Accessibility Shortcuts

Skip to Content Skip to Main Navigation
UofM wordmark
185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | IM | Chat | Contacts
(612) 626-4045
get firefox, the browser you can trust

Medical Technology - Selected Resources

Print Page Print Page

Subject Description: This subject covers: the techniques, equipment, drugs, and procedures used to deliver medical care.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes


CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1982 - present, updated monthly.Cinahl Information Systems..

Resource Guide: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/ehost2/2.0.htm

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    1966 - present, updated weekly.
Resource Guide: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/files/SearchingOvid.pdf

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles


Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. RefWorks enabled 
    Coverage varies, some starting with 1975 - present, updated continuously.
Sources Indexed: http://www.epnet.com/titleLists/ap-fulltext.htm
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's.....
[more information]

LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies by title.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included. .....
[more information]

Indexes, Other


TOXNET
Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once......
[more information]

Top

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs


MNCAT Plus
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic......
[more information]

Top

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries


McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Library Location: Q123 .M34
WALTER Sci/Eng Reference, MAGRATH Reference, WILSON Reference, FORESTRY Ref (Dictionary); and BIO-MED Reference Q123 M147
Contains definitions, synonyms, acronyms and abbreviations for over 105,000 scientific terms. Also provides some illustrations, and photographs......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Directories


Clinical Laboratory Reference Oradell, N.J. : [Medical laboratory observer].

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library QY26 C641 Latest edition on Bio-Med Reference; Veterinary Medical Library 338.47616 Cl616
A directory of products used in medical laboratories. Includes products used in clinical testing and analysis and laboratory services and equipment. Also includes clinical and professional reference guides.....
[more information]

Medical Alley Directory [Edina, Minn.] : Minnesota Medical Alley Publishing Co.,.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library W22AM6 M4 Latest edition in Bio-Med reference; Wilson Library Quarto HD9994.U53 M562x Latest edition in WILSON Business Reference
Provides information on healthcare providers, manufacturers and service companies that comprise Minnesota's Medical Alley. With 1996-97 ed. includes health plans/insurance. Data includes company name, major products/services, contact persons, officer.....
[more information]

Encyclopedias


Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required 
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND .....
[more information]

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Authentication Required McGraw-Hill. 2002. 9th.

Library Location: WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Handbooks and Manuals


ARUP 's Guide to Clinical Laboratory Testing ARUP Laboratories.

Reflects new knowledge in the diagnosis and management of a wide variety of human conditions. The guide includes several diagnostic algorithms and each entry is comprised of a brief methodological description together with an in-depth, but concise, d.....
[more information]

Bacteriological Analytical Manual Online Food and Drug Administration: FDA.

FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM) presents the agency's preferred laboratory procedures for microbiological analyses of foods and cosmetics......
[more information]

Laboratory Test Handbook David S. Jacobs ... [et al.].. Hudson, Ohio : Lexi-Comp. 1996. 4th ed. with key word ind.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QY39 L1227
Contains information about laboratory procedures including test name and synonyms, patient care recommendations, specimen requirements, reference ranges, interpretive information, footnotes, and references. This ed. has expanded coverage of laborator.....
[more information]

Microbiology Laboratory Guidebook USDA. Food Safety and Inspection Service.

The Guidebook contains current protocols for analytical tests required by FSIS regulatory activities on meat, poultry and egg products. Specifically, microbiological methods are presented for sample preparation, isolation and identification of the ma.....
[more information]

Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy James Pagana. St. Louis : Mosby. 2007. 8th ed.

Library Location: Bio-Medical Library Reference QY39 P128m 2007
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference is a comprehensive and current handbook that offers all health care providers easy access to clinically relevant laboratory and diagnostic tests. Each test, listed in alphabetical order for convenient .....
[more information]

Periodic Table of the Elements
This very informative periodic table, sponsored by the Croatian government, includes thermal properties, ionization energies and abundance, isotopes, information on its uses, and reduction potentials for each element with links to definitions of each.....
[more information]

WebElements
An online periodical table of the elements, which provides extensive chemical, crystallographic, physical, electronic, nuclear, biological, and geological data......
[more information]

Top

Internet Resources

Internet Directory


Clinical Laboratory Science Internet Resources© Louis B. Caruana, Ph.D., MT(ASCP). Texas State University-San Marcos.

Clinical Laboratory Science Internet Resources Web site is a meta collection of annotated links covering the clinical laboratory science and laboratory medicine fields and is intended as an online resource to healthcare professionals, students and ot.....
[more information]

LabExplorer Image Map LabExplorer.com.

A vertical portal for laboratory specific information.....
[more information]

Web Sites


ChemLab: The Chemistry 3/5 & 6 Laboratories Dartmouth College.

Online laboratory manual from Dartmouth College. Covers basic techniques and safety......
[more information]

Lab Tests Online
"Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. The site is th.....
[more information]

MedlinePlus: Laboratory Tests National Library of Medicine.

Provided by the National Library of Medicine. Topics covered: overviews, diagnosis/symptoms, specific conditions, coping, related issues, dictionaries/directories and specific population groups......
[more information]

Top

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software


RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service. 
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabi.....
[more information]

Style Manuals


Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information
Library Location: PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work Shirley H. Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone. National League for Nursing Press. 1993.

Library Location: BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993
Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551.....
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association APA. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association. 2001. 5th.

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Writing Guides


How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th.

Library Location: TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage......
[more information]

Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability

Top