E-Texts
- Harrison's Online

Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrisons principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.
The Libraries subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
- MD Consult

Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty.
- STAT!Ref

Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.
The Libraries subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
- Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only)

UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On site access only)
Evidence-based Electronic Resources
- ACP's PIER: The Physician's Information & Education Resource

PIER is a product of ACP, The American College of Physicians and is a web-based authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool.
PIERs disease modules include sections on diagnosis, prevention, screening, drug therapy, patient education and case scenarios. On the PDA application, topics are supported with tables, and references to Web sites for supporting articles in Annals of Internal Medicine and PubMed. PIER adds and revises information as new disease findings become available.
- Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewers Handbook.
- Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS)

Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.
- TOXNET
Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once.
Image Resources
- An@tomy.tv

The worlds most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
- images.MD

images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicines series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.
Selected Search Engines and Directories
- Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar through the Libraries web site, or by setting your
Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all the articles and journal subscriptions the library has already acquired for you. Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
When using any one of the three access methods below, the text link, "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities", will appear in your Google Scholar search results. Then clicking the "Find It" link will present you with a menu of full-text and related service options for the Scholar search result you followed. To benefit from this service, access Google Scholar via:
- any U of M Twin Cities Campus Internet connection,
- the "special" link to Google Scholar that the Libraries provide (below or from the Libraries Google Scholar listing on "Indexes"), or
- the regular link to Google Scholar when having set up your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities)."
Google Scholar FAQ
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Page Coordinator: Jim Beattie jbeattie@umn.edu
Top