines and journals published in the United States in the following subject areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel.
    • Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required
      Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.
    • Social Sciences Citation Index (included in Web of Science) Authentication Required
      Covers the social sciences, including anthropology, history, industrial relations, information science and library science, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social issues, social work, sociology, substance abuse, urban studies, and women’s studies.
      Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 60% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work.
      Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals.
  • Listserve
[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Elaine Challacombe e-chal@tc.umn.edu
Top

New: Code Snippets (Beta)

Want this Guide Page on Your Blog, WebCT Class or Other Web Page?

Just copy and Paste the Code Snippet Below into your web page. Learn More