Welcome! This is a page about health resources for kids and teens, especially K-12 students who are interested in health information and/or health careers. Contact
Karla Block with comments or questions.
Finding & Evaluating Online Health Information
Health Careers
- AspiringDocs.org
Explore whether a career in medicine is right for you, using this site from the AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges), the organization that represents all 125 accredited medical schools that grant the M.D. degree and more than 400 major teaching hospitals in the United States.
- LifeWorks: Explore Health and Medical Science Careers (National Institutes of Health)
Explore over 100 careers in health and medical sciences through this interactive site for middle and high school students. Provides information about required education, working conditions, salaries, job outlooks, plus interviews with successful people working in the field.
Also includes information on planning for college, tailored to students in grades 8-12.
Suggested Web Resources for K-5
- Medical encyclopedia (MedlinePlus)
Trusted medical encyclopedia that includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries plus many medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- ToxMystery
Interactive, game-like learning site for kids ages 7-10, providing an introduction to potential environmental health hazards in the home. Objective of the game is to find all of the hazards in a room.
Suggested Web Resources for 6-12
- Medical encyclopedia (MedlinePlus)
Trusted medical encyclopedia that includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries plus many medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- NIDA for Teens
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)created this website for teens ages 11 through 15 on the science behind drug abuse. Teens were involved in creating the site, which offers science-based facts about how drugs affect the brain and body.
Includes animated illustrations, quizzes, and games.
Page Coordinator: Karla Block block006@tc.umn.edu
Top