|
Health Resources for Kids and Teens |
|
Welcome! This is a page about health resources for kids and teens, especially K-12 students who are interested in health information and/or health careers. Contact Karla Block with comments or questions. On This PageHealth Careers
Health News
Suggested Web Resources for K-5
Suggested Web Resources for 6-12
Page Coordinator: Karla Block block006@tc.umn.edu |
Welcome! This is a page about health resources for kids and teens, especially K-12 students who are interested in health information and/or health careers. Contact Karla Block with comments or questions.
On This Page
Health Careers
- AspiringDocs.org
Explore whether a career in medicine is right for you, using this site from the AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges), the organization that represents all 125 accredited medical schools that grant the M.D. degree and more than 400 major teaching hospitals in the United States.
- LifeWorks: Explore Health and Medical Science Careers (National Institutes of Health)
Explore over 100 careers in health and medical sciences through this interactive site for middle and high school students. Provides information about required education, working conditions, salaries, job outlooks, plus interviews with successful people working in the field. Also includes information on planning for college, tailored to students in grades 8-12.
- Outbreak at Watersedge: A Public Health Discovery Game
The need for public health professionals has never been greater. But what is "Public Health" anyway? This interactive game will introduce you to the world of public health as you help discover the source of the outbreak that has hit the small community of Watersedge and stop it before more residents get sick.
Health News
- Health News from MedlinePlus
Health-related news articles from the last 30-90 days from Reuters Health Information and HealthDay. Searchable by date or topic.
Suggested Web Resources for K-5
- Kids InfoBits: Electronic Library for Minnesota (Grades K-5)
Find info on animals, states, countries, famous people, geography, science, health, and more. Includes information from reference books, magazines and newspapers. Public library card required for access.
- Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature
Online exhibition that explores the historical context of Mary Shelley's novel, Frankenstein and how the ideas, thoughts, and fears of her time still endure in ours.
- GirlsHealth.gov
Reliable health information for girls ages 10-16, from the U.S. Department of Health.
- KidsHealth.org
Health information for kids, from the Nemours Foundation. Companion sites available for parents and teens.
- Medical encyclopedia (MedlinePlus)
Trusted medical encyclopedia that includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries plus many medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Kids page (MedlinePlus)
A health page specifically for kids. Learn about everything from how the body works to what happens when you go to the hospital. There are quizzes, games and lots of fun websites to explore. From the trusted source of MedlinePlus.
- Neuroscience for Kids
Information, experiments, activities and games for students and teachers who want to learn more about the nervous system. Created by a team of neuroscientists from around the world.
- ToxMystery
Interactive, game-like learning site for kids ages 7-10, providing an introduction to potential environmental health hazards in the home. Objective of the game is to find all of the hazards in a room.
- Tox Town
Interactive website about environmental hazards, toxic substances, and potential health risks that people encounter every day in their communities.
- Virtual Frog Dissection Kit (UC-Berkeley)
Interactive website that allows you to dissect a frog or play the Virtual Frog Builder Game.
- Virtual Hip Surgery (Edheads)
Take on the role of surgeon in a virtual hip replacement surgery.
- Virtual Knee Surgery (Edheads)
Take on the role of surgeon during a virtual knee surgery or choose a prosthetic for knee replacement patients.
- Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
Rich collection of images and stories about the history and development of the forensics field.
Suggested Web Resources for 6-12
- Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature
Online exhibition that explores the historical context of Mary Shelley's novel, Frankenstein and how the ideas, thoughts, and fears of her time still endure in ours.
- GirlsHealth.gov
Reliable health information for girls ages 10-16, from the U.S. Department of Health.
- Medical encyclopedia (MedlinePlus)
Trusted medical encyclopedia that includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries plus many medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Teens Page (MedlinePlus)
Reliable health information specifically for teens.
- Neuroscience for Kids
Information, experiments, activities and games for students and teachers who want to learn more about the nervous system. Created by a team of neuroscientists from around the world.
- NIDA for Teens
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)created this website for teens ages 11 through 15 on the science behind drug abuse. Teens were involved in creating the site, which offers science-based facts about how drugs affect the brain and body. Includes animated illustrations, quizzes, and games.
- Teens Health
Health information for teens, from the Nemours Foundation. Companion sites available for parents and children.
- Tox Town
Interactive website about environmental hazards, toxic substances, and potential health risks that people encounter every day in their communities.
- Virtual Frog Dissection Kit (UC-Berkeley)
Interactive website that allows you to dissect a frog or play the Virtual Frog Builder Game.
- Virtual Hip Surgery (Edheads)
Take on the role of surgeon in a virtual hip replacement surgery.
- Virtual Knee Surgery (Edheads)
Take on the role of surgeon during virtual knee surgery or choose a prosthetic for knee replacement patients.
- Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
Rich collection of images and stories about the history and development of the forensics field.
Page Coordinator: Karla Block block006@tc.umn.edu
Last Updated: November 19, 2007, 4:54 pm





delicious
furl