Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Health Informatics - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the information science concerning the analysis of medical data through the application of computers.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


ACM Digital Library Authentication Required 
Full text of most ACM journals and proceedings since 1950; also includes publications of affiliated organization. .....
[more information]

CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

INSPEC ® Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1896 - present, updated monthly
Provides comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astrophysics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Indexed are primarily journal articles and conference papers, w.....
[more information]

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf


Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
    Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1975-present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1975-present.Thomson ISI.

Resource Guide: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

Health and Medicine in the News
    May 1994 - present.
Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition]......
[more information]

MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/f5-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Pr.....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


INSPEC ® Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1896 - present, updated monthly
Provides comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astrophysics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Indexed are primarily journal articles and conference papers, w.....
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

WorldCat Authentication Required RefWorks enabled 
    2150 BC - present (most records from 1968 - present), updated daily.
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all sub.....
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 1994.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Information Technology Dictionary
Library Location: Bio-Med Reference, Non-Circulating W26.5 R735h 1999
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Thomas L. Stedman. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2006. 28th.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

Handbooks and Manuals


Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Health Care Professionals Toni Hebda, Patricia Czar, Cynthia Mascara. Addison Wesley Longman. 1998.

Library Location: BIO-MED WY26.5 H443h 1998
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top

Periodical and Newspaper subscriptions

Electronic Journal Collections


IEEE Xplore Authentication Required 
Full-text access to the transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Includes all current IEEE Standards.
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Citi.....
[more information]

Electronic Journal Titles



Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top