Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

MED Family Practice Residents

Print Page Print Page


   
Information Resources
  • Bio-Medical Library
    This library serves the areas of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. It is also the location of World Health Organization publications.
    • E-Journals are available online for many titles.
      -- Once you have identifed references that you want by searching Article Indexes (Articles and More page) you can search the E-Journal page or MNCAT to determine availbility in e-journal format.
    • QuickStudy -- Finding Books
      Finding books that focus on your research needs is one of the keys to successful scholarship. In this QuickStudy: Library Research Guide module, you'll learn how to find the books you want among the six million items cataloged in MNCAT, University of Minnesota's online catalog.
  • Indexes: for finding journal articles
    -- Use these indexes to find what articles are available on your topic. For healthcare administration, indexes covering journals in both the "Business and Economics" and "Health Sciences" categories are useful sources of article citations.
    • MEDLINE Authentication Required
      MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences.

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    • PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required
      Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes Medline and Pre-Medline (articles more recent than found in Medline).
    • BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required
      Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books from over 5000 publications. [BIOSIS Previews consists of Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (reports, reviews, and meetings).] Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 10 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

  • BioMedSearch
    -- The Bio-Medical Library's Collection of Article Indexes and Digital Resources
    • Cochrane Library Authentication Required
      The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.
      • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OVID
        Provides bibliographic citations to regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of health care. Prepared by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals committed to 'preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care'. Another version of the Cochrane Library, from Update Software Ltd., is also available.
        [Resource no longer available]
    • Harrison's Online Authentication Required
      Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    • MD Consult Authentication Required
      Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
      Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 7 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    • MICROMEDEX Authentication Required
      Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.
    • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required
      This database contains authoritative, current information on herbal medicines and supplements, including safety, effectiveness, known constituents, and possible interactions with other substances. The database also includes alternative names, common uses of herbal medicines, and reference citations.

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    • Stat! Ref Authentication Required
      Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of a dozen major medical and drug textbooks.

      The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

    • Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only) Authentication Required
      UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On campus access only)
Library Services
  • Ask a Librarian - Personalized Assistance
    -- Use this web-based form to: Get individualized library research support for your course. Get help resolving computer and technology problems you encounter in using our library resources.
  • Distance Education
    -- This site provides the outline information for distance learning services. Additional details can be requested by contacting the reference desk MEDREF@tc.umn.edu.
    • U of M Internet Account
      -- -- Your U of M Internet account is used to access restricted library resources and services. Click here for more information, including help in initiating your account.
    • Obtaining a U Card
      -- The U Card enables you to use Library services (e.g., checking out books), as well as other campus resources.
  • Home or Office: Book and Article Delivery
    -- Do you need a copy of a journal article or a book? Use LUMINA to U or InterLibrary Loan to request books and journal articles to be delivered to your home or office (some delivery fees apply).
    • Bio-Medical Library PhotoDelivery Service
      Use online web form to request photocopies of articles. See webpage for fees and other information about this service available to University of Minnesota students, staff, and faculty.
    • Interlibrary Loan
      Interlibrary Loan is a free service for University students, faculty, and staff with current borrowing privileges. This service is provided by the University of Minnesota Libraries to promote coursework and scholarly research by providing access to materials not held by the University Libraries.
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    Have a question about the libraries, connecting to databases or e-journals, or about the research process? Check here to see if we have already answered it.
Online Reference Sources
  • Doctor Finder (AMA's Physician Select)
    -- Use this site to find either a specific doctor's contact information, or to find doctors who match geographic and speciality criteria (e.g., if you are looking for cardiologists in Dallas, Texas).
  • FamilyDoctor.org
    Website designed for patients and their families by the American Academy of Family Physicians.
  • HealthWeb: Family Practice
    Links to Family Practice and Primary Care clinical resources, associations, electronic texts and journals.
  • HospitalWeb
    -- Use this site to find information about hospitals both in the US and around the world.
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
  • Merck Manual
    -- Online medical textbook that includes descriptions of hundreds of diseases.
  • ScHARR's Netting the Evidence
    -- An extensive list of evidence- based practice resources on the Internet from the School for Health And Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield, UK.
  • 24 Languages Project
    Electronic access to over 200 health education brochures in 24 different languages, including Cambodian, Hmong, Somali, and Spanish. This project is a partnership of the University of Utah Health Sciences Library and the Utah Department of Health's Bureau of Primary Care, Rural and Ethnic Health to improve access to health materials in multiple languages.
News and Current Events Sources
  • Health and Medicine in the News
    Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities, including citations to scholarly research articles referred to in the news story.
  • LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. Need some Lexis-Nexis searching help? Try our guided exercise on Searching LexisNexis Academic.